You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your "hero" is my villain

in #life4 years ago

Poor patient treatment? that stuff happens to both private and public hospitals. It's really worse in public hospitals in a third world country. If you think the service is bad already, wait till you hear about the internal politics and corruption that goes on often within the walls.

From experience, the usual people friendly staff are those fresh grads. The horrible ones are those that aged on the job. These types tend to pick on the new recruits and abuse their senior status. Imagine getting paid to be in uniform only to have most of your work delegated to interns that don't get paid and new staff members who have yet to grow a backbone against you. And these people still have the nerve to complain their salaries aren't enough.

Cases about Malpractice are difficult but not impossible to prove. The problem comes from finding an expert witness to testify against a colleague especially if they are from the same locality.

Your best bet to get good treatment is having a private physician as a family doctor. And get admitted to an institution that physician owns a large amount of shares. Usually works most of the time.

Sort:  

Not just poor, it was terrible. Don't want to be TMI but just some hints: operating room, awake, not enough anesthesia, pinned down by 6 or so nurses. Yeah I expect worse in public hospitals and surely didn't expect this to happen considering that was a private one.

It's bad that they see this mainly as their profession and not cos they have a passion to help people. Taking an oath just to corrupt the system.

Your tip makes sense and I haven't realized that til now. Of course they will do their best not to tarnish the reputation of something they have shares with. You're a genius adamada!

Waking up during surgery is a nightmare but it does happen for several reasons. If I could just base it on your recount, it's on the anesthesiologist's fault but don't quote me on that as I don't know the real circumstances how it happened from both sides. Public hospitals having rude staff is kind of the norm but this is slowly changing if the fresh grads stick around the country more. The aging staff are the ones that permeate the problem and I'm just saying this from personal experience.

Most of the reasons why choosing the career is for prestige and money. People that do carry out the sworn oath exist but these are the types that get their works overshadowed and abused by the system. It doesn't happen all the time but it happens often.

The tip was something I observed when I was training as an intern. The patients from a doctor with the most shares or has a lot of say on how the hospital runs gets well taken cared of. It's just subtle changes in employee attitude like being prompt in responding to calls, having transport ready, and schedules for surgery being made as convenient as possible. I was told to pay extra attention to some of these patients on our census.

Thanks for the tip! :D

It was their intention to not put me to sleep during the surgery cos general anesthesia will "mess" up my brain. But it did so regardless. 😂 I would say both of them were at fault. I literally begged them to just stop the operation cos it feels like I didn't have anesthesia at all but instead the surgeon ordered the nurses to pin me down. They should have killed me instead lol.

To make it worse, none of them mentioned anything. I mean, of course they know they did something wrong. Nobody would like to admit it but maybe at least just for my sake (I was 9) they could have recommended me for a debriefing since I was a child and was awake during the whole procedure. Cos after I woke up, I literally didn't remember anything from the event. So I didn't utter a single word, that led to the development of the illness.

Now all I want is to be a well-known artist and hopefully they will remember me and probably see themselves in my future paintings about the incident. Make them realize they can fuck someone's life forever if they are not careful enough.

Oh yeah, that too makes sense. I was thinking of the other thing lol but yeah definitely.