Hi Steemians! - This is thebatmanbiker here and this is my introduction with some awesome pictures!

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

[A 10 minute read]

Hi Steemians! Hola, bonjour, ciao, namaskara! This is @thebatmanbiker (aka Batz) here!

This is my introduction post! I've been on Steemit for over a year now, but actively started participating in the community, only from July 2017. Active Steeming started only after I was part of the second Steemit conference organized by my great mate @firepower.

I am a Motorhead (first), a disciple of life (always), an Aerospace Engineer (arrived at one dream) and a little crazy(always).

I am inspired by the many stories that are shared on this amazing platform and they have prompted me to make my introduction post (finally!)

I'll structure my introduction post in the following way. As you read more, you'll find

  • A brief history of everything about me
  • Amazing travel pictures, from the eye of a photographer!
  • Personal experiences
  • Why I am on Steemit and what I hope to achieve here
  • Some homemade motivational quote pictures
  • A picture of a nice bottle of wine so we can toast to Steemit later

I hope this post will make you smile and inspire you all, as much as I have been inspired by many people here.

So, here goes! (Star Wars theme music playing)...

My name is Suhas Rocky. I am 26 years old.

IMG_2064.jpg
[PC: @firepower. Depending on the settings of your monitor, I am either black, brown or white in this picture!]

I am from Bangalore India. This city is famous for three things in particular: IT jobs, fuckall traffic and then everything else. But we have good food and good beer here, so that makes all the other crap worthwhile at times!

17799424_10208769306135556_7483118803503188303_n.jpg

Motorcycles is one of my greatest passions. Ever since I got my first motorcycle, I have not been able to envision a life without one.

IMG_8116-01.jpeg

I have been able to see and ride some of the greatest motorcycles in the world...

10274309_10205436830345744_3465514475420263437_n.jpg
[PC: @firepower]

Motorcycling has given me a lot of good things in life. It has give me great friends, memories to cherish and adventures to relive many times over. From this, my interests spilled into blogging, websites, learning more about the world, nature and wildlife, and of course, travel with a big T.

IMG_4794.JPG

Meeting Sjaak Luccasen, World Traveller on a Yamaha R1, at the Motorcycle festival in the Netherlands.

20161224_111450-01.jpeg

The above picture was shot when I was hiking in Periyar National Park and Tiger Reserve in Kerala in December 2016

IMG_0957.JPG

I self shot this picture at the shores of the Lake PangongTso, a high altitude fresh water lake in the Ladakh region of India, during my solo roadtrip around the country in 2013

IMG_0968.jpg

Camping at the shores of the Pangong Tso. You can see the little blue tent and my bike in the picture

I am grateful for motorcycles and the things it has given me. I hope I will always keep these interests and the values I got from them at the core of my spirit. I will also explore these interests and topics via my blog on Steemit.

In the last 8 years of Motorcycling, I have travelled over 100,000km, countless hours spent on the saddle. I love to travel, meet new people, listen to their stories, and come away enriched and better.

IMG_0672.jpg

Meeting a Captain and a soldier near the Siachen Glacier base camp, during my solo roadtrip around the country. When we got to know we were from the same part of India, it was fantastic. From him, I learnt about the Indian army's base camp, the Karakoram ranges, the Siachen glacier, and his family. It was truly a nice experience!

This is my motorcycle. I named her 'Hope' because of all the adventures she has given me, and the hope she gives me each time.

20161220_174552-01 (1).jpeg

I started racing motorcycles from 2017.

A00A2907-1-01.jpeg

I like to travel with friends, do some interesting activities such as hiking, riding and exploring new places, when we are not usually hanging out. Over the years, all these things have taught me many new ideas, opinions and beliefs. I still have a long way to go. To quote from the poem, Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening by Robert Frost,

I have promises to keep, and miles to go before I sleep.

20170814_091513-01.jpeg
Hiking one of the peaks in the Western Ghats of India with @nomadbiker, @aishwaryapissay and other good friends

I am an Aerospace Engineer by profession. It is a dream that I chased from the time I was in middle school. It all started with building model aircrafts, static and scale models. I am glad that I had something that I could really focus on when I was a kid. It kept me on the right path and gave me a dream to pursue and finally accomplish, by getting a MSc degree from Delft University of Technology, the Netherlands.

Here is a picture of a Titanic scale model that I recently built in my garage/workshop.
IMG-20160728-WA0012.jpeg

Here is one of a SR71 Blackbird that I built about 8 years ago.
Picture 011.jpg

Currently, I work as an Aerospace Engineer with Airbus Group in Bangalore, India. This is my first corporate job, and I think I am doing okay. Being an Aerospace Engineer was always the first goal, and I have finally managed to get here. I have reached that stage of my life where I have completed one goal, and laying the foundation for other goals in my life.

I owe a lot of these successes to the groundwork that was laid in my younger days, especially by my mother and my teacher.

My mother always took me, every weekend, no matter what, to Aeromodelling classes. That is where I met my teacher, who is now a good friend, 10 years and counting. He also planted in me the interests of biking, travelling and exploring new places. I can say that not only did he give me a career path, but also gave me more valuable things in the form of passions and interests in life.

Here is a picture of him teaching me how to fly a control - line aircraft.

DSC03986.JPG

I always follow a philosophy of being easygoing, optimistic, being genuine, nice and kind to people. I will always try my best to help someone if I can. Once I set my mind on something, I go out and work on achieving it. However, I do not tolerate fools, people whose understanding is limited to only what they believe in, and people who are pessimistic.

I love to smile.jpg
[source: Pinterest]

I feel like I am the odd one out in my entire family of cousins (I have no siblings). I have always taken the left turn, when everyone else went right. In a sense, I am taking the road less travelled. I do not know where I am going yet, but I have a few ideas, and I am cherishing the journey.

I owe all my successes, accomplishments, and comebacks to my friends and the odd people (and adventures) who have shaped me into who I am today.

I have travelled quite a bit in the last few years, starting with motorycling to many different places in India. Later on, as a student at Delft University in the Netherlands, I did my fair share of country hopping with a backpack. I have loved this form of travel because of the immense exposure it gives me to the local people, the food and the stories.

At Rhossili beach in Wales. I cycled about 40km from Swansea to visit this beach, and man, was it amazing. I have never seen a more pristine and beautiful beach!

IMG_1367.jpg

In November 2014, I backpacked for a month across the UK. It was an experience that I cherished, managing to visit many places, cities and meet some people, as well as family during my adventure.

During my visit to Tromso, Norway in September 2014. It was an amazing trip, and I managed to see the Northern Lights which had been on my bucketlist.

IMG_8196.jpg

In 2014, I rode a cycle for 500km from Delft to Paris. That was one crazy adventure I did with a friend. We had no GPS, no phone connectivity, and about 150 euros between us to last 7 days on the road, and for the train journey back.

20140814_183838.jpg

On my motorcycle, I've travelled to the Himalayas, and many other places in India

1503843_10201119208647900_772819645_n.jpg
Picture self shot at Wari La, one of the toughest passes to cross in the Ladakh region of India. For 60 odd kilometers, I was the only individual there. And plenty of wild Yaks

The whole journey lasted for 8000km and 30 days.

IMG_0898-01.jpeg
Picture self shot on my way to Pangong Tso lake in the Ladkah region of India

Living the Motorlife has taught me many things over the years. It has given a big boost to my self confidence, the ability to be prepared for the unexpected, the strength to face new and unknown paths and enjoy them while at it. Motorcycling has defined me as a person.

DSC_0454.jpg
Suffering a broken crank case cover during my roadtrip. All the engine oil leaked while I was on a remote road near the Chinese border. However, I managed to fix the issue, and made it back home 4000km and 6 days later.


I lived in Delft, the Netherlands for two and a half years, while studying. It was a great opportunity to meet people from different places. The biggest thing that I found out was that while we may be from different countries, backgrounds and with different interests, inside, we are all the same.

delft.jpg

Living in the Netherlands gave me the opportunity to visit many new countries as a backpacker, meet many new people and have some really fun, at times intense adventures. I got to visit some great automotive companies as part of my studies. These adventures also gave me an opportunity to hone my social skills, photography skills, writing and the ability to hold my alcohol as well ;).

IMG_8422.jpg
Visiting the Maserati Factory in Turin, Italy during my studies as part of a study tour

During my spare time, I volunteer for some social causes. I take part in organizing blood donation camps for the Indian Red cross with my dad at times. I have also volunteered for building biogas plants for tribal villagers of the Wayanad region of India (story for another day).

IMG_20170211_113423-01.jpeg

A send off ceremony from the tribal village after we completed building two biogas pits and cowshed for them. I am at the back of the group.

In the future, I plan to be actively involved in wildlife and nature volunteer work, and help in conserving the amazing nature and biodiversity that we have. With this in mind, I have applied to take part in the annual Tiger census that will happen in 2018. This is just the start!


My holidays are usually spent in the uncoventional way, and places that are not spoiled by tourists... I have been to some awesome places within my country, and beyond. I like exploring new offbeat paths on my motorcycle.
20170812_163221-01.jpeg

I am very much a social person, but sometimes, I like to enjoy the solitude of nature. Being in the middle of nowhere does not scare me.
20161203_140008-01.jpeg

There are days when you have to slip and slide to get to where you want to go...
BigRock1-01.jpeg

And at other times, you have to be smooth and fast...
DSC_5534-01.jpg

I am a believer in the Batman. (I am also Batman)
a39693e75542272dcb313f86805dcf6b.jpg
[source: pinterest]

I have learnt that life is a mixture of opportunities, the happy times, the good times, the sad and the bad times. Everything needs to be taken in its stride. Despite any setback, I believe that we must always fight for what we want out of life, and must be willing to put 100% effort into getting them. I am an enthusiast in life.

2f8fac52c19d7f37ba42a3df5e4c55d1.jpg
[source: pinterest]

I have my own quote, which I say to myself, and some friends quite often: "If you want to win, stand up and fight"

I like to make people, especially kids happy wherever I go. Whether it is chocolates or some sweets, everything puts a smile on their faces! I believe in being kind and good to people. There is nothing as being too nice.

DSC05153.JPG
(with my great mate @nomadbiker)

There are days when life is not a easy road and the going is not that great, but I know from experience that the road will get better and the going smoother. Until then, all we need to do is keep going and things will happen. I have learnt that the best way for things to happen is to start doing them. Once on the path, the people around you, the universe, or whatever, will conspire in wonderful and weird ways to help you out.

I do not have much family or relatives, but I have a bunch of great friends that I call family. During my travels, I have made friends in many places of the world.
PNTX6053.JPG

I love dogs! I have never had one of my own till now. Hopefully that will change soon!

IMG_1916.jpg
With Tumbles, Topsy, and Turvey at my aunt's place in Newcastle, UK

One of my goals in life is to do a motorcycle journey around the world, and see this amazing Earth from a life of a traveller.

I usually surround myself with happy and positive people. I believe in searching for solutions to problems rather than thinking about the problem as it being one. I like to read. I have a list of books that I want to include in my collection, and one of my yearly goals is to read one good book every month.

I am also good friends with the Mini MotoNomad

12244838_10205205203115208_1580470453411803040_o.jpg


Why I am on Steemit and what I hope to achieve here...

I have liked to blog, write a bit and share things that I find interesting with the people I know. Steemit has been the platform that I chose last year to continue my blogging.

On Steemit, I hope to connect with the many weird, strange, crazy and amazing individuals and hopefully meet them one day on my round the world adventure.

And I would also like to earn something for writing about stuff that can make someone smile, think or appreciate.


To finish this quite long post,

I am passionate about motorcycling, living a life of adventure, helping people live a life they dream of.

In the future, I aim to be a scuba diving instructor, teach people how to race motorcycles, and write a couple of books about some life-changing adventures.

My goal of riding around the world to explore, travel, and meet amazing people and see with my own eyes the amazing world we live in!

I aim to instill in people that I know, love, admire and look up to, an inspiration towards living the life they have always dreamed of.

There have been many people who are responsible for the good life that I live today, and I would like to give something back by making a difference in someone's life.


There are some quotes that I wish to share with you all before I close this post. These are quotes that I believe in, and I hope they inspire you too.

I am learning everyday to allow the space between where I am and where I want to be, inspire me and not terrify me - Tracee Ellis Ross

The world is gonna judge you no matter what you do. So live your life the way you fucking want to.

Just start off. And then the adventure carries you away.

I have a theory that the truth is never told during the nine-to-five hours. - Hunter S Thompson

Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming "Wow! What a Ride! - Hunter S Thompson

And finally, one of my favorite ones:

Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the things you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover. - Mark Twain

Some homemade motivational quote pictures to finish up...

FB_IMG_1497260925908-01-01.jpeg

IMG_20170127_233134_357.jpg

IMG_20170418_195657_760.jpg

IMG_20170419_094220_651.jpg

DSC04324.JPG
[PC: @nomadbiker]


Hopefully, we can do some amazing things on this platform and build an amazing story to be shared with the rest of the world

Shout out to @dan, @ned, the team of developers and the entire community that has made Steemit what it is today!

I plan to take part in Steemfest next year (2018), and hope to be involved more and more in this amazing community!


If you read all the way till here, thank you so much! Here is the picture of the amazing wine bottle(s) that I promised earlier in this post.

IMG_0012.jpg
Source

Let's raise a toast to Steemit and the amazing people behind the scenes!

IMG_0034.JPG

Hopefully one day, Steeming will take me around the world. Until then, may the Steem be with you!

You may view my Facebook, Instagram profiles, for Steemit verification! Cheers!

Yours,
@thebatmanbiker


Sort:  

Hello Welcome to Steemit wish you best of luck ! Glad to see more people like you

welcomedubai

welcome! seems like you are having an interesting life)) and i love the pictures! :D

Thanks for the comment @reinikaerrant! I'm everyone's life has something interesting in it!

Love everything about this, from the photos to the words. Which is a generic AF response, but it's heartfelt & I'm leaving space to edit after I've devoted more time to the awesomeness.

You've lived such an amazing huge life! I'm almost twice your age & you're living the life I've dreamed of with just tigers & Norway's northern lights alone, and yet we both have all our dreams & so much more to look forward to, how cool is that? I'm so genuinely happy & excited for you. I feel brave being able to sit on my porch without a panic attack, so reading about your life is amazing. Vicarious is an apt word, from a voracious reader.

So glad you're here, writing. I hope I stumble across your words & photos again.

I'm another from the 'joined a year ago, but...' group. You'll definitely be a hard act to follow if I ever get the courage to write one. Sheesh & yet yay! :)

Grats on an epic intro post & journey... can't wait to see what else you share. Especially when it's tiger time. 🐅 If your animal adventures ever take you in a sloths path, I apologise in advance for any fangirling. But sloths. C'mon.

Welcome again.

Also, your 'Hope' is quite beautiful. That one shot that says it was self taken is done in such a badass style. The water shots too were particular spectacular.
Ok, I'm going to stop with the awkward praise. Delighted to have a good read, thank you.

@largelyuseless, thanks for the comment!

It is a normal life, with some amazing moments in between, I would say. It is never too late to live a dream, as long as we do not have unreasonable expectations. Thank you for your kind words! Happy to be writing here... I may be a hard act to follow, but there are definitely harder acts to follow out there for me!

Regarding sloths, we do not have sloths in India :) Tiger time is next year, and hopefully, I will get to spot some as well!

Thanks again for your comment and your kind words. Cheers and good wishes for everything! :)

Epic intro post. Welcome! Always nice to see new bikers. Taking a street bike down some of those roads is ballsy. Well done, sir.

@riverhead, thank you for the comment! Do you ride bikes too?

I have heard a lot about you! Are you in charge of steemit chat?

hi dear, welcome to steemit, I am the best voter and follower all of you and your posts, so be spread your circle of trust. so plz vote me up and follow me. thanks

The best post I've read in my 13 days of being in the Steemit jungle.
Awesome pictures, well-written story. What more can I say?

I gladly followed you, I hope you do likewise.
Cheers bro

I am glad you liked it and think so. Cheers! :)

Hey! Great post!
I enjoyed reading this.
Followed for more! :)

PS: If you like wine, try the argentinian one :D

Thanks you @favcau! And thanks for the follow.

I've tried Argentinian wine. Tastes nice, but kinda leaves a dry taste in your mouth... Not that I complain, but it does feel a little weird when you have had too much of it!

Awesome to have you on board #Steemit @thebatmanbiker :) We're following you now and looking forward to the next post. Come back to Norway - we are in Stavanger!

For a fun kick of daily inspiration please follow us and our upcoming #HumansOfAwesomeness story series.

I really would like to! Love the natural beauty of Norway!

Thanks for the follow! I'll check out the story series!

Such a beautiful post...@thebatmanbiker.
Following you for more.

Hi man its been a long post but i did from the begin till the end, good photos and good messages i enjoy it!
regards.

great job @thebatmanbiker

Love the gif, :D Thanks!

Welcome to the jungle steemit

Fantastic intro, WOW! Welcome to Steemit!

Thank you @peter2017!

like the fact that you've put a signature in your comment!

Thank you!

that is really an overwhelming post, surely that can kind of passion is great as long as it makes you happy then do it. ^^ followed you so i can see your bat riding skills. ^^

@robin-ho, thanks for the follow and the comment!

Yup, for me, a passion is really important to go through the mundane things that we have to do, and we have to do what makes us happy and gives us meaning.

Yup, bat-riding it will be! Cheers! :)

great then , do the bat riding thing then . ^_^

Hey , how are you ?
welcome to steemit @thebatmanbiker
following you now. :D
follow me back pls.

Wow, nice bike and truly admire your courage and adventurous spirit, hoping one day I'll muster the courage and get myself a bike too ;)

@thejoyteen, thank you. You should get a bike too! It is a whole different adventure that awaits you then! Cheers!

I read all the post and I'm still alive, should we make this a thing or a sort of badge for people who actually read a post, especially a long one? :)

You are living the dreams of most of us, which is a thing I guess you already know. I have a friend, a pilot, who has a similar lifestyle, looks like it has something to with the air, freedom. Guess the free-spirited and those hungry for adventure take to the skies.

May the steem be with you :)

I agree with the badge part, maybe it should allow individual users to give them as rewards! ;)

I guess free-spirited is one way to live. And it does have something to do with freedom and the hunger for adventure!

Thanks for the comment and cheers! :)

You are most welcome.

Hi. Really nice to read about you.Best of luck on steemit. I have followed you and now you can follow me too. Do check out my page. It's good.

A new Steemian ^^ hello @thebatmanbiker I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

@tradewonk, thank you and see you around! Cheers! :)

welcome to steemit @thebatmanbiker. You will do great here

@gringalicious, thank you! Hopefully, I can contribute towards building a better community too! Thanks for the comment, cheers! :)

Awesome pictures for you first blog post. Welcome fellow Steemian!

Hi, thanks for the comment.

But this is not my first blog post on Steemit, it's probably my 30th! ;)

I enjoyed reading your introduction of yourself...I find you so much interesting, that makes me want to meet you in Person one day. If I am a girl, I am already in love, he he... I will definitely follow you, on your rides here in Steemit. I hope you will visit the Philippines one day and meet you here, invite you to our beautiful Province and explore some beaches and coves here, for in our town lies the beautiful Anawangin Cove God bless on your trips and stay safe. Hoping to meet you someday, I'm @joshvel

Hi @joshvel! That is too much of a compliment! Thank you!

Well, I'll visit the phillipines one day. I know that the Steemit community is quite active there! And when I do, We will definitely meet. Cheers and good luck on Steemit! :)

Welcome, Suhas. It's great to know you finally start blogging here. Good to meet you

@greatness96, thank you! Good to be here! :)

The shores on Pangang Tzo reassemble the shores of a Methane lake on one of Saturn's distant moons: Titan

That's interesting! :)

Very nice intro post. Welcome to the Steemit community. Cheers indeed! @rebele93

@rebele93, thanks for reading and the comment! Good to be here!

Glad to see you are chasing your dreams :)

welcome to steemit. i enjoy reading your post. hope youll find success here :)

Thank you @xyza! Glad to know you enjoyed reading the post!

Nice Please Follow My Link Upvote @shahbazahmad

Love everything about the post, it's more than an introduce yourself post. The pictures accompanied with the quotes is awesome....

Thank you @bco! Glad you liked the post!

approve , Thank you very much

Great introductory post. You've done great since you arrived here on the scene. Following You. :)