CAPTURING CANADA: West Coast Vancouver Island

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

I'm going to try something different here. I don't know how it will go, and I don't promise to make this a regular feature, but since I'm sharing my Canadian photos on a few social networks already, I wanted to do it a little differently on Steemit and turn this into something approaching a travel blog (though to use the B-word will all but guarantee failure, given my history with such endeavours, so lets call it a travel LOG instead. Much better.

Instead of sharing the photos one at a time I'll put a few together into a single post per location (West Coast Vancouver Island, for example) and link them together with a bit of descriptive prose.

Hopefully the #OriginalContent will add extra value to my Steemit posts, and if this goes well I'll share it out from here to Facebook and my website, and thus begin to promote Steemit and my presence on it. Fair?

So with disclaimer duly recorded and italics all used up with a conspicuous lack of promises, let us begin the first of many (a few, one?) episode(s) in my photo-heavy travel LOG.

EXPLORING the WEST COAST of VANCOUVER ISLAND


Speaking of logs...

Mountain, rainforest, waterfall, rock and beach, these make up Vancouver Island, tucked into Canada's Pacific coast, one of the westernmost parts of British Columbia (but not of Canada - the Yukon has that distinction).

Today we explore the western coast of this western island, where the ocean meets the sand.

Unlike at the rocky easternmost point of Canada - Cape Spear, Newfoundland - you can walk into the ocean here at Long Beach without a high probability of death. This makes it a traditional beginning to a coast-to-coast journey, even though it has no catchy geographic distinction (and it's best to start on the west coast so that when you die attempting to get your feet wet at Cape Spear, at least you will have enjoyed Canada first - but I digress).

After the obligatory Pacific stroll we drive up the coast to the pretty little town of Tofino.

PUBLIC SERVICE INTERRUPTION: I should tell you right now that this travel log won't take you into all the cool little towns across the country. I won't have pictures of food, or of locals (unless they get in the way when I take a nature photo), and precious few cityscapes (I skipped most cities). It wasn't that kind of trip, and I'm not that kind of photographer. By focusing on landscape images and nature I sacrificed seeing a lot of cool "local" things, and when I stopped for breakfast it was my chance to put the camera away and figure out my next destination. Now that I've dashed your expectations, here's a rainbow:


Tofino is pretty.

One of my favourite spots we found on the coast was just outside Ucluelet (which even the locals call Ukee) a town south of Tofino. In Ukee is a hiking trail, a short loop. Popular with locals and tourists alike, it follows the coast around a point and passes the Amphitrite Lighthouse. This trail is called -say it with me - the Lighthouse Loop.

And I'll let the pictures do the talking.

In the photography world we would say that the Lighthouse Loop has a high PPPM rate (pretty photos per mile). Okay, I made that up. But you see what I mean. And I'm grateful to my buddy (who knows who he is, I hope) for choosing awesome locations to visit! This is one of the few areas on my journey that I didn't scout heavily beforehand, expecting to enjoy time with friends before the long trip east, but the photo opportunities were there anyway.

Now, "what about the National Parks!?" you demand? What about Pacific Rim? As I described in earlier posts, one key goal of this trip was to visit a Canadian National Park in every province and (accessible) territory. The goal was not to visit every park (save that for another decade!), though of course I wanted to see as many as possible. But I knew I would spend time in the Rockies and ended up visiting five of B.C.'s NP's, so when the weather at Pacific Rim was poor, I was content to explore for an afternoon and then move on. The poor weather worked to my advantage on the Rainforest Trail:

The beaches in the Park didn't work out so well for me on the cloudy exploration day - mark locations on the map for next time!

From Ucluelet I drove back across the Island on the Pacific Rim Highway towards Port Alberni...but that's a story for another day.

So endeth the first installment of Capturing Canada! I would sincerely appreciate any feedback you can give me on this experiment: thoughts, opinions, ridicule, etc. Please don't be too positive or I may feel I've reached the zenith and stop here. ;)

Sort:  

Hello Google ... Flights to Canada. :)

;)

What can I say. You Sold it .... OK it sold itself.
But very, very nice work.

Hehe, thank you! :D

this is a good place and perfect post:-)

Thank you. :)

Awesome! I'm probably going to drive up to BC this summer. I wasn't planning on the coast, but maybe now I will.

You should put this on the steemitworldmap.com. Instructions are on the FAQ. The group that puts it together is @steemitworldmap.

Let me add that I too don't take pictures of people too much. I prefer to take photos of landscapes and human artifacts. People just don't interest me much. (shrug)

Honestly if you throw a dart at a map of of B.C., even if you're a poor shot you'll end up somewhere nice! I'm sure you'll love it there.

And thanks! I'll check that out. :)

I was in the Rockies a couple years ago. Did a loop from Cranbrook through Kootenay, Banff, Yoho, Glacier, and Mt. Revelstoke NPs, then back to the USA via Osoyoos. Those blue rivers are calling me back. Been to Vancouver, too, many years ago, and Vancouver Island, but I didn't get out of Vancouver or Victoria much. I'm going to take a month or so to wander around this time.

Excellent! That's a great loop and will be worth doing again, but there's plenty on the island (ferry is expensive though) and up farther north. I hope you have a great time later this year!

Awesome pictures. Great color and outstanding landscapes. Keep on posting such nice shots

Thank you! I'll keep posting for sure! :)

Wow these are awesome pictures, National Geographic quality. I almost feel like I'm there. Which is nice because it's freaking cold and windy and bleh out here in Montreal, a nice green forest walk would be perfect right now. I can even imagine the smell. Rainbows never hurt either :) Thanks for the mental vacation, follwed you. :)

Yeah, I'm near Ottawa and am thinking the same thing. I can't complain because I was just there ^, but I wish I was still there! Thank you for the kind words and the follow! :)

Beautiful photos. And that's just the right kind of blog to give inspiration to head out and take photos.. I also don't need photos of food in it ;-) (subscribed)

Hehe, good, thank you! :D

These shots are amazing!

Thank you! :)

Wow! Your pictures are amazing and breathtaking! Thank you so much for sharing!

Thanks for stopping by and commenting! :)

You are welcome :)

Hi i really enjoyed your honesty and the great photos. Looking forward to your next log.

I'm happy you liked it, thank you!! :)

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.15 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.03
Server time: 02:45:02
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 25.25/100.00
Total Photos: 3
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

PUBLIC SERVICE INTERRUPTION: I should tell you right now that this travel log won't take you into all the cool little towns across the country. I won't have pictures of food, or of locals (unless they get in the way when I take a nature photo), and precious few cityscapes (I skipped most cities). It wasn't that kind of trip, and I'm not that kind of photographer. By focusing on landscape images and nature I sacrificed seeing a lot of cool "local" things, and when I stopped for breakfast it was my chance to put the camera away and figure out my next destination. Now that I've dashed your expectations, here's a rainbow:

Please allow a little editorial fix to the above statement. The last line should read - Now that I have RAISED your expectations...and increased your anticipation and excitement about the pictures I will present.

I love this photo set and cannot wait for more. That Lighthouse loop bunch are fabulous. High PPPM rate indeed. Consider term stolen, btw.

Hehehe, I'm glad you think so! And I thank you for reading the whole thing! Please steal PPPM and make it a thing - it could become a useful measurement standard! :D

It is now the standard I shall measure scenic routes by, mate. I love that you chose to photograph off the beaten track. Foodies and city bloggers bore me to tears. Unless there is a recipe attached to your meal or a review of the place it was served, I really do not care enough to see what you ate for breakfast. I could look at lanscapes like yours all day!

That purple one and the sweeping tree below it are just phenomenal photos of a magical place!

I'm such a bad Canadian, I should have used the metric measurement - PPPKm. Sorry.

And yes, I agree with you - when I look at travel stuff I'm all about the land and the history!

And thank you. :)

Heya, the founder of the Steemitworldmap here, while your post just fell short of the featured section in our daily #traveldigest today, I think it is still incredibly undervalued.

As a member of a curation guild called @ocd, it would be my pleasure to nominate your post there to get it some more visibility! Just let me know here if you'd be up for this!

Cheers!

Well thank you, @martibis! First off, thanks for creating the Steemitworldmap - really cool idea!

Secondly, you make me an offer I can't refuse. I can't say no to more visibility, can I? Thank you!!

The pleasure is mine really, now I can let all these amazing travel posts come to me, hehe!

Most people don't refuse indeed, haha!

Hehe. Thank you! Do you need anything more from me for the @ocd nomination?

Nope, that's it! I have nominated it, and somewhere soon we'll be voting at the best of the nominated posts!
If you're in, you'll be featured in one or two days!

Sweet! I'll try to keep an eye on that. And I'll have to post to your map more regularly too. Thank you!

Great work man I love Canada. I need to get out there soon and go explore. Keep up the great work.

Thanks man! I hope you can get out there soon! :D

WOW 😎
great pictures @derekkind

Hey, thanks, Joe! :D

Those long exposures...Sweeeeettttt! Great set of images!

Thanks! I love long exposure. :D

Me too but in my area the subjects for this kind of photography are very limited :(

Hey, there's always clouds! Sometimes those make the best LE subjects.

I was going to says that the second pic was my favorite, but after I scrolled down I really couldn't decide. So many great shots. Keep up the good work. Followed and upvoted

Hehe. Thank you so much for the support! :D

Awesome post!!! Some of the image have really incredible colors!!

Thank you! I like colour. :)

superb photos, Vancouver Island is amazing!!

Why thank you!

Great post and love the log format . Lots of logs on the beaches here in the west coast . Keen to see some other spots in BC you have been as always looking for new inspiration ! Thanks

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

I feel I barely scratched the surface of BC, but there's still a lot more to come!

It’s such an epic province . So much to see here.

And parts of it, up north, feel as desolate and wild and anywhere else in Canada.

Trying to see as much as I can while I am here

Great post @derekkind, your photos are beautiful! I look forward to seeing more.

Thank you so much! :D

Thank you @bluebottlefilms! There will be many more. :D

Ah I loved it! Great log and gorgeous shots!
I love Tofino & Ukee. I live in Victoria and, shamefully, rarely get out there. I am hoping to get there this spring though! I can only hope to snag shots as dope as yours though! Cheers!

Thank you! It is a truth universally acknowledged that those who live closest to a place are the least likely to visit that place - don't ask me what there is to see in Ottawa!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=derekkind
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=capturing-canada-west-coast-vancouver-island


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Very very nice photos

Thank you very much! :)

This was a really pleasant read illustrated with superb photography! :)

Thanks again, I'm happy you enjoyed the read. :D

Good pictures.

Thank you, Joshua!

I totally appreciate your photos of non-human centered photos (i.e. Not food). you capture the light marvelously.

Well thank you! I have nothing against humans but when it comes to landscape photos generally the wilder and more untouched the place looks, the better! :)

So true, Mother Nature seems like the best artist imaginable

Yes indeed. By the way, I just saw your name over on the GUESS THAT USERNAME contest, and now I'm trying to analyze it. ;)

Haha fantastic ;) good luck hehe

Beautiful. I hope I can get to the West coast to see myself

I hope you can too! :)

Wow, epic photos. That single track looks amazing... makes me want to put on my trail shoes and explore! ;)

Thank you! I don't think it would be what you'd call extreme, but I'm sure you'd like it anyway! :D

Sure I will... it doesn't have to be extreme. ;)

PS Damn, your actual website is amazing... I've just spend 10min staring at you awesome photos!

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

Hehe, thanks for visiting my website!!! :D

A high PPPM rate lol love it!! Love it so much I am reposting it!
You have some amazing shots keep them coming I def wanna follow your "log"

Hehe, thanks for the resteem and for the comments, Kyla! :D

Amazing photos! I say keep doing what you’re doing. Seems to be working.

I was in Vancouver for 24 hours last fall. It’s beautiful. The cities surprised me! They are huge! It was before I dug my camera out again so I only had my phone but I want to go back and explore more of it and see Vancouver island. It looks amazing.

I'll plan to do more of these in the future! :)

Vancouver is a nice city, as far as cities go! I spent about the same amount of time there at the end of October (went to a Canucks game!). If you want, there's a great view of the city on the drive up to Cypress Mountain. If you're lucky there will be fog!

Ooh. That would be awesome! I would love to go back soon.

Love how you took your picture. Its so amazing and inspiring to see photos like this

Thank you!! :D

Wow! This photos are just amazing! Convinced me to follow you from the first one! Keep up the good work!

Awesome, thanks for following!! :)

Stunning ! really amazing... thank you for sharing this, it feel like a bit of holiday on my chair at home :-)

Hehe, that's how I would like it to feel! Thanks for reading! :)

Canada .. where nature lives .. loved it

Hehe, yes, there's quite a lot of nature still living here!

Wonderful and dreamlike photos! You are a magician! These photos look like oil paintings to me!

Aw, thank you!! :D

:)

Just in case you didn't notice yourself until now: this concept seems to work. I like the combination of absolutely perfect pictures that tell a little story themselves (like the rainbow-one) and your crisp and fresh way to describe it all (and a bit extra). 'Well done' is all that is left to say. I'll follow you and hope to get more of this.

Yes, I can't argue with anything that's happened on this post so far - never expected it to blow up like this. And all I can say is THANK YOU for the support and the wonderful feedback. :D I plan to do more of these - weekly, perhaps, or bi-weekly. I'm not getting through my photos very fast right now with so many other things to do, but I'm hoping to get more organized!

I can be very patient with that and prefer quality contend over stuff that's just been pumped out. Take your time ;-)

Excellent! :D

amazing shots and very well written. got my upvote ! make sure to check my profile for upcoming photographs. i followed you :)

Thank you very much, @weberh8! :)

I love your use of the Orton Effect :) Hey, keep blogging man. I think you're doing a great job.

Hey thank you, I love to hear that! I can't get enough of the Orton, but sometimes wonder if it's overdone and if I'll look back in 5 years and think "ugh!" like I do now with photos from 5 years ago. So I appreciate you saying that. :)

Breathtaking shots here. Makes me want to go back for sure! Great job capturing all of this beauty.

Thanks for stopping by to comment, @insatiabledreams! :)

Wow, that looks like a movie! Amazing places, now I want to visit them!

Thank you, Elena, the west coast is well worth a visit if you get the chance. :)

You're photography is breathtaking!

:D Thanks!