Why Write?

in #life7 years ago

Wow I must share this quote with all of you, because it's literally how I feel when it comes to writing. I literally write all the time and it gives me such freedom. When I write, I feel like I give a voice to the people who don't speak up. I share very transparently about everything I have been through in my life & without writing, I wouldn't have been able to get it out in such a way. The way my fingers speak through the keyboard is a way different way my mouth speaks through your ears. And most days I love the way my fingers talk over my words from my mouth. I think its okay to like other forms of communication over other things. Like how I love body communication, especially sexually. Its a different form of communication. For me my sexual creativity has always come from writing.

14073039_1811836712395076_899445392_n.jpg

Why Write?

"To record the world as it is. To set down the past before it is all forgotten. To excavate the past because it has been forgotten. To satisfy my desire for revenge. Because I knew I had to keep writing or else I would die. Because to write is to take risks, and it is only by taking risks that we know we are alive. To produce order out of chaos.

To delight and instruct (not often found after the early twentieth century, or not in that form). To please myself. To express myself. To express myself beautifully. To create a perfect work of art. To reward the virtuous and punish the guilty. To hold up a mirror to Nature. To hold a mirror up to the reader. To paint a portrait of society and its ills. To express the unexpressed life of the masses. To name the hitherto unnamed. To defend the human spirit, and human integrity and honor. To thumb my nose at Death. To make money so my children could have shoes. To make money so I could sneer at those who formerly sneered at me. To show the bastards.

Because to create is human. Because to create is Godlike. Because I hated the idea of having a job. To say a new word. To make a new thing. To create a national consciousness, or a national conscience. To justify my failures in school. To justify my own view of myself and my life, because I couldn't be "a writer" unless I actually did some writing. To make myself appear more interesting than I actually was.

To attract the love of a beautiful woman. To attract the love of a beautiful man. To rectify the imperfections of my miserable childhood. To thwart my parents. To spin a fascinating tale. To amuse and please the reader. To amuse and please myself. To pass the time, even though it would have passed anyway.

Graphomania. Compulsive logorrhea. Because I was driven to it by some force outside my control. Because I was possessed. Because I fell into the embrace of the Muse. Because I got pregnant by the Muse and needed to give birth. Because I had books instead of children (several twentieth-century women). To serve Art. To serve the Collective Unconscious. To serve History. To act out antisocial behavior for which I have been punished in real life. To master a craft.

To subvert the establishment. To deomonstrate that whatever is, is right. Because the story took hold of me and wouldn't let go. To search for understanding of the reader and myself. To cope with my depression. For my children. To make a name that would deserve to surivie death.

To defend a minority group or oppressed class. To speak for those who cannot speak for themselves. To expose the applaing wrongs and attrocities. To record the times through which I have lived. To speak for the Dead. To celebrate Life. To praise the Universe. To allow for the possibility of hope and redemption. To give back someting of what has been given to me."

(Margaret Atwood. Negotiating with the Dead, xx-xxii).

Also Be Sure To Check My Last Article By Clicking The Image Below :)

Screen Shot 2017-07-08 at 7.19.57 PM.png


Instagram - @SapioSexualPoetry & @AwakeAliveAware
www.youtube.com/BrieMarie126/videos
www.facebook.com/BrieMarieA11

Sort:  

wow am going to read it tomorrow, too tired, read the first lines abd something tell me am going in an Amazonian rain forest

woo! excited for you to read

WOW...guess i went in koma for 6 days...glad i could still upvote though about 0.01 lol hey that's all I got ...but am glad i did read it, wow ...logorrhea ... well, i have that too at times...am having it right now lol ...the effort for someone to gain the respect of others that have long negleted him wether intentionally or worse, unawarely because those are the ones that are the hardest to change and to believe that there is nothing wrong with them is even worser. Myself since very recent time was victim of this but now I stand my ground and confront sharper than a razor now I tell it like it is and hold nothing back now I don't go to sleep holding grudges from the day before so I can start brand new in the next morning now I understood why I spoke fast, to not lose the love I thought I had... fast, to quickly try to rescue the respect and consensus of those who, had i knew it, already gave up on me and so I was frustrated in my desperation and lost in my ways because they were the ones closest to me that traded me off, blacked sheeped me ..can u say that.. (sorry english is not my first language...all for logorrhea lol)I went over my way to please them, I looked crazy trying to gain/save the love I thought I had...seems so long ago but I have matured because I touched the bottom because you have to touch the bottom to die or to start surviving (I learned that too) and so I learned that they weren't doing it on purpose (the worse kind...well that actually depends... because even though they are hard to change they make you hard for change lol) I learned that they suffer too, that they are not perfect, that they need help as much as everyone else in this planet. I learned what goes around comes around so I blocked the infinite loop of revenge and negative energy and start thinking good, doing good and talking good all the while, I found out, those were the 3 golden rules of the Zoroastrian religion. I believe that those 3 Magi, (from which came the word magic before it changed to miracle after the religion came to the West) magi means high priest but the word in persian means the "comers" or the coming one but the word also has a flip meaning to it which is the "salvation" or "glorious" anyways whatever it is they carried the 3 gifts to baby Jesus and now it is indoctrinated in the Trinity or the 3 pillars of Christianesim "Father-Son-Holy spirit" and with that I am ending this because I should, lol...probably making a post out of it lol well I lived up to my word by reading your post even if way off the date I claimed so hope u read mine now and...make love on a sunset havana boulevard lol joking, not really lol.. no really...aaaaah...lol @awakealiveaware
tumblr_o5l3mruoB31r7sijxo1_500.gif
some funny gif i had at hand... :P hope u smile at it :)

The Wheel of Upvotes was randomly spinned for you!
Where did it land?
qq.gif
Congratulations! The upvote is coming straight to your post!
If you like this idea, please upvote this comment or try another spin on the wheel so the project can grow!

I saw your post in the #postpromotion channel on the WhaleShares discord. Thank you for being with us! And I also like your text. I like that you have titles, bold, italic, its really easy to read! Thanks awakealiveaware!

COOOL! I love this up vote stuff with the wheel

I can't write good... but like you said, we are creators :)

You are a great writer, I see it on steem all the time ;)

I love it!

Thanks so much :)

I agree. I like this so much.

"To produce out of chaos."

oh my goodness, such power and inspiration.

"Because to create is human. Because to create is Godlike. Because I hated the idea of having a job."

(can you tell, I love that line!)

Thanks for inspiring me!!

I love your blog

Hey, I saw your youtube video talking about Steemit, please could I get an invite to your discord group?