Why I Am A Libertarian

Why am I a Libertarian?

Well according to everything we know about humans, most things are part nature and part nurture. The same goes for why I am a Libertarian. I've always been an independent mind, I've never really followed the hive mind of the crowds. I would say I was born a contrarian, but my parents only exacerbated this in me.

"How are you a contrarian?", you might ask. Well, I've always had a disdain for authority because I felt most of the time it was obtained through dishonest means or abused the powers given. This doesn't mean I've went and acted outside of the law or authority just to "stick it to the man", but I've always disagreed with how our world works because it seems very oppressive to individuals that aren't in the top 1%. I've also asked "Why is X a certain way?" about how the world works and when no one can honestly answer those questions, it always frustrated me. People have accepted nonsense being pushed upon them without even thinking for themselves. We need look no further than 2020 to realize that most people are absent of independent thought.

So, now that we understand how I'm a contrarian, how did I arrive at the conclusion that I'm a Libertarian? Well I didn't for a long time, I felt like I had no ideology to identify with. It was only after I discovered Libertarianism that I embraced it and decided that I would be a proponent for Liberty amongst a world of authoritarians. 2020 just proved that we need a more voluntary society that people want to opt into instead of being coerced and forced into behaving a certain way. The more I look around, the more I see people in positions of authority trying to force things upon the public, all the way down to the new addition of a stop sign on my street that I didn't agree to. It was just dictated upon me by the authority that is above me. There's also a ban on burning things in my own backyard of the property that I own during the summer months, which is just ridiculous. Authority should understand that, as Uncle Ben said in the Spider-Man comics, "with great power, comes great responsibility". That should not be taken as an endorsement for "responsibility" of enforcement, but an endorsement of being responsible for allowing people Liberty and freedom. I'm certain power tempts people to exercise it in this way.

So if I'm a contrarian by nature, how did nurture play a part in becoming a Libertarian for me? Well, I had a very strict upbringing with authoritarian parents. Many people get along with this just fine because their instinct is to submit to authority. I was, quite literally, "built different". I argued, especially when they exercised an insane form of cognitive dissonance with their rules. It was very much a "rules for thee, not for me" world. That's when I decided that all forms of authority are primarily self-serving by nature. I don't necessarily blame my parents for this. I think they were just a product of the same systems and fell into the trap of repeating their own upbringing. I plan on breaking this cycle.

My goal with Libertarianism is to allow people to go about their lives freely, work within a free market, and behave the way that they want in a free society. Some people want to argue that Liberty isn't sustainable since some people will be allowed to be terrible people in a free society. My argument would be that in a free society, if people agree that someone is a problem, they'll be dealt with accordingly. If someone is causing issues in the neighborhood, well then they'll either be kicked out of the neighborhood by the people or the situation will be dealt with by discussing things with them and working it out. Yes, a Libertarian society is going to have to have a high level of trust, but I think that most people are willing to opt into this level of trust to maintain their freedoms.

As it stands, our world is not free at all, and I want to be part of a movement that pushes us towards Liberty like our founding fathers once did. It's going to take a lot to convince the general public since they've been brainwashed that government always acts in their interests, but I'm willing to work towards it in any meaningful way that I can. If you want to learn more about Libertarianism, feel free to reach out to me on Twitter, dBuzz, or any other social platforms. I'm always willing to help give advice on Liberty to people.

Sort:  

Public is brainwashed 💯

Yeah, that's why I support freedom and Liberty for all! Celebrate free thought!

Can't love this enough, brother. I have a very similar outlook. Perhaps this post can inspire me to post my own story ✌️✌️✌️✌️✌️

I'd love to read about it! We should all be inspired by Liberty!

Posted via D.Buzz

People worried that without the government we wouldn't be safe; don't understand. If the developer of a housing estate was able to dictate the rules for that estate, they could make it so much safer than what we have now.
It could be a requirement that every resident has every other residents' personal details and criminal history, with a log of visitors; linked security/surveillance systems and a positive obligation to assist in an emergency. Complete silence between 9pm and 7am.
Dress code for putting the bins out. You name it.
People who want those things could buy in that estate and be far safer and more comfortable than they are now.
Of course, a different area/suburb could have completely different rules.
Clothes optional. Clothes banned. Cars banned, just houses and yards. You have to sell and move out at 30, to somebody under 25... it's endless.
We wouldn't have chaos, we'd just have choices.

I completely agree. There could be varying degrees of localities with their own forms of governance. Some authoritarian, others more libertarian. People raised by public schools are historically bad at being capable of independent thought and thinking beyond 2 or 3 choices. That's why we have Apple or Android, Pepsi or Coke, etc. There are varying degrees of acceptance of this variance in our "free" market, but the nature of these people is what has led us to this limited set of options within our so-called "free" society, which is far from free in my opinion.

image.png

😂yeah this is just how libertarians are. We just want to be left alone without having to ask the government to breathe. lol

Posted via D.Buzz

WISE UP!

:)

@tipu curate

Congratulations @trey50daniel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
A successful meetup and its commemorative badge