I quit my job, moved to an island and joined Steemit.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Steemit meet Jean!

I'm ecstatic to finally be a part of this community. I have been a part of the Crypto world for a short while and it doesn't take a genius to realize that Steemit IS the future in social media. I hope my joining this special community will be warmly welcomed by all of you.

IMG_0640.JPG
(On my way to Koh Phangan)

So let me tell you guys a little about me and why I am here. I am a young male from South Africa, living in Thailand. Okay, so this is where people usually draw a conclusion and think they have you all figured out, giving that Thailand has become quite famous under expats from all across the globe being attracted to making a living in a foreign country. Thailand is a beautiful country with a rich culture and can go on and on about Thailand all in one post but I will make a long story short. Many tourists in Thailand completely fall in love with the country and decide they don't want to leave, I am one of those people and I joined Steemit to share my experience in not only Thailand but all my travels past and future. Together we shall travel the world and document it all on Steemit and DTube.


Source

My girlfriend and I came to Thailand together and we've been living here for about a year now. Most people who decide to stay in Thailand usually end up as English teachers because of the country's need for English to enable them to communicate with the millions of tourists passing trough every year. This is also what we have done to survive and live the expat life. Although teaching is the most popular choice among expats, it is not the only way to go. If you put yourself out there you'll find that Thailand is a land of opportunity and if you look hard enough you might just find greatness.


Source

We used to live in Bangkok for 7 months due to work and friends but something was missing, I was happy but never really content. I asked myself if this is all there is to life because quite frankly, it was getting boring and it all felt a little meaningless. I recently made a big decision to change my life and get out of the routine 9-5 five job and forced comfort zone life I was living. Needless to say, I started doing things differently from that point on and the first thing that had to be done was quitting my teaching job.(To be honest, I was never really a good teacher anyway.)

Some of my friends told me so many great things about Steemit and what we are building in the crypto world and how I could be a part of this revolutionary time that will always be remembered in history. I am a Steemian and I am honored to be a part of this community

All of this being said, my girlfriend was in agreeance and after looking at our lives and asking ourselves what we want for the future we knew exactly what we had to do. I went for a diving trip earlier in 2017 and that was the first time I set foot on a little island called Koh Phangan in Thailand and I completely fell in love it for reasons that shall be become known in our journey together. We went online and booked the earliest bus and ferry tickets on www.ferrysamui.com from Bangkok to Koh Phangan and after a grueling 8 hour bus trip and 3.5 hour ferry we reached paradise.

IMG_0526.JPG

So what you can expect from me and this blog will be a variety of things such as travel tips, vlogs on DTube and basically anything about everything about our island life. I will make weekly vlog posts about exciting thing and sometimes just the small things in life to be appreciated. If you have any questions about Thailand, traveling or advice on how I can improve my blog & vlogs, please do reach out me and if I can not provide answers there is always somebody else who might know. As I am new to Steemit I would appreciate any advice on how to be a part of this community and correct me when make any mistakes. I look forward to this exciting future and staying out of a 9 to 5 job so I can bring you the absolute best.

I will post my first DTube video along with this post. It's a diving video of an amazing dive site called Sail Rock just of the coast of Koh Phangan. Please excuse my bad camera work as this was the first time making a video with the purpose of posting it online for the world to share and quite frankly all of this is very new to me. I am working hard on my camera skills doing tutorials on how to become better at this, I guess it's all part of the journey. I will soon post a vlog where I will introduce myself on DTube to get the weekly vlogs going, stay tuned.

Follow me @kohexperience where we will travel the world together.

IMG_0529_LI (3).jpg

Sort:  

Sounds great man, I'm onboard. Following and looking forward to more adventures and more island pictures.

Thanks for the support @joydrummer22, you won't be disappointed.

Hallo @kohexperience, Welcome to steemit. Hope you enjoy being here! we are glad you joined this community.
Good luck!!!
Start by Following ,Upvoting & Resteeming people and they will do the same to you.

Welcome to Steemit, Jean! Great to have you here, enjoy the ride!

Welcome to Steemit! I hope you enjoyed it here. ;-)

Thank you @mayasiam. It’s great to be here. 🤝

I have upvoted and resteemed to my 490 followers👍😎🥇

As long as you can get online in paradise!! I'm in Cambodia living in otres for now . . . Thinking of coming to Thialand in march maybe. I'll give you a follow and see what koh is all about first :)

Thank you @abelartist, that's a great idea and when you do come over here let me know and help you make the best of it ;)

Will do, feels like Cambodia will have me for at least another month ! :)

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Great decision! Follow your dreams and fill your life with great experiences! I made the move myself 5 years ago leaving Denmark for sunny Barcelona.

Exactly! Couldn't have said it better @kennethsvendlund!

I would love to hear your story about how you made the decision. Thanks for the support!

Welcome to Steemit! :)

Thank you so much for the warm welcome @jaki01. I'm glad to be here and I hope you enjoy my blog and DTube channel. 😎

Very excited to see you join Steemit! Thai food is BEYONDDD my favorite food and I cannot wait to visit there one day. I am much looking forward to your future posts of your adventures as well as maybe, just maybe, some killer thai recipes!!!
Welcome to Steemit and I will be looking forward to your next posts!
-Steven Pomilia

Than you so much for the support @stevenpomilia and I'll be sure to bring you lots of adventures! Cooking is not one of my strong suits however if you're looking for killer recipes check out @mayasiam. Best Thai cook I know and she has a lot of great recipes for you to try at home.

I'm already following her and I cannot wait to make some/a majority of her recipes at home!!! CANT WAIT! I could go for it right now as we speak...no other culture's food hits my taste buds...I would love to come visit Phuket some day.