Introduceyourself racerex #1

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemers,

About me.

race pic 1.png

My name is Race McBride and I’m super excited to be on Steemit. I am 19 years old and love Surfing, Skating, outdoors, having fun and all kinds of stuff. I don’t know why but it took a long time for my Steemit account to be approved. Maybe it’s just because my dad has not been checking my emails and it sat for a while

Let me explain.

My father Josh McBride or @dailydoodle is currently managing my account for me. Why you ask? Well back in October I left on a Mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (LDS) or (Mormons). I was called to serve in Santa Fe, Argentina, which is pretty far from Vista CA. The plan for now is to have my Steemit Blog help pay for my mission. You see Mormon Missionaries do not get paid to serve a mission. Instead we pay our own way and the reward is spiritual growth and amazing experiences. When I return home from the mission I plan on personally continuing with my Steemit account to help supplement my life. For now I leave what is posted to my dad. He will be posting my weekly emails that I send to my family.

As Missionaries there are some rules we all follow. No Dating, no swimming, no calling or skyping home except on Mother’s Day and Christmas. In bed by a certain time and up by a certain time. There are study times, exercise times, clean up times and we are always with another missionary 24/7, except to go to the bathroom and stuff like that. The person we are assigned to stick to is called our Companion. We do get to send a weekly email to our families and friends and read the communications they send us. This applies to snail mail as well.

Since it has been a few months since I reported to my mission my dad will post the emails beginning with the day I reported to the MTC (Mission Training Center) and keep them coming a little more often than weekly until we are caught up to the present.

Some things to know.

My dad served a mission back in the early 90’s in Resistencia, Argentina. Since then more missions have been added in Argentina and there are now areas in my mission that geographically overlap with where my dad served his mission. We do not pick where we go on our missions. That is decided by the leaders of our church through inspiration and revelation. So serving where my Father served is something very special for us both. We will be able to relate and share some similar life changing experiences, which is super exciting for us both.

I am the oldest of 5 kids. 2 sisters, who are 16 and 12 years old. After a 7 year break my parents decided 3 kids weren't enough and had my 2 baby brothers ages 3 and 5 years old, at least that is how old they are today. I try to be a good example to my younger siblings and have a good time being the coolest big brother.

the fam.png

My mom will graduate from Naturopathic Medical School in June of 2018 and become what we at home lovingly call a Hippy Dr. I’m super proud of her for spending the last 5 years in med school and having my 2 baby bros while doing it. She really is amazing.

On this post I am posting a few things that show who I was pre mission. Some of this has been posted on my dad’s site because it is a video of me and my buddy Dominic surfing at the Oceanside Harbor. Kind of our local spot. This is all for now since I’m presently in Argentina. I love surfing and probably miss it more than anything else, besides loved ones of course. Didn't forget you mom! I will probably post a lot surf vids and the fun stuff I will be doing in when I get home.

flip.png


skate.png

surf 2.png

I have been accepted to BYU Hawaii and plan on going to college there in fall of 2019. But until then I hope you really enjoy my mission with me.

location.png

skip.png

Sort:  

This is awesome, genius way to use steemit. I’ll be following and up-voting to help out. I wish I had a steemit account going while I was serving a
mission in Arkansas back in 2010-2012.

Welcome to steemit @racerex :3

Welcome bro glad you joined the community we are already ahead of the wave the way i see it steemit is going to be the next big since other socoal medias dont pay out like this does

Nice to meet you, @racerex! Welcome to Steemit!

Hey there ! Welcome to steem ! :D

I am pleased to welcome you, sure of the best stay with the Steemit family

Welcome to steemit @racerex. Join #minnowsupportproject for more help. Type in the comments of a post @OriginalWorks and it will help you verify that content is original.
Transfer SBD to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Transfer SBD to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project

Hello, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and you are cool and I love your photos and I was in Hawaii and my dad attended the Mormon church in Oregon and I love people and travel and culture and history.

Hi @racerex, welcome to Steemit. Thanks for your detailed self-intro. I am here to support a newcomer with a little upvote. Hope you will enjoy your time here!

follow me and upvote plz

Welcome to Steem. Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.
Also get to know more about Steem reading the Steem Blue Paper and share your feedback on our Steem Blue Paper Awareness Initiative
All the Best!!!

Congratulations @racerex! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Welcome to the community!!! Make great posts for good upbotes