Anyone interested in learning about the law?

Hi Fellow Steemians

Introduction

My name is Peter Kim and I'm currently studying at a law school in one of the top universities in Australia. I've done a #introduceyourself post in the past before, but it mostly highlighted the traveling aspect of my life and left out the academic side.

During the time I've been on Steemit, which is almost 2 months now, I've been posting about my travels, trying to share the joy in my life with everyone else on Steemit. However, these days I think it's not enough. I want to do more for the Steemit community and everyone else here seems to have their own specialty which they can offer so I was thinking about what I could do for the platform as well. The answer I came up with is to share my learning about the law with the wonderful people here.

Why learning about the law is so beneficial for you

Despite what most people think about the law, it isn't as complicated as what you may think it is. Sure the TV dramas like Suits will display the actors trying to find some small loophole that they can exploit to win a case. However, in the real world, the law is applied through a series of set criteria that are clearly set out. The only reason why you may need a lawyer is due to the legal research skills they possess and the prior experience they may possess. In essence, you could fight a case on your own through learning about how you can satisfy the criteria in a way that is favourable to you. This not only saves you a lot of money but also helps you become more educated in the legal system and what you can and can't do.

How I plan to set out the lessons

The way I plan to set out the lesson is by deciding on an area of law to post about and then following a curriculum (that I will post at the beginning of each session) that should cover all the basic points you need to have a relatively wholesome understanding of that area of law. I'll go into the micro details and tell you about what standard of proof you have to provide and how you may provide it. I'll also explain all the technical legal jargon that may be necessary.

I'll be posting each area of law under a different tag under the setting Law101-Private law which will allow you to easily access all the past information about that area of law.

Any other questions you may have

If you're curious about my academic success, I'm a high distinction student that gets a top band in almost all the assignments and tests that I do. I have never failed a subject and I don't plan to in the future. All the resources that I will post has been curated by me and combined with other top students to give you the most wholesome experience possible.

The legal system I will be posting about is specifically targeted for the Australian community. However, you'll find that the criteria will be very very similar in most countries. Thus, you will be able to transfer the knowledge you gain here into your own domestic legal system and use it effectively

If you have any other questions, feel free to comment below.

I plan to start posting about the Private Law sector starting from tomorrow, but if there are any other preferences I'll see if I can satisfy them.

Private Law

In this topic, I will go into the basics of contract law and property law. It will form a foundation for the future when I go into each of these areas of law indepth.

Conclusion

I hope you will follow my posts as I'm sure you will be able to attain a lot of information from them and feel free to show what I post to your friends and family because the more people that benefit the better!
Just keep in the mind that I'm a law student and not a full qualified lawyer so don't post actual legal cases that you may need help with. I'm here to provide purely educational material that you can learn from.

Sort:  

The real unknown 2nd law...UCC rules the world..

Glad to have you onboard. Good luck in your continued studies :)

welcome from another newbie ;)

What does law say about whether we must pay taxes for cryptocurrencies? Technically, Bitcoin for example, is not a tangible, physical, local, object, thing, like a bar of gold would be which can be moved around and possessed in a literal and physical kind of way. Bitcoin is like shares in stock markets and we can only gain access to Bitcoin through passwords, passphrases, transactions, and I would not want a password or lock to be taxed just because it is connected to Bitcoin, and especially if Bitcoin is not recognized as real or legal money by a government for example . Because Bitcoin is on a decentralized blockchain which is neither here or there or anywhere or everywhere and if they can tax our connection to that then what would stop them from taxing us from other connections to anything and everything that may or may not be valued be it websites or videos or photos or email or bittorrent or other cryptocurrencies or information or Facebook or anything or whatever they feel like connecting it to? As Government grows, regulations tend to grow parallel to that.

As a student of political science, I'm pretty interested, thank you

Law is important for many countries and businesses.....we all come into contact with topics relating to law and I'm sure your teachings will help many students out there also studying law =)

Hi, @peterkkim96. I love your introduction post. I would love to learn about the law as I circle around in different policy fields every day, for business or pleasure, so I would like to have some legal background. I would love to learn from you. Keep it up!