You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Common Threads: Tell us about your most creative Romantic Gesture.

in #life7 years ago

Thanks very much for the mention. You are a fabulous writer. I feel I'm "along " for the ride when you are telling your stories. Wow, what an amazing ride for you two. I think we all have those "coulda, woulda, shoulda" moments in our lives. I bet she does too. But, in the end,
the heart goes where it wants to though. That's extremely elaborate and special what you did for her though. I feel a lot of those grand gestures are lost in today's society with technology which is both a blessing and a curse. I've experienced some grand gestures in my life both from" sources " that did not work out and some that are still in My life. Rather than focus on a specific grand gesture though, For me the small daily gestures matter so much. The big ones are memorable and awesomebut the small daily reminders are what keep us going.
Your blog reminded me thougj of the treasure hunts, I, the oldest of four would conduct for my brothers or sister. Those were always fun.
Also i didn't know Mormon missionaries couldn't keep in touch outside snail mail. Snail nail is a lost art in My opinion. But for long term must have been difficult.
I grew up in a Christian home and don't remeber that being a thing with Christian missions.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your kind words and support. It's very encouraging and motivating! I loved your message about small daily reminders. You're absolutely right... and it's an area of my life I definitely need to improve upon. My personality gets so focused on projects and ideas that it's easy for me to forget about doing just the little things for the people who matter most to me.

By mentioning your childhood treasure hunts, I think you've given me an idea for a future Thread. I'll probably do one more Love-related Thread to round out this series and then move into a different general topic.

I think the rules have changed quite a bit in the last 18 years regarding missionaries and technology. I believe they can send emails now. But I agree with you, Letters are a lost art... there's just something special about them. :)