You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How To Be With Your Emotions Without Letting Them Control You..

in #life7 years ago

Thanks for sharing this @awakealiveaware.
This concept that you've shared (I have found) is a very difficult one to grasp. We are raised being taught to express ourselves this way: "I AM MAD." or "I AM HAPPY." Even as an English teacher, teaching English to kids as a second language, we were instructed to teach "I AM." But like you've eloquently explained here, we are not what we feel. Or at least, we are not until we let the feelings overtake us, in which case then maybe we are. I like to look at it as if it's outside of me so for example if HAPPY is our emotion, I can let happy in, hang out with it, embrace it, love it whatever but then I let it go. It does not become me. I have to choose what to let come in several times throughout the day and there are catalysts that invite emotions that I don't want to feel in. That's where it's important to process and release like you were saying. How is it that our culture tells us to keep it inside though? You sure wouldn't let someone in your home who you didn't want. You'd get them out! So, shouldn't it be the same for emotions?
Thanks for letting my mind flow onto this topic for these moments. I love thinking about this and reminding myself that there are people like you out there who are collectively changing the way we think and behave- thank you for that :)
Happy to be here with you!
XO,
heart-to-heart

Sort:  

Love this comment girl! And wow, that statement you aid about "I can let happy in, hangout with it, embrace it, love it whatever but then let it go." Thats powerful. Its so true and basically what I was stating in this article, and you said it so great. Allowing it in without letting it take control of you. I never even thought about it in a teaching or student way, but I remember being taught that way too and "I AM" statements are so powerful so being conscious of how we teach kids as well is so beneficial. Its wild to me how much isn't taught in school though, I would love to create a class just off this stuff! :) Thanks so much for your beautiful comment xo

Hi again :)
I completely agree, schooling in my opinion needs to be restructured to give kids a better chance at being able to handle their emotions and feelings. But that could get into a really long talk that we can save for another time :) Until then, it was beautiful sharing this moment with you and I'm looking forward to having more in the future! <3
XO,

I would love to connect with you on a deeper level maybe about schooling, I am going to be making a post about this very soon. About the education system, its something Ive been very interested in for awhile and don't know where to begin with it haha

I would also love that! Could you tag me in it when you do so I don't miss it? <3
I really appreciate that we've been connected :)
I'm excited for this post!

Yes Ill definitely tag you!! Just seeing this comment I definitely would like your input!

Can't wait 💜