How To Be With Your Emotions Without Letting Them Control You..

in #life7 years ago

How To Be With Your Emotions Without Letting Them Control You..

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 4.34.59 PM.png

Today Im feeling. Feeling anything that desires to come up. I've had a lot of feelings decide to show themselves to me today. One of the reasons for this is because I asked for the situations I haven't healed yet to be shown. Its beautiful when you can really sit with the feelings and not "try" to make them go away or make yourself "wrong" for feeling a certain way. These feelings are showing up because I'm human and they are ready to be acknowledge, looked at and released. All of our feelings just want a place inside of us and for them to be shown love. Love your feelings. Every last one of them. They are you and to Wholey love yourself, you get to look at every piece of yourself and love it all. Its all beautiful.

It's about witnessing these feeling, and feeling the emotion, without being the emotion. Yeah, I may feel sad, or feel mad, feel happy, feel excited, but do I want to BE mad, BE sad, Be Happy, Be Excited. Some people can see this as a little contradiction. There are a lot of people who think they must be happy at all times to live an extraordinary life. Well if thats the case I must say that your emotions are going to get the best of you if you desire to BE happy all the time. Maybe its possible, but there are so many emotions that flow on through us everyday all day, and the happy emotion is not one that we must stay in all day, or we will lose sight of what happiness even is, because it has become our natural state of being. You wouldn't want to Be mad all the time, so why would you want to Be happy all the time.

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 4.31.40 PM.png

Our natural state of being is NEUTRAL.. It is a content feeling. Maybe not even a feeling, its an awareness of what is right now. So instead of trying to feel a certain way, allow your feelings to come up and be released and then go when they desire to. If you FEEL sad, CRY. If You FEEL Mad, release it in a conscious way of being (which could be cooling down for a little before having the conversation or it could be writing about the situation, or in a sense it could be blowing up but the only reason a blow up ever happens is because this feeling wasn't acknowledged and looked at in the first place and you have been avoiding it and then one day it goes BAM! If you FEEL happy, feel happy and express it. Our emotions want to be expressed, not suppressed. Allow them to do as they please, without becoming the emotion.

There is a quote from one of my most interesting favorite movies, "Heart Of A Dog" and it says "You should learn how to feel sad without actually being sad. Which is actually really hard to do. To feel sad, without actually being sad."

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 4.28.28 PM.png

This quote has changed my life, and I hope it will yours as well and help you connect and love your emotions, without actually becoming them.

Be Sure To Check Out The Recent Article Of Mine Below By Clicking The Image

Screen Shot 2017-07-06 at 4.37.38 PM.png

Instagram - @SapioSexualPoetry & @AwakeAliveAware
www.youtube.com/BrieMarie126/videos
www.facebook.com/BrieMarieA11

Sort:  

I have noticed since childhood onward, we have been taught only to examine and verify things with in the external world. We have never been taught how to look within, to find within, and to verify within. Furthermore we remain strangers to ourselves, while trying to get to know others. This lack of self-understanding is one of the main reasons our relationships don’t seem to work out, and why confusion and disappointment so often prevail in our life. Our formal education system does a poor job of cultivating our minds as children. The part of the mind that dreams and sleeps—the vast realm of the unconscious which is the reservoir of all our experiences—remains unknown and undisciplined; which we never gained control over. On my journey of awakening I have learned that the whole of the body is in the mind, but the whole of the mind is not in the body. Meditation is the KEY! There is no other method to truly develop control over the totality of the mind. Its very troublesome that we are only taught how to move and behave in the outer world, but never taught how to be still and examine our inner selves. When you learn to do this through meditation, you attain the highest of all joys that can ever be experienced by a human being!!

** Your words are so powerful! I felt every sentence! Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us!**
#StayBlessedQueen

@bitmandee I just responded to this post myself and found myself drawn to your comment. I just needed to stop by and say that I am in full agreement with your words. I am beside myself with the education system and how it deprives us from our formulating years in developing the tools that could (in my belief) change society- meditation being a fundamental one of those. In my experience, as an adult with lurking anxiety and 'negative' ways of thinking programmed from day 1, I have found it extremely difficult to slow my mind, thoughts and express my emotions through a progressive channel until recently. For the past 3 years I have been learning, constantly searching and practicing with the unconscious. It is people like you and @awakealiveaware that I am so fortunate to find myself around. Thank you for being here, for being with me now and for sharing your awareness with the world!
<3 love to you both!
XO

@heart-to-heart you're amazing, and Im glad you have put yourself in the educational system because you can help guide them in a different way. Although it can be challenging in that system, I know just sharing your light with them is changing their lives. Its awesome to see more people on this path of looking at the unconscious and conscious mind at what is really happening in our world and the outer world. Happy to have you here!!

mmm, love this so much! To find within, look within, and verify within. Theres so many people in the world who don't trust themselves so they do look without to find these answers. Getting to know others before they even know themselves. And like you said we have a very poor educational system that i one day hope to see changes in and I am doing my best to bring those changes as well. One day I would love to create a new school for the children where they can have these types of discussions where its normal to speak about this stuff, have meditation classes without someone thinking they are learning about God (Which happened to me as a kindergarten - 5th grade before and after school teacher, they thought I was teaching them about God through meditation) I hope there comes a point in the educational system where looking within and confronting ourselves instead of the outer world takes place. Meditation is key and we can find everything within. Thank you!

Thanks for sharing this @awakealiveaware.
This concept that you've shared (I have found) is a very difficult one to grasp. We are raised being taught to express ourselves this way: "I AM MAD." or "I AM HAPPY." Even as an English teacher, teaching English to kids as a second language, we were instructed to teach "I AM." But like you've eloquently explained here, we are not what we feel. Or at least, we are not until we let the feelings overtake us, in which case then maybe we are. I like to look at it as if it's outside of me so for example if HAPPY is our emotion, I can let happy in, hang out with it, embrace it, love it whatever but then I let it go. It does not become me. I have to choose what to let come in several times throughout the day and there are catalysts that invite emotions that I don't want to feel in. That's where it's important to process and release like you were saying. How is it that our culture tells us to keep it inside though? You sure wouldn't let someone in your home who you didn't want. You'd get them out! So, shouldn't it be the same for emotions?
Thanks for letting my mind flow onto this topic for these moments. I love thinking about this and reminding myself that there are people like you out there who are collectively changing the way we think and behave- thank you for that :)
Happy to be here with you!
XO,
heart-to-heart

Love this comment girl! And wow, that statement you aid about "I can let happy in, hangout with it, embrace it, love it whatever but then let it go." Thats powerful. Its so true and basically what I was stating in this article, and you said it so great. Allowing it in without letting it take control of you. I never even thought about it in a teaching or student way, but I remember being taught that way too and "I AM" statements are so powerful so being conscious of how we teach kids as well is so beneficial. Its wild to me how much isn't taught in school though, I would love to create a class just off this stuff! :) Thanks so much for your beautiful comment xo

Hi again :)
I completely agree, schooling in my opinion needs to be restructured to give kids a better chance at being able to handle their emotions and feelings. But that could get into a really long talk that we can save for another time :) Until then, it was beautiful sharing this moment with you and I'm looking forward to having more in the future! <3
XO,

I would love to connect with you on a deeper level maybe about schooling, I am going to be making a post about this very soon. About the education system, its something Ive been very interested in for awhile and don't know where to begin with it haha

I would also love that! Could you tag me in it when you do so I don't miss it? <3
I really appreciate that we've been connected :)
I'm excited for this post!

Yes Ill definitely tag you!! Just seeing this comment I definitely would like your input!

Can't wait 💜

great post
"Thoughts are the shadows of our feelings."
thanks for sharing

I totally agree! you're welcome! thanks for reading!

I try to interpret my emotions as a signal of how true I am being to myself. Anything undesirable is an indication that I need to change something, but I don't put pressure on myself either, sometimes you need to sit with those "negative" emotions until things become clear to you.

There is some serious depth to your works.

Thanks I really appreciate it!

niice ^post dear

Thank you! :)

"To feel sad without actually feeling sad", wow that says how I feel. I'm gonna check out that movie. Thanks for sharing!

super great movie, and very interesting to watch along!!

Followed you - love your page! :)

Thank you! I'm following you too.

The Wheel of Upvotes was randomly spinned for you!
Where did it land?
qq.gif
Congratulations! The upvote is coming straight to your post!
If you like this idea, please upvote this comment or try another spin on the wheel so the project can grow!

I saw your post in the #postpromotion channel on the WhaleShares discord. Thank you for being with us! Cool post, keep it up awakealiveaware!

ah thats super cool! I love the spin :) Glad you found me :)

lol that drawing is cool

Congratulations @awakealiveaware! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice one @awakealiveaware !
I think it depends on your perspective and what kinds of emotions one is dealing with at the time. Different spiritual paths recommend countering negative emotions with positive ones. (try to counter sadness with joy or feelings of hatred with love). Others might suggest just being a witness and letting the feelings pass like clouds through your being. I came across a neat book called Transforming Stress into Vitality and it actually uses emotional energy as the basis for the practices. It's Chi Kung, or Taoist yoga, but what makes it unique is that it teaches you to become aware of these emotions, see where they reside in the body (your organs oddly enough) and systematically transform the less useful energy that holds you back and kindof, compost it, into positive emotions you can then use in your life. I wished I had come across these ideas sooner, since they have helped me and many others, but your article made think I should share it on here. We aren't really taught about emotions, what to do with them or how they can impact our health or relationships. Everybody can throw in their two cents, but I found these two to stay quite shiny. cheers! @ecoknowme

another worthwhile perspective on our modern situation from Louis CK...

mmm i love it! Ill need to check out that book mentioned as well! Sounds like an interesting read. We aren't taught about our emotions, they just happen and sometimes we react. Sometimes reacting to our emotions is great and other times its like Woahhhh slow down. I think it would be awesome if there were classes for things that showed up in our reality so we could know what was moving through how to more adjust to whats coming up instead of just reacting

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jul 07. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $18.69 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jul 07 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Wow!
Your work is inspiring. I like it.

thank you! :) I appreciate it

You're welcome

This post was something I really needed today. I'm aware of the practice of stepping back from and observing your feelings so that you can better figure out where they are coming from, but sometimes it's hard to remember to do this in the midst of emotional turmoil. It is SO SO important to remember that we HAVE feelings, but that they are separate from who we are.

im so glad this post reached you then! It is very important to understand they are different than who you are! Glad you enjoyed <3