DRAGON TIME...

in #life6 years ago (edited)

20180208_132117.jpg

Bloating, cramps, backache, ugh… I wish I could just curl up in bed and do nothing, but I can't, because I have responsibilities. I can't just sit around doing nothing. So what helps me get through this "dragon time?" Well first, there were a few habits I had to break.

Habits like popping an over-the-counter pain reliever every few hours or using tampons and pads made with harsh chemicals. Eliminating those two things helped alleviate the typically heavy flow and sharp menstrual pains I experienced as a teenager and young adult. Now I can handle going out in public thanks to a more natural lifestyle.

Instead of pads or tampons I use a menstrual cup and prefold cloth diapers from my toddlers' old stash. I am more active instead of hiding in my bedroom or bathroom. Rather than ingesting pain medication I use essential oils and drink herbal teas.

Progessence Plus and Dragon Time are my favorite essential oil blends during this phase, and for good reason.

Progessence Plus is an essential oil blend that contains the hormone progesterone and the oils copaiba, frankincense, cedarwood, bergamot, peppermint, and clove. As women age and get closer to menopause, our bodies become susceptible to estrogen dominance due to higher volume of ovulation and reduced production of progesterone. A shortage of progesterone can lead to osteoporosis, mood swings, depression, weight gain, and increased risk of breast, endometrial, cervical, and uterine cancers.

Some women might instead suffer from an estrogen deficiency, which can dramatically raise the risk of heart disease. Likewise, some women are deficient of both hormones simultaneously, therefore it is important to have your hormone levels tested and evaluated by a health care professional or a reliable laboratory which specializes in saliva hormone tests. Women who are progesterone deficient/estrogen dominate should use a progesterone supplement, while women who are both estrogen/progesterone deficient should use progesterone as well as pregnenolone (a hormone that the body converts into needed amounts of estrogen). Visit https://www.healthline.com/health/womens-health/low-progesterone#progesterone-levels for more information on the importance of progesterone.

According to Harvard University researcher John R. Lee, MD, natural progesterone is "very well absorbed through the skin, 40 to 70 times more efficiently than if you take it by mouth." It has been proven that certain essential oils (cajeput, cardamom, melissa, myrtle, niaouli, orange, peppermint, and eucalyptus oils for example) enhance hormone's and other medicines' ability to penetrate the skin and enter the blood stream.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/9206269 1996 study showing a significant increase of drug absorption after administering peppermint and eucalyptus oils.

Directions: Apply 2 - 4 drops of this essential oil blend daily on neck area. For added effect, apply 1 - 2 drops along forearms daily. Do not exceed 2 applications per day. Does not need to be rotated on different areas of the body or cycled throughout the month.

Dragon Time is an essential oil blend of fennel, clary sage, marjoram, lavender, yarrow, and jasmine.

Fennel has estrogen-like activity and hormone-like activity. Should be avoided if pregnant or epileptic.
Clary sage balances hormones. It contains sclareol, a phytoestrogen, which mimics estrogen function. It helps ease menstrual cramps, PMS, and circulatory problems. Should be avoided if pregnant.
Marjoram relieves muscle spasm and calms nerves, can relieve symptoms of PMS, painful periods, and menopause.
Lavender is a relaxant that helps combat anxiety, headaches, and PMS symptoms.
Yarrow is a wonderful herb to have around. It balances hormones and reduces inflammation.
Jasmine relieves muscle spasms, frigidity, depression, and nervous exhaustion.

There are several ways to use Dragon Time. Always dilute equal parts when applying this blend topically, that is 1 part essential oil to 1 part vegetable oil for there is a possible skin sensitivity. For extra precaution always test a new oil on a small area of the body before using, like the foot.Diffuse or directly inhale from the bottle. Add 2 - 4 drops to a bath, but not directly because oils don't mix with water. You will need to first add the oils to a small amount of milk (the creamier the better) or salt (Epsom or Himalayan Pink) so it is fully incorporated into the bathwater. Also, keep in mind that hot temperatures can reduce or eliminate the medicinal properties of the essential oils so the bath water should be warm, not hot. Apply 1 - 2 drops on wrists, neck, temples, or foot VitaFlex points. Dilute 1:15 with vegetable oil for a full-body massage. Apply as a hot compress over lower abdomen, across lower back, or on location of pain. That is, rub the oil into the skin (the massage circulates more blood flow to that area allowing for more absorption of the oil) and then apply wet heat (which helps further the absorption) by using a wet washcloth or towel, or even a stitched-up bag full of dried rice or corn.

How do you cope with your menstrual or menopausal pains? Do you have access to 100% pure, therapeutic essential oils? Do you desire a natural, healthy, and chemical free lifestyle? I can set you up with a quality diffuser and 11 of the most ESSENTIAL essential oils. This starter kit is the best way to experience for yourself the power of nature without breaking the bank, and there is no pressure to sell or share with others. Plus, a $25 thank-you welcome gift from yours truly. Let me help you find a better way to live your life! Go to http://www.bit.ly/2iFMhOL if you're ready to start using essential oils today.

For more information on using essential oils SAFELY visit https://www.youngliving.com/en_US/discover/essential-oil-safety

Information credit goes to Essential Oils Desk Reference, Compiled by Essential Science Publishing, 2004 Third Edition. I am not a doctor, or a medical professional. I share this knowledge based on my own experiences for educational purposes only.

The opening photo from left to right clockwise: a bowl of Himalayan Pink Salt, a shot glass of almond milk (It was the only milk left in the house. I would have preferred heavy cream or whole milk), a container of coconut oil and Dragon Time that should last the whole week, my handcrafted Rainstone diffuser, and the two bottles of oil I described in detail, Dragon Time and Progesterone Plus sitting on the washcloth ready for a hot compress.

Sort:  

Gotta go natural.

Little at a time! I've come a long way, but there's still a long way to go.

Great article! I have considered making the switch but I worry about the safety of the cup materials. I like the idea of organic tampons and what you mentioned, using essential oils and tea for the pain as opposed to typical pain medications. I've wanted to incorporate more EO's and plant medicine into my life for ages and I think Dragon Time would be a nice addition. Kratom is a lifesaver for me during my cycle. Thank you for sharing your knowledge :)

I've heard many great things about Kratom, but have never tried it myself. As for the cups, I use the Diva Cup, ewhichhich is made of hospital-grade silicone. It is still plastic, but so far I've not heard anything negative about it. I turn mine inside out for more comfort. Dragon Time works wonders. I am a firm believer in the power of aromatherapy. I get all my oils through Young Living at a good discount, and some for free even! 💗💜💚💛💙💟