You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How will the overwhelming discovery of extraterrestrial life affect our lives and beliefs?

in #life5 years ago

damn... now i can't wait to see what you have for #electricdreams!

This is another fascinating question throw up by the prompt, especially with silent aliens. I feel like initially, there would be a loss of membership among organised religion, followed by a re-uptake/influx of new members as preachers found ways to reconcile the two. Or maybe even a boom in religion world over! In fact, putting my money on the table.

We would have religious splintering, as organisations argued about how to interpret it, this brakdown in unity would lead to a splitting of power, and ultimately a void caused by uncertainty, as those who once identified as - for example X, now feel torn between Xa (stating their god also created the aliens), Xb (the aliens were what they called god) and Xc (god made us, but not aliens, therefore we are superior). Some would gain popularity, others would fizzle out, but in the end... there would only be one...

Giorgio A. Tsoukalos! He will be declared a visionary and prophet. Most people will chose to follow him, those who don't will be shunned as nonbelievers, and there will be a societial scramble to slap stickers of the new aliens beings over the faces of the old gods, just like we did all that time ago with Christianity.

And we will all dance round under the spaceship, shaking our hands, and declaring aliens, aliens, aliens, aliens. Right? Ahaha

Sort:  

This is hilarious and quite on point. We fabricate religions to justify our lack of understanding in the world around us, and the first religion (current or new) to justify their existence will probably be the one to take over.

Of course, it also depends on where these aliens are first encountered with mass exposure. Was it Mexico or the Middle East? Well the US will probably deem them bad and say they are agents "against God" and we'll try to blow them up. Anywhere else and we'll probably think they have something they can offer us.

Posted using Partiko Android

Dear @alanman

What an awesome comment buddy. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with us.

Enjoy your weekend :)

Yours,
Piotr

Finally, I get to your comment! YAY!!! I'm answering all the post chronologically.

Hello my dear and appreciated @calluna!

damn... now i can't wait to see what you have for #electricdreams!

Well, is a little longer than I thought and I'm feeling like embarrassed about the story. It's just that somehow the story went off on a side that I hadn't foreseen and well, sometimes it happens to me that my hand writes things I have no idea where they come from, hahaha.

Well, you gonna see it soon enough

... but in the end... there would only be one...

I think I've heard that phrase in a movie... And I think it was Highlanders, where immortals had to fight until there was only one left at the end, which would be the strongest of all.

You're right, in the end, religions will survive, they always find the way.

I think I know that Giorgio A. Tsoukalos from somewhere

those who don't will be shunned as nonbelievers, and there will be a societial scramble to slap stickers of the new aliens beings over the faces of the old gods

Sounds a little dramatic and fatalistic. Although I'm sure that the gods we know are the same extraterrestrials who had come here before, many years ago. According to what I have compiled from the comments I have answered.

Thanks for coming by