Hello, I'm Ben

Hi everyone!

My name is Benjamin, I am 20 years old and from Michigan. Currently, I am studying Computer Science in college. My father, @old-guy-photos, has convinced me to start writing again after I used to post to the Steemit blockchain a few years back.

20180828_191755.jpg

I mainly hope to write about computers and crypto, as I started programming at a young age and have slowly been getting into crypto since entering college last year. I also expect to do some photography posts as that has been a big hobby of mine for some years now.

P1200995.JPG

IMG_0212.jpg

P1230184.JPG
One of my absolute favorite times is during the summer when all the snow melts and we can go swimming and boating

Recently, my father and I purchased some Nvidia RTX graphics cards to start mining with, and I hope to share my journey of getting into the mining world with you all.

DSC00533.JPG
We purchased 2 3070 Ti's and also have a 2060 Super for mining

I have also started to learn my way around Linux, though it is a slow process involving a lot of trips to the Arch Wiki.

image.png
My first try, Arch running the Xfce environment

I'm getting closer at convincing my dad to try out something like Ubuntu as well! Soon we hope to build a dedicated mining rig so he'll be introduced to Linux sooner or later, though I do try to remind him what his Android phone is based on. ;)

That's all for now, thanks for reading! Expect more posts soon!
Sort:  

Welcome back Benjamin
Looking forward to your posts

Thank you! I think my next post will be about my experience with mining Ethereum.

Welcome, or perhaps welcome back!!

Welcome back ! This time around things are different here. You have a true community and a functioning platform, so I’m sure you will like it a lot more :)

I'm liking Hive a lot already! Thanks for the welcome.

Welcome back @benjamintaylor it's good to have you back. Hope to see you are frequently.

I hope to post every few days, thanks for the welcome!

Hello and welcome back! 🙂

Those are some sweet graphics cards you got there! Good luck with the mining.

We're very lucky to have gotten them, Micro Center had got them in that day and they were selling out quick. Thanks!

Hello ben, welcome to the platform and i wish you all the vest as well

Welcome bro , I really interested to learn from your posts cause it seems you have experience cause you study computer science ..

I'm certainly no expert! Still have tons to learn, especially about crypto. Thank you!

Welcome and good luck in college and mining, look forward to seeing your photos.

Thank you! :)

Welcome back, Ben:)

Welcome, Ben! Or should I say welcome back. Your dad is a great guy and knows all the stuff, so I’m sure you will be successful on Hive!

Thanks! Hive is about all he's been talking about, so I'm definitely learning from him.

welcome back again. Hope to see more post from you in the future.
How much is the Graphic Card? that looks awesome.

Thank you, they were around $950 which was way more then we were looking to spend that day but they're already paying themselves off mining Raven. :)

Welcome back, Ben! Sounds like you'll be a good fit here! Congrats on your win Christmas day!

I loved Linex years ago from a safety perspective. Keep talking to you dad about Ubuntu! I think he would like it if he allowed himself to.

Focus on what you write, not how much you get and you'll be golden!

Thank you! :) I think eventually I can convince him to give it a try, just have to keep bugging him about it. He'll give in!

He always does! :) I think he respects your opinion. Good luck here. You might as well get some free money!

Welcome benjamintaylor!
Ecency is fastest website, mobile and desktop application that improves your experience on Hive.

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

@tipu curate

You are welcome here and also it nice meeting a programmer like you

I definitely can't call myself a programmer just yet, mainly just bumbling around trying to make small projects, haha. :) Thank you!

That doesn't mean. But you are doing well

Congratulations @benjamintaylor! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 50 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.
You got more than 10 replies.
Your next target is to reach 50 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Christmas Challenge - 1000 Hive Power Delegation Winner
Merry Christmas - Challenge Feedback - Win a 1000 HP delegation
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Dear Ben,

   Hasn't @old-guy-photos told you that consistency is what keeps the crowds coming? By the time you post again, you will have to write a re-introduce yourself post. 

Sincerely Yours,

Hiver Watching You

Loading...