Anxiety&Depression - My Experience and why you should Treat it ASAP.

in #introduceyourself6 years ago (edited)

sad-2635043_1920.jpg
(Photo Source : Pixabay)

Hey guys, In this post im going to talk to you about Anxiety and Depression, and ofc - My experience with it.

Anxiety and depression are sadly a common thing, but a low percentage are actually treating it/admiting they have it.

I'm 20 years old right now and im gladly saying - I am not depressed anymore! I still have some anxiety, but not as much as i used to, I'll explain it now.

After i finished Highschool, i was supposed to join the Israeli army, if you don't know , Every citizen in Israel has to join the army at the age of 18. I finished highschool when i was 17, means - I had a 1 year break before joining the Army.

I'm a really friendly guy, I'm always dominant and when i finished Highschool, I suddenly stopped talking to my friends, I was just watching movies and doing my business on my Laptop. Thats how i spent a whole year.

I didn't go outside for weeks, because i had nothing to do outside, and one thing left to another. I started thinking everything i feel is Cancer ( I hate even saying this word, I always say "C" and not the full word ) My neck hurts? Cancer. I've a flu? Cancer. You know what i mean? It's really hard to live like that, All i thought about is Diseases.

I started being really depressed, I didn't want to talk to anyone, I was really closed, and it made me being scared to go outside with my friends. ME. the guy who went out with friends 3 days a week.

My hands started shaking everytime i did something that made me anxious. I couldn't drink or eat when people were near me ( People that aren't my close family ). If i held a cup with water for example, I was scared to lift it to drink, Because my hand started shaking so hard. and it made me even more closed than i was because of the anxiety. I couldn't do anything LITERALLY.

It took me alot of time to tell my parents about my anxiety, but when i did? It was the best decision i made in my life.
I started going to psycholigst, after 6 months of going to the psycholigst twice a week, I felt better, but i was still depressed&anxious.

And then, I started taking Psychiatric pills. and let me tell you that - It was the right desicion.

After i started taking the pills, I started smilling again, I wasn't depressed anymore, It helped me do everything i was scared to do while being anxious. It was a process ofc, and I did alot in my own, but the pills really helped me to start doing things.

I ate infront of alot of people, I went to the supermarket, went to buy clothes, and did a lot of things i couldn't imagine ill do when i was anxious.

What about now?
Now i'm volunteering as a social media manager in a Non-profit organization and i LOVE IT!
I'm going out with friends, And i dont think about Disease that often anymore!

If you feel depressed or/and anxious, Please, talk about it with someone you trust and treat it as soon as possible, because it's not a life you want to live, trust me. if you have any more questions regarding it, Feel free to ask in the comments.

Sort:  

I was one of those person that never understood depression and anxiety, even when my grandfather, father, sister, aunt had it, I still didn't understood.

Until the day I started having panick attacks. Just like you, every single pain I had I thought straitght away I was going to die. To the point I got stuck on bed and only leaving to the hospital do to exams.

After all exams, I realized it must be all in my head. But fighting it was impossible. I tried to control my thoughts, whenever I had a panic attack I would try to remember that all my hospital exams were ok.

Still I couldn't control it. Still sweating, waking up at night shacking, stuck in bed.

Decided to start taking sertraline, and the first two weeks I only got the sideaffects of it, but after the fourth week it started to work.

Now 6 months forward I'm still taking sertraline, but I can now get out of bed and have a "normal" life.

It's karma, for everytime I thought why people just don't think of something else, something positive. Well because it's impossible.

It's like saying to someone that haves asma "Why do you have asma, there is soo much oxygen around us"

All the best.

Thanks for sharing, I didn't fully undrestand Depression and anxiety aswell. I'm taking sertraline aswell btw.
I wish you the best.

Thank you for opening up. I am happy that you have a supporting family to help you through it and help nudge you in the right direction. Therapy and the right pills make all the difference. If I had to live with my PTSD and anxiety without chemical help, everything would be so much harder.

Thenks for shering. I think it's beter to have enxiety attacks whene young, then you have time to learn how to get along with it befor you have familly and children that rely on you.