You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Let us please introduce ourselves

Please do vote this back down to a sensible level @acidyo. It is very discouraging for people like myself who often spend days creating content and get around a $25 reward, to see someone post a bunch of food pics and less than 100 words of text and get over $300.

No offence @lapetra and welcome to the site.

Cg

Sort:  

someone post a bunch of food pics and less than 100 words of text and get over $300.

@cryptogee... Man cool down! No offense but I think your comment may discourage newbie. And it's not just a bunch of food pics, for me picture quality is too good. I see people are selling these types of images on stock photo websites. Though she got high-value vote by mistake, I think it's totally fine. There's no point to downvote it now.
She will be depressed for sure(even after realizing the issue) when she will find out that her reward came down to 40 or something like that. It's totally fine if she gets this reward. And the hive power will help her to give a decent start.

So downvoting isn't probably a good idea.

When i first came to Hive /Steemit as a noob, it was quite a good feeling to try to bag a whale vote and the first post for lots of people would often get a big upvote. More luck to these guys and welcome to Hive.

Hey @eroche!! Not seen you around for a long time. I hope you're well and life is treating you kindly!
Any chance you could relaunch @letseat please mate? we NEED mobile Apps more than ever :-)

I agree the photoquality is superb and honestly the reason I just replied to him with a short comment is cause I'm not accepting people who just got back to posting and already doing better than 90% of other authors complain how they may feel seeing a newcomer get a big vote for once.

My point @pitboy is that it will encourage others to do this. Fair enough, if you guys are happy to have the blockchain populated by low quality posts that's up to you. Higher quality creators will leave.

Like I said, It's not personal against the original poster.

Cg

25$ and you complain? I would settle for getting a comment from time to time!

Hello. Heard you're looking for a comment. I might be able to help you with that.

Well I would appreciate it very much, but in my articles, a valid opinion on what I write. It feels very lonely over there, I would also value very much if after seeing my work you leave me some advice on how to do it better.

That's normal when someone is new. Imagine you just started up a new Youtube channel. That'll take some building and dedication. It's always quiet when you start out. As for making it better, that's hard to say. All I know is it needs to connect with people. Apply your own personality in order to make your content unique. Keep in mind, not everyone will be interested in your offerings, so don't take it personally. Search out like minds and talk to them. Be real. And that wall of text has got to go. Use paragraphs. And just know there are some people who have more videos on their youtube channels than they have views on all their videos combined. Welcome to the world of content creation.

Received, thank you very much. I am working on it.!

You have the right attitude. My main concern starting out was how quiet it was; low views. There could be $20 bucks there, but it was art or jokes. That needs eyes and laughs. So rather than fading off and blending in with the rest, I started making my content loud as F. And I still do it to this day. But the hardest part about giving advice is knowing full well my approach would only work for me. Which is why I sent you that link. It's jammed with trade secrets but I may have hid some between the lines.

Well for now I'm not too worried about the economic rewards, my main activity is trading and I'm good at it. But I would like to join the community and feel that my work is not in vain and by that I mean to know that someone at least read what I spend so much time writing. Even if it is to tell me that I am doing it wrong, but knowing that someone is there is something important to me.

I don't mind someone becoming an instant minnow. It may encourage them to stick around, but they can't expect it every time. A lot of first posts do fairly well, but keeping going when it's cents on the next one is the real test,

So is it really giving encouragement or false hope? Also when others see one minnow getting say $50 for 1500 and various pics and links etc. that clearly took a long time, then another getting over $300 for mainly pics, they'll copy that and before you no it, you have a bunch of terrible introduce me posts.

We've seen it happen before. However I do get your point, that we want to encourage new users.

Cg

This was an extreme case and possibly a one-off. We need to find the right balance to make the newbies start.

Remember when people like dollarvigilante were getting $15k on a their first post?

Feel free to downvote it and welcome back.