Make Shitposting Great Again: Introducing My Alt Account @kryptik-lite

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)



IMG_1025.JPG

Yo!

So I wanted to let you know I've finally arranged to have a shitposting account. We'll call it "microblogging" if that makes you more comfortable.

Say hello to @kryptik-lite.

I know what you're thinking.

"@kryptik you've always been a shitposter. I'd probably consider you even below the quality of the average shitposter. Come to think about it, why in the fuck am I even reading this?"

That's a good point. You have a reasonable question.

There are multiple reasons for an alt account:



1. Sometimes I just want to be more casual.


girl-1561943__340.jpg

Why do we have to be so god damn serious all of the time?

I dislike the snobbery here from some people.

I'll see some fantastic short-form content, and it will be barren in the vote department. Not because it didn't provide value or entertainment, but because it didn't meet the expected 20,000-word minimum that some of the more soulless authors here provide for us. As thrilling as your liberal arts/psuedo science manifesto may be, it doesn't bring more value to me than all of those Bitconnect memes that have been floating around lately. (Pouring one out for my dead homies right now.)

I want to surround myself with more like-minded people who can appreciate short form posting. Maybe we can all follow each other and start using Zappl I hear that's their aim.

Actually, fuck yes. I'm posting on Zappl today pronto.



2. There is a drawback to shitposting on Steemit.


kot-3101851__340.jpg

Imagine posting an excellent article full of meaning and value. Every. Single. Day. Not saying I do that, just pretend. You have a flood of people streaming in to read your content and loads of engagement. You know the importance of staying consistent on this platform but you feel the urge to post a dank meme or a cartoon penis. You ignore the importance of consistency.

Boom.

You've just alienated your readership. Some will cling on to you more. Others will stop reading altogether. There is immense importance on visibility here. Say you're like me and are just here to post and get extremely rich you just want to be read, people won't be willing to spend time on clicking your article if they feel you aren't delivering the quality that you have in the past.

Long story short: If your followers expect long blogs, give them long blogs or risk the chance of losing them. If you create an alt account, you don't have to worry about this as you will have made an outlet for shitposting tendencies.



3. You can pretend to be someone completely different.


anonymous-657195__340.jpg

I didn't stay anonymous because my alt account has a different purpose, but it's the internet. You can be whomever you want to be. Why be yourself?

I'm not trying to convince you to pretend to be an 18-year-old girl from fiver showing her tits, just to score some dough. I'm saying sometimes there are posts you may not feel comfortable making as yourself.

Explore that territory under anonymity.

There are lots of more reasons but I'll leave it at that.

Okay lipstick boy, you have me slightly interested, but how do I get an alt account?

Glad you asked. There are many options. Here are the top three:



  1. You have @anonsteem.


    U5drE7LJ3ntKW57WfkhgsV5ENgGTLoa_1680x8400.png

Personally, I think it's a little expensive, but I've used the service, and it is pretty straightforward and painless.



2. You could come up with a different phone number than you initially signed up with and wait for Steemit to approve your account.


vintage-3111806__340.png

While this may be the cheapest option, you don't want those problems. I am a moderator on the general section of the Steemit.chat and I get asked about forty-five million times a day, "why my account no approve?"



3. If you are like me and impatient, but cheap financially conscious you can use Steeminvite.


DQmQWXH7A5Pf1z1S2rtVvtn2mRA42tgoyBwKV6L2CTyLSaZ.png

Steem invite was designed to go around the dreaded purgatory that is the Steemit approval process. For a small creation fee of .1 Steem, you can send your friends (or yourself) an invite via and float them a 14.5 steem delegation to get the new account rolling.

@pharesim speaks more in-depth about it here.

I can personally attest that it works flawlessly, and I'd trust @pharesim with my life. (Maybe not my girlfriend though. That smooth devil and his sultry wallet voice.



So there you go, you have my explanation, and a means for yourself to do the same thing. I hope we can be friends and shitpost together happily ever after.

Some posts I will resteem on my @kryptik account until I have my closest Steem allies/cohorts following me on this one. But after that it will be more of a casual chill zone, and treated more like regular social media.

Make sure to leave me a comment of your alt account if you have one!


Don't forget to follow my main account @kryptik as well if you haven't!

Sort:  

Too long. Downvoted.

I agree, I’m gonna downvote AND unfollow. I only like shitposts when they take less than 2 mins to read.

cheap financially conscious

Hah!

I can't believe I just wasted 7 minutes on this!

You've always got my support, Sharpie!

Haha I sort of had the same thought that this was awfully long (and informative) to be a shit post, but I enjoyed it nonetheless. I'm in. Followed.

Lol.....you welcome

I like this idea of having an alternate account for short-form content or "shitposting" as you put it, and I have seen others do the same thing. But what would be even better is if we owned our accounts as namespaces. That way, you could post things under kryptik:zappl, kryptik:meme, kryptik:nsfw and so on, and your followers could choose to follow all, some, or none of those feeds.

Or maybe not everything needs to be that fucking complicated. I guess this is what happens when you let the engineers design things?

Good luck with your short-form stuff! I won't follow right away, but I will check in now and then. I might spin off one of my own someday.

Haters gonn hate fam~ I liked it!