Without the Government, What Would You Do?

in #liberty4 years ago

If you woke up tomorrow and discovered that the entire framework of government had vanished overnight, what would you do? Would you go on a spree of murder and theft, or would you continue interacting with people voluntarily as you presumably do anyway? Would yo seek to impose your opinions on your neighbors at gunpoint yourself when you can no longer do so by political proxy, or would you strive for mutually-beneficial solutions to disputes? Would you replace the State monopoly services with a new monopolies, or try to decentralize these essential services in order to gain the power of choice?

Why is liberty deemed so scary, and the State viewed as benevolent despite the epidemic of corruption and abuse readily apparent to even a casual observer? What do you really get out of the political machine, and how do you know you are paying a fair price in money and liberty? You have nothing to weight it against. But if you have tried to do anything, you have collided with needless bureaucracy. People with no real motivation to help you must be begged for permission. This protects none but the political parasites in society.

Government is always despotic. The degree may vary, and it may manifest differently from place to place, but the fundamental nature does not change. Are you a petty despot restrained only by the threat of police, or are you more noble than those who declare themselves your rulers?

room-597166_1280.jpg
Image credit

The dissolution of government is not a threat to society. Society predates the State, and the State is uncivilized. Were all the elected officials and petty functionaries vanish, society would not only survive, but thrive. Their burden on us holds back progress. They claim credit for the success we achieve in spite of their meddling, and blame us for the consequences when their intervention presents an insurmountable obstacle. They teach us to revere them as heroes without any evidence of actual heroism. Their enforcers are afforded respect not because they are respectable, but because they are enforcers. Abandon this idolatrous pseudo-religion. The State is a false god, and government is a death cult.

Sort:  

I would start a business. Not sure what kind, though. I haven't seriously considered it in a long time because of the State's interference.

Dullhawk's Wilderness Expeditions?

There's a really good chance that would be it. I'd have to move, obviously. But a wilderness survival school or something of the sort is one thing I've always wanted to do.

"Respect my authori-tey!"

And that hero worship is really hard to disengage.
Its in all the history books (that were in govern-cement school)
its in all the TV shows.

The "founding fathers" are worshipped by many.
Although their character and actions deserve much more scorn.

Lastly, the statement that the founding fathers gave us this country,
seems to be a lie. They formed a country, of themselves and for themselves.
We are just tax cattle.

There is no one government above Me, I am Sovereign.

i'd live the same way, but armed in order to defend my family from those who choose the violent approach

Posted using Partiko Android

You don't do that already?

I have no gun anymore :/ but people are very civilized in this part of Austria. I have knives, crowbars and shovels though hahaha

In the absence of the Austrian government, would they cease to be civilized?

I don’t believe Austrians would cease to be civilized. However, those are just beliefs, I have no control over what can happen, so it is in my best interest to have means of defense. Having said that, there’s a group of people who don’t like immigrants or anyone who isn’t blue eyed, blond and native to these lands. Those are, even nowadays, my first concern due to the fact I am a brown-haired, not so pale-skinned immigrant from South America.

You nailed it right away for me. Of course I would attempt to enforce my opinions on all at gunpoint!! It's only logical!

Nice try. Us yanks still out-gun you monarchist reprobates!

Dammit, I will have to sharpen my rapier!!

Never bring a knife to a gun fight. Besides, I already have your clock and balls before it even begins! Did you still want me to send them over?

Lol, that's true!

I had forgotten about that! Yeah, how much was the postage again? You can hit me in discord!

I believe if government was not there to intervene, then true producers and free markets would flourish. We would see wealth and development that we have never seen before as well as less war and military interference. The problem now is many people are inherently lazy and feel that they are entitled to certain living standards and the government often provides via welfare states and wealth distribution at the worker's and producer's expense.

I don't visit your blog often enough, brother.
Shame on me!

😄😇😉

@creatr