New Steemit - Let's Get To Know Each Other

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemit!

IMG_20180505_221859_236.jpg

This my first post in the community and its fair to say I'm slightly nervous - please be kind.

I've heard so much about it and as a blogger already, I was initially dubious but once I checked it out found that I love the look of this community and the range of content available so decided to take the plunge and join this blockchain blogging gang.

In order to get to know you, I decided to compile a little A-Z of me - Sweetelyse and, hope you can comment with a small intro about yourself. Let's all get to know each other!

A - Alcohol. I'm not a huge alcohol dabbler however, I am partial recently to pink gin, yep its 100% a girly drink but that and sloe gin are gorgeous.

B - Boys. I am a mum to boys. I wouldn't change a thing

Untitled design (1).png

The iconic Costa Coffee cold brew with whipped milk selfie

C - Coffee, Chocolate & Chilli. Both my weaknesses although I would much rather take a small amount of excellent quality coffee, chocolate or chilli over an abundance of cheap stuff any day.

D - Duck! I absolutely adore duck as a meat option as well as fluffy ducklings. Yes, I know its a paradox but then so is life. Nurture versus survival in its lowest form.

E - Edinburgh. I live close by to this amazing city but its such a wonder in the sense that every time you go, there's always a new back alley, a new event, shop, cultural setting or building to find. You just can't get bored with Edinburgh.

F - Frogs. We have a few Rana Temporia which we've grown from spawn, once they're at a stronger stage we will release them so they can jump free and wildly with their wilder frog buddies. We initially saved them from a local pond/water are which was full of dirty baby wipes and junk. It wasn't being maintained and unfortunately now - a few weeks later its dried up and most of the other tadpoles perished. The ones we saved are gorgeous and healthy.

Untitled design (2).png

The little baby frogs, some still had their tale snubs at this point

G - Grapefruit. It's one of the very few foods that I cannot eat. Believe me, I've tried so many times but my palate just will not accept grapefruit is a food option.

H - Herbalism is a huge passion for me and while I was growing up. I loved learning about the beneficial and dangerous properties of herbs, roots, woods, oils, plants, weeds and resins. You name it, I loved finding out about it and my old dad loved to teach me. I remember when I first found out that most poisons are typically always close to their cure. Take nettles and dock leaves for example.

J - Japan. I have a wanderlust list as long as my arm, Osaka in Japan (tourist choice or what?) is topping that list. I mostly travel for culture and food.

K - Kooky. It's a word that I can only use to describe myself. I definitely don't fit into the cookie cutter mould of what a woman should be or how they should think and my personality stretches far and wide. Hopefully, you'll get to find out in my Steemit journey.

L - Lush. There's a shop called Lush that I adore, you can smell the fragrance of it from a mile away and they're always creating natural (somewhat debatable at times) but crazy products for all skin types.

Untitled design.png

Two Lush products I absolutely love

M - Money saving. I can't shake the need for thrifting, maybe it was stowed in me as a child from my dad. He was brought up to save and make do, during the war living was tough and survival was paramount. Now that things have changed, these skills and thriftiness are still valid ways of getting through life without spending a pretty penny.

N - Night Owl. I love the nights. I hate early mornings. Grrrr!

P - Petite. I am a teeny 5ft 1 and have 28'' legs. I wished I was taller for so many years, now I've come to accept my tiny status.

Q - Quiet. This is something I'm not described as in my close circle of friends, however outside of that group I have tendancies to not talk all that much. Again another irony.

R - Real Talk. I tend to discuss things others would see as cringe-like, controversial or embarrassing. It's not deliberate. I tend to find most things 'normal' and therefore if it's a human quality, it's worth normalising...right?

S - Scotland. I currently live and was born in Scotland. I am very proud of my heritage (Irish/Scottish) and the history, although it may be gruesome I love the unity that we have.

T - Thistles. As above, I also love the thistle - I plan to have this at my wedding. I love the yin-yang of this flower. Not only is it delicate and beautiful in its form, it's also prickly and can hurt if mistreated or manhandled.

U - Unoffensive. I very rarely find anything offensive. My mentality is, if it ''hurts'' then it has to be true somewhat, even if it's only in my subconscious so, therefore, why would I be offended by someone else hurting me when it's my own beliefs that have caused the offence. Therefore I tend to feel anger, sadness or determination or indifference as my go-to emotions.

V - Violane. This is a gemstone and Violane is much like a diopside. I prefer its natural state to the highly polished form but as a gemstone, this gorgeous purple to blue stone is said to help heal, support bone health, improve diabetes and the symptoms that come from the condition as well as aid weight loss and reduce PMS. The stone is full of manganese so this also maybe how it helps.

W - Walking. I love to walk as a form of fitness.

Y - Yoga. Yoga and stretching are passions of mine. Flexibility is key to health and yoga not only exercises the outer body but the internal systems also. What's not to love.

Z - The obvious one is sleep! I love to sleep and catching some Zzzz's. I can hibernate for days (if allowed) but life says no, so I need to wake up.

So, I failed slightly as I couldn't find anything for 'X' and 'I' and 'O' they genuinely were the hardest letters to use. So, to close, it's been lovely to e-meet you, I hope we can get to know each other? How would YOU describe yourself?

Edit: I have been asked to 'prove' that I am a real person, so here you go Steemit lovelies, this is me (today 6th June 2018) quick snap, taken while working - you can also find me offsite on Instagram where I will post my picture with the Steemit badge username is sweetelyseuk

Untitled design (3).png

Love, Elyse

Check out more of my offsite blog here

Copyright: All images photographed, taken and owned wholly by myself

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

welcome tot steemit your cute

Thank you @ewasteguy1 you're too kind :)

No problem, are you on discord chat yet?

Welcome to Steem Community @sweetelyse! As a gentle reminder, please keep your master password safe. The best practise is to use your private posting key to login to Steemit when posting; and the private active key for wallet related transactions.

In the New Steemians project, we help new members of steem by education and resteeeming their articles. Get your articles resteemed too for maximum exposure. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Great advice, I will certainly take this on board. Thank you for the warm welcome newsteemians :)

Welcome on steem, enjoy your stay.

Hi @zoef with a warm welcome to the community I already feel at home. I can't wait to see it all grow. Hope you're having a great week.

I do for shure.

W - Welcome

Yes!! I should have gone with that @programmingvalue :)

Feliz Blogging

Gracias ydavgonzalez, it's nice to e-meet you 😊

Dope!!!! Welcome to the Platform I hope that you enjoy this journey you have started!!!! You should take a picture of yourself holding a Steemit sign...Just so that people know that you are a real person... anyhow I hope you enjoy your time here.

As requested, I took this today while at work, so excuse the terrible quality 😊 Untitled design (3).png

Great! That was an excellent tip he gave. I upvoted you 100% for authenticity. Keep it up!

I will do, thank you for the tip! I will do this in my post over the next 24 hours. :)

Boom... another upvote for authenticity. Keep up the Steemit blogs.

Aww shucks, thank you @fundinggym you are too kind. I really appreciate it. Have a great weekend also :)

good idea for introduction post I like the A to z! welcome to the community! we don't bite but we love quality content here and make sure people can't copy and paste others articles with plagiarism bots!

Hope you enjoy Steemit!

Nice to e-meet you empiracoinllc, I cannot stand plagiarism! Grr! I promise you won't find that with my corner of the community that's for sure. 😊

Very cool way to introduce yourself to the masses. Haven’t seen it done before so kudos! Best of luck to you on here. Any questions just feel free to ask.

Thank you blewitt, its lovely to e-meet you and I appreciate it the offer of help. 😊

Anytime. Hoping to make it over to your neck of the woods in 2020 with our friends from Ireland.

Ah, any specific area in general? You'll love it, I will try to write a little post about the great things to see and do, specifically for you :)

I have no idea! Lol. My friends from Ireland just came out this past weekend to stay with me here in the states. I’m planning a trip out there in 2020 and my buddy Kevin (lives in Dublin) said he love Scotland and that we would take a trip there for a couple days but I’m clueless myself. Lol. Any recommendations for only having a short visit there? Ever been to the states?

I've never been to the states but I would love to go. I have family over there so I really need to sort it out and come visit eh. :) What do you and your friends like to do? Food, drink, culture ;) or are you more into beach, sports etc? I can for sure give you recommendations.

Where is your family here? Pretty much everything you mentioned is the kind of thing we would be interested in. Lol.

welcome to steemit. your the community. have a great day.

Thank you for the warm welcome @jimcustodio I hope you have a great day also :)

You have made such a wonderful and comprehensive introduce your self post. Rarely do I see such a great introduction. Your experience as a blogger is well noted.
Duly upvoted and I now following you. Have a great day!

Thank you @impatientoptim you are too kind. I really am shocked at the positive response to my introductory post, genuinely I was quite scared as I hit 'publish' however it's easy to see this community is very welcoming :)

This is a very welcoming community.
Your introduceyourself post stands out because it was written very
professionally and you did a great job of describing yourself. I look forward to your future content.

Welcome to Steemit, sweetelyse! Best wishes for a very exciting experience here in this wonderful community :) Best Regards

By the way, there are several groups you as a newcomer can join. They will stay with you for your journey, helping and mentoring along the way.

@greetersguild invite link https://discord.gg/AkzNSKx
@newbieresteemday invite link https://discord.gg/2ZcAxsU

Thank you so much for the warm welcome cheneats, I'll check out the groups you suggested.

Hey @sweetelyse welcome onboard.

It's nice to e-meet you vishalhkothari 😊

Welcome to the Steemit Community. Enjoy your stay :) Here is an Upvote.
follow us @wallstreethodl for great news and information on all things crypto!
I will be posting an article on how steemit works soon so follow along as it may be quite useful to you!

Hi, nice to e-meet you! thanks for commenting and the upvote. Its appreciated :)

Greetings...
Happy to see you join Steemit 👍, I follow you and Let's be friends by following each other 😊 , if any questions about this platform, please click www.steemithelp.net, I hope can help you to know about Steemit
Kind regards

Thank you so much Olgiz247, I will definitely be checking out the link. I have followed you also 😊

You're welcome @sweetelyse, I hope u enjoy on Steemit, good luck and success for you here... 😊

Excellent post! Thank you for sharing with us your story. I'm happy to upvote and resteem your introduction post and welcome to steemit:) by @cheneats

Congratulations you have been upvoted and resteemed as part of #newbieresteemday's top 10 posts for the day! ...

We invite you to use our tag to connect with more of our members. To learn more: Come Join Us!!! (Newbie Resteem Initiative)

Hugely appreciated. Such a warm welcome to the community. I can't wait to see how it all grows.

Welcome to steemit @sweetelyse if you have any questions, I am at your disposal, I am part of a school that teaches how to be successful in steemit..

STEEMSCHOOLS

We are here to help you grow, we have live classes every day by DISCORD.

Join here https://discord.gg/Sf6YH6j

WE WIN TOGETHER

ALL LIVE CLASS.jpg

It's nice to e-meet you yoyo13skate 😊 thank you for extending such a warm welcome.

Very nice and unique intro. Welcome to steemit. Looking forward to future posts.

Thank you spederson, its lovely to be here among such a lovely lot. I appreciate your comment and will check out your blog :)

Welcome to steemit @sweetelyse. Join @minnowsupport project for more help. Checkout @helpie and @qurator projects.
Send SBD/STEEM to @treeplanter to plant trees and get an get an upvote in exchange of your donation (Min 0.01 SDB)
Upvote this comment to keep helping more new steemians
Send SBD/STEEM to @tuanis in exchange of an upvote and support this project, follow for random votes.

It's nice to e-meet you tuanis 😊

I personally @padosky welcomed you @sweetely into this wonderful platform. Lets keep it moving. Lets keep working together for more excellent results. Steemit is the way.

Thank you @padosky its lovely to be here and I can't wait to see how the community grows. Have you been on Steemit long? :)

welcome to Steemit! I like your style of writing, very interesting. I look forward to reading more of your posts in the future!

Thank you so much @thomasjmitchell I appreciate your lovely comment. I will go and check out your blog just now and give you a little follow :)

@sweetelyse, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

It's nice to e-meet you introduce.bot 😊 I'm always on my best behaviour, but will check out the post. Thanks for the recommendation.

Congratulations! This excellent post was chosen by the new curation initiative of the @postpromoter content promotion service to receive a free upvote!

This post exemplifies the type of great content that we at @postpromoter enjoy reading and would love to see more of on the Steem platform. Keep up the good work!

Oh thank you so much @postcurator - greatly appreciated! I hope I can continue to put out content that inspires others :)

Love tea and herbs and eat from my gardens and you are a lovely mother.

Thank you, what a lovely comment. :) what's your favourite tea @joeyarnoldvn

Green tea is great. How are you?

If I had to choose, it would be mint every time. Oh and matcha ;) I do love good mug of matcha. Its so warming and comforting but good for your health too.

Hi. I’m new too! Love your post. Such a creative way to organize your thoughts. We have a lot in common and I hope to see more of you.

I'm sure you will @kaatebaerfossils I will go and follow you just now. It's nice to hear we have things in common, which stood out the most to you? Hope you're having a great weekend so far lovely :)

You got a 10.13% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @postcurator!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Thank you @postpromoter and @postcurator I appreciated it so much. :)

Welcome to Steemit. Well I found the ''I'' for you. I can tell that this is an introduction from an Intelligent person.

Hi @marihuya it's nice to e-meet you. Thank you also for your kind comments, you're too kind :)

Welcomeeeeee! This community is amazing, enjoy the people and what you can gain from it :)

Thanks @katrinalebar you're so right! So far everyone has been amazing. I can't wait to get a bit more time this week to really get stuck into it, and to explore the community more. :)

Welcome to steemit sweetelyse, I hope you enjoy your experience here and fulfill all your goals.

Same to you @ikar59 it's lovely to be here. Have you been on Steemit long?

Hi @sweetelyse how are you doing? No, I only have 5 weeks on steemit. You are doing great!! I can see you understand the benefits of invest in SP, it's great that you've received good advices.

bienvenida @sweetelyse, me has ganado escribiendo jaja pense que entre muchas mi presentación había sido la mas larga, un gusto conocerte y te seguiré, éxito y muy buena presentación, completa y bien relatada ;)

Gracias @natymen por los comentarios encantadores, es agradable conocerte, espero leer tu blog pronto también. :)

hi welcome ,I am Ahmed from Libya and work doctor , nice to meet you and enjoy your stay here in steem .I am blogger too , and also you have very good blog i see it .
https://skillstolive.blogspot.com/

Thank you @ahmend it's nice to e-meet you. I will check out your blog shortly :)

creative me loov that , welcome to steemit @sweetelyse

Thanks @tabdul you're too kind :)

Welcome to Steemit @sweetelyse
For your kind information keep safe your master password.
For cryptocurrency news follow @jyotirmay & Do Upvote.
Join discord - https://discord.gg/etCDGX
See you again

It's lovely to e-meet you @jyotirmay I will definitely take your comments on-board. :)

Thank you so much, stay connected and do upvote.

The SteemJet Community welcome you to steemit.

The Steemjet is a community of techological and creative people all over the world with the vision of Global Adoption of Steem.

To know more.
Follow : @steemjet
The Sponsor: @dimimp

Join us on our discord channel: https://discord.gg/gGf9V24

Thank you @yungchief its lovely to be among some awesome people.

Excellent first post, can't wait to see more 😀

Thank you @jockery :) I will be sure to check out your posts also.

Welcome to Steem, @sweetelyse!

I am a bot coded by the SteemPlus team to help you make the best of your experience on the Steem Blockchain!
SteemPlus is a Chrome, Opera and Firefox extension that adds tons of features on Steemit.
It helps you see the real value of your account, who mentionned you, the value of the votes received, a filtered and sorted feed and much more! All of this in a fast and secure way.
To see why 2768 Steemians use SteemPlus, install our extension, read the documentation or the latest release : SteemPlus 2.17 : Tips.

Welcome. I am new myself and I hope to learn, meet new people and have fun

Hi @abbeyunique it's lovely to meet you, how are you finding your Steemit journey so far :)

Welcome to the platform darling. xo

Thank you @canadian-vixen it's lovely to be here. Have you been on Steemit long? :)

My pleasure darling. I have been on here for a few months now. Slowly building up my community. Good luck to you on the platform, if you're interested in becoming an Verified NSFW Model hit me up! xo

I will do :) thank you. Have a great weekend lovely.

I hope you have a joyful weekend too dear. xo

Welcome to Steemit Elyse! :)
Hope you have a great time here. When you come to Rothenberg, tell me! ;)

Thank you @killyourhorizon it's definitely on the cards! I will keep you posted :)

Hi @sweetelyse Welcome to the VIP of social media! I have been here for two years! Welcome to the club.

Very unique way of doing the intro post! I like it!

Hi, @brianphobos thank you, it's lovely to be here among such amazing people. How have you found your two-year Steemit journey? :)

Welcome to steemit! Hope you enjoy it...
I've followed you❤️
Read my last post, please!

I will do @majodaily - thank you for the warm welcome :)

Hello! I followed you, let's increase the power of Steemit together! I hope you follow me. I'm always glad to have a new acquaintance with good people! ;)

It's nice to meet your acquaintance @veseloff I will just go and follow you back as well as check out your blog. I'm fully on board with increasing the power of Steemit together!!

Welcome! Awesome alphabet post telling us more about yourself :-)
Simple Image Bordered Spring Break Promotion Facebook Post.jpg

Thank you @travelsa it's lovely to e-meet you. I love your welcome image! :)

Welcome to Steemit elyse
I saw your #introduceyourself and its nice to meet you. The E for excellent blog post
Blogging thats what its all about on this blockchain. The best part is that you could earn money too.💴💸💰
I never blogged before I just write.
But be carefull with all your passwords !! Never give those up !!
For safety tips visit https://steemit.com/steem/@verhp11/safety-first-first-aid-kit-for-steemians-who-are-just-beginning-this-great-journey from Our fellow steemy @verhp11.
The Steemify App I use is great, it is available in the Appstore and free, go cheque it out. I wish you good luck with steeming and I Will See you around🍀
Greetings from Brittandjosie from the Netherlands

Greetings @brittandjosie it's nice to meet you too. Have you been on Steemit long? I will go and check out the links you suggest also :)

Congratulations @sweetelyse!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade for newcomers in the following category:

  • Comments - Ranked 5 with 54 comments

I also upvoted your post to increase its reward
If you like my work to promote newcomers and give them more visibility on Steemit, consider to vote for my witness!

Thank you @arcange I feel absolutely priviledged to have been mentioned. Appreciated hugely. :)

This is probably the best intro I've seen on here. Well done and welcome. You'll be a smashing success on here!

Welcome to Steemit. Maybe your next post should be a little shorter. Please follow me as well😊

Sweet! That's really an innovative way to introduce yourself. Welcome to Steemit. Hope you have a nice time here. I've also started using Steemit not long ago, was working on Medium until recently! Just followed you, cheers :D

There are 2 pages
Pages