You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Building Happiness

in #life6 years ago (edited)

@chbartist I love that first quote. It's all about who you share your experiences with that determine how enjoyable they are. I also really liked when you said:

You might be thinking to yourself that there is not enough room for everyone, that there is no way everyone can be successful.

This is a perspective I run into again and again in my travels, and I believe it is a result of misleading cultural education (a euphemism for brainwashing).

In religious families, children are taught "We are all born sinners" growing up. In the business world we are taught to be "sharks," and that it is a "dog eat dog world,"or my personal favorite, "It's just business" (he says, forclosing homes of 90 year old women for mispaying their mortgage by 27 cents)

In the end, evil men will make up whatever the heck they want to justify their deeds but where it gets on my nerves is they always feel the need to convince everyone else to believe their delusions. But the really sad thing is, this is a byproduct of an overdeveloped ego, and yet they can't see the clear logic of what you said here:

I even go as far as saying that helping others grow can be part of your plan to be happier, to build your happiness.

Even psychopaths should realize that by helping others they help themselves. By helping evolve all of humanity, you evolve. By helping families become more happy, you live on a happier planet. By ending homelessness you no longer have to look at people laying on the street, etc. etc. ad infinitum.

Sort:  

I totally agree @anotherhero and I tend to repeat this phrase quite a bit...

"Your success, is my success" - @chbartist