Forming attachment bonds…with things!

in #life7 years ago

One thing that is very hard for me to do is to let go of things. With “things” I mean items that I cherish or that has a sentimental value to me. I am not a hoarder, so let’s just get that thought out of the way first. Some items just mean more to me than others, for example if my children gave me a cheap bracelet for some or other occasion, I find that I want to keep it safe and there is no way that I want to lose it.

While getting ready for the big move, I have to make decisions daily about what to keep and fly with me and what I’m willing to let go of. I’m not talking about the little things but more about things that would not fit into my suitcase.


Source

My husband once bought me a very expensive ornament for our living room. It was something that he knew I liked so he went secretly to buy it for me. Take the couch, the big screen TV, the one-in-a-million comfy rug and the whole DVD collection and sell it, but don’t take my special ornament!

It’s a situation where everything needs to be sold as we have our own furniture and things back home and there is no need for shipping anything over. It also makes it easier this way, as we decided to take only what will fit into our checked-in luggage and get rid of all the rest.

One problem is…I have a full closet! I have already thrown out a lot of clothes and given it to the needy but unfortunately, a suitcase may only weigh a certain amount and I’m a baby when it comes to letting go of my clothes. I know it’s only clothes and I can buy new ones again, but I’m not a big shopper and I like what I have. To find clothes that I like, I should not go out looking for it because then I find NOTHING! I have to actually find something I like accidentally without LOOKING. This means, I don’t go home with bags full of clothes but with because I found only ONE top that I liked, I go home with ONE top.

Most women are shoe addicts but I’m not. I’ll walk barefoot but I want to look nice and be comfortable while doing it.

Take the shoes, it’s fine!

My husband rolls his eyes at me for saying it’s sentimental but those first books that the kids in school are sentimental to me too. “Just throw it already! What do you want to do with it?”…


Source

They’ll want to see it when they’re older, won’t they?

WON’T THEY???


It’s not too much to ask for, right?

Let’s recap:



I want to keep:

  1. The ornament
  2. All my clothes
  3. The little gifts and cards from my kids
  4. The KG1 books and art

Those are the things I’ve formed attachment bonds with.

Only those, really!


signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing @bdmomuae

I totally understand your feeling. I am the type that gets attached to things as well. Sometimes I keep even the packaging paper, if the gift was from a very dear person.

But as I have been moving from one apartment to another, I had to get rid of many things. I get sad when that happens, but after a while, I find that actually I was not even missing them. Simply because I was keeping them for a sentimental reason but without even looking at them or using them ever.

By the way, I am one of your MAW mates. I just wanted to let you know that I have suggested an initiative in the latest MAW post, I would be happy if you could check it out and let me know what you think.
As the initiator of this idea, I would like to lead by example, so I have given you my upvote on your post that was resteemed on MAW page in addition to this post as well.

Cheers :D

Yup, the packaging paper sounds familiar too...I haven't actually done that in a while though, you shouldn't give me any ideas, lol.
I've been crazy busy this last few days getting ready for the move in 4 days, so you'll have to excuse me some days if I don't get to replying or posting even, but I'm sure everything will be back to normal soon.
Loved the initiative! I've actually checked the MAW post each day to make sure that I voted as there was something "error" with my steemvoter account. It's fixed now and still I check to see if I've upvoted.
Thanks for your support! I will do my very best to do the same.
Toodles! =)

LOL. I shouldn't dare to give you any ideas now before the move.
Good luck with your stuff (I would offer to help if I knew where you are but will keep sending you positive thoughts ;)

Hope you will settle again soon and we will hear from you more

Cheers :D

Thank you at bvmomuae there is another one like me, I am so old and still have clothes I had at school. If I like something I can not get rid of it. I am also sentimental so good luck, hope you success with your suitcase.

Haha @bigbear. Perhaps being sentimental is just a girls thing.
Thanks for reading

Where are you moving? We recently sold most of our stuff and moved to Panama. It was hard to let go of some of that stuff. We tried having a garage sale or two but they didn't do much so we ended up donating a lot of stuff! We shipped a container here and it was packed and now I'm trying to figure out what to keep and what to get rid of here. It is hard to get rid of stuff you have an attachment to. Hopefully you can figure it out and be okay with the end result! :)

Oh gosh, I hope everything works out well for you after the move and sorting all your stuff out.
Thanks for your comment @apanamamama

My mother was always sentimental about objects, but I also had the constant image of hoarding in my mind and naturally was quite the opposite. Even as a young kid I saw things for their value and functionality, not for sentiment. My S/O is emotional with objects as well so it's difficult to see eye to eye when I'm a natural minimalist.

I could survive too being a minimalist but although I know the value of things, some things just hold a greater value in my heart.
Thanks for reading @sarahtops9000

Thank you for your support. I'm glad it's not me moving

I can identify with your situation but I must admit to being a bit of a hoarder. I love my ornaments and knick knacks , each one has a story. What i do is every couple of months, OK maybe once a year, I will go on a cleaning spree, alas it only lasts for a few weeks, then I find another irreplaceable item. All the best with your move.

Kind of like how some people prefer to own things like properties and cars, and some prefer to rent them. 😀 😃 😄 😁

I think there are two types of people (broadly speaking) some who like things around them and some who prefer clean surfaces and no clutter.

Interesting perspective. How do you think that then plays out in other areas of their lives? 😀 😃 😄 😁 😆

I can only give an idea of my personal experience. I am more of a pack rat than a clean house type. I need to have my books, craft supplies and objects than currently interest me around. I get ideas and inspiration from things around me. Other friends of mine like to have more spartan surroundings and are forever cleaning up and packing away. I think it is a way to control their surroundings. When I get frustrated with what I am doing, I usually go on a tidying spree, I guess looking at it psychologically it is my way of re-ordering my life. When I am in this frame of mind, I seem to lose my creative urge. Sorry if this is a bit convoluted but it's difficult to put into words.

Not convoluted at all, makes sense!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by bdmomuae from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I get quite attached to old historical stuff, Like to keep them and now and then open my personal box and just take them out and then put them back, like my FIre ornaments

I know what you mean. Where are you guys moving to? I hope you have a wonderful day, thanks for the post! 😀 😃 😄 😁 I think its a mindset maybe but I don't know why I also do that sometimes.

I think it is a similar mindset issue with people who like to own things vs. renting them Even with cars, houses, and almost anything, cell phones.