You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Support those working to expose abuse and save the Rewards Pool. Part 4 with Witness @lukestokes

in #itnt7 years ago

Yeah, I'm not easily offended and if I am, I still just keep on scrolling. It's rare for me to act. I frequent the homesteading area mostly in Steemit and saw an account posting several of our "circles" videos as their own. Others thought they were new and lots of resteeming happened. It really did burn my butt, to see folks hard work pilfered like that. That can not be tolerated here. I'm very interested in this series you are doing and will be following you closely. Thanks for the response.

Sort:  

I appreciate that. For something as blatant as plagiarism like that of the videos, make sure you use the steemcleaners report tool. They will make sure that ample flags are thrown at that user to make them learn their lesson. haha

I follow a couple of people in the Homesteading community. @papa-pepper of course and @pennsif, @aedroberts. Probably more I can't think of. I'm a suburbs dweller myself, and my yard is mostly limestone that I can't even grow grass on, so there's that. But sustainability is a really cool idea! More power to you!

Maybe I have misinterpreted your comment, but if I haven't, I'd like to point out that resteeming gains the resteemer NO rewards. All resteeming does is post the original to the followers of the resteemer.

Resteemers gain no rewards from resteeming.

I think she's saying her plagiarized content posted by a thieving account was resteemed, not her original post. I'd be pretty irritated if my photography or an original story was ripped off by another user and then gained more attention than my original post.

Correct, the stolen content was resteemed by others and therefore rewarded the thief when it was seen by more people and upvoted.

That's unfortunate. I can imagine your frustration. Hopefully as steemit progresses more of this kind of activity is squashed. There's already a lot of work being put in by users of the platform ( @anyx ) and it seems developers are aware and working on some solutions as well.
Can't wait to see what the future holds for steemit!

Thankfully, the scammers are a very small portion of this awesome community. I've only been here a few months, but have watched Steemit grow in that short time. I look forward to meeting some great folks and being a part of Steemit's success.

If I misunderstood, and I reckon I may have, then her ire would be more than understandable.

I have seen some re-steemers who are resteeming multiple articles in multiple laguages in a very short space of time. Based on the wide range of topics that they resteem - non consistent on any theme, it looks like their activity is indiscriminate. What are they hoping to achieve by this?

Sounds like they are trying to harvest curation awards. By putting their vote on a post and then resteeming, if the post they resteem gets a slew of upvotes, they get more of the curation pool.

Just a guess, but they are probably auto voting and auto resteeming top authors who are going to make a lot out of each post anyway in a hope to get a few extra pennies in curation.

Perhaps you have noted the commercial resteemers at work. A cottage industry is erupting.