A New Dark Age

in #library3 years ago (edited)

The world is shrouded in darkness and silence... except for the hum of generators around the neighborhood. Shortly after 5 AM, the power went out. I was rudely awakened by the alarm system registering its automated objection to the loss of mains power. I pulled myself together enough to stagger out to the switch panel and tell it to shut up. Then I went back to bed, because no civilized person should try to function at 5 AM, especially with no power.

I eventually got a text message that the library would be completely closed today, because the outage is region-wide. Apparently crews from all over the region have arrived to help repair the infrastructure. @splatts, are you also in the Spokane/Coeur d'Alene/Sandpoint inland northwest region, too?

All is well so far despite the technology interruption. Downed trees here didn't damage any structures or fences. A distant acquaintance reports a fallen tree on their house, but that's all I have heard other than trees on power lines and across a couple roads.

The trees seem to have stopped swaying madly now as the sun is heading toward the horizon, so perhaps we will be back in business, or at least library curbside pickup, tomorrow.

Sort:  

5am is a stupid time to be awake.

Whatever the problem is must be contagious as despite being only text this post is the only one in my feed so far that refused to load normally XD

I blame Antifa. Or maybe Q-Anon. Probably not Al-Qaida, although I can't really be sure. I can't keep track of who is at fault for everything anymore.

I read this out to my sibling because it made me laugh and they commented "You forgot ISIS. And I'm also blaming Venezuela and Hugo Chavez because it's obviously a ploy by hive in conjunction with that particular country to thingi the upvotes."

yes this is 100% facetious for any readers that may have missed it XD

because no civilized person should try to function at 5 AM, especially with no power.

or coffee.

True story