Valuable Life Lessons Ms. Janice Hung Taught Me

in #life6 years ago (edited)

59D07CE0-3773-4230-B8C4-0FC8FEF95F0A.jpeg

Action speaks louder than words. It is one thing to share stories about oneself in social media and another thing to show authenticity through actions in real life.

Some of you probably already know Ms. Janice Hung. She is an International Wushu Champion, 10X Gold Medalist in Wushu, Commercial Model and Actress based in the Philippines. She is the one who introduced me to Steemit. To those who were able to read her story, there’s one thing I can attest to you— if you were inspired by reading her story, you’ll get even more inspired when you get to encounter her and see her do things.

Here are the valuable lessons in life I have learned from Ms. Janice Hung in my personal encounters with her:

1. Authenticity is priceless; Authenticity is power.

I clearly remember the first time I had a dinner meeting with her. We talked about many things but there was one simple thing that struck me— she said a lot of good things about her fans and supporters behind their backs. This may sound superficial to some; but for me, this said much about her character— SHE IS AUTHENTIC. Some people just say good things in front of people to please them, but with her, I felt how genuine her appreciation to those people are. That night, I told myself, “this person is genuine. I see the beauty in her heart. She deserves my support.” Right there and then, when she mentioned about her advocacy, the uDEFEND Project, I immediately volunteered to help and be part of it.

2. Give even if you get nothing in return. Use your time, talent and treasure to add value to others.

Ms. Janice Hung is the founder of the uDEFEND Project. It is her advocacy to teach self-defense to women and children. As contribution to the community, she also developed the uDEFEND Charity Project. She aims to teach public school students for free since they are the ones who cannot afford to enroll in such a class. As we know, attackers target those who they think are weak— the young ones. By teaching the students the uDEFEND program, they will be able to defend themselves in times of need.

Last year, we launched the uDEFEND Project in Payatas B Annex Elementary School. There were around 400 students who benefitted from the program. Since the charity project had just started,
of course there was no revolving fund yet. Some friends gave a little help and Ms. Janice generously gave her share for the expenses of the charity project as well.

47805FF8-055F-406B-A8A0-D6151AAD24D7.jpeg
Ms. Janice Hung teaching the basics of self defense

28102C74-98E8-4EF4-BE54-6C5C7A8F99C8.jpeg
students from Payatas B Annex Elementary School

FF24A826-A1D9-437D-BDAC-E907C19F64E4.jpeg
students wearing the uDEFEND belt

F29E93EB-279B-4BC6-A9BB-7A1E95ABE8C6.jpeg
the participants from Barangay San Lorenzo

92F25C8C-98BF-448E-85AE-FA0E13319348.jpeg
participants apply the uDEFEND techniques

Ms. Janice is a very dedicated person. There have been times that she had a work schedule before our uDEFEND programs and she lacked sleep; but I did not see that in her. Whenever she arrived at the venue, she gave her 100%. When she started conducting the program, I did not see a clue that she got no sleep at all. She did everything at her best. For her, seeing the people learn and adding value to their lives is something considered to be priceless and gives a sense of fulfillment.

3. Walk the talk.

I have shared in my previous blog how Ms. Janice has helped me in my journey to lose weight. I personally do not easily believe or follow a person. What made me believe and follow her is because I saw that she is a person who “practices what she preaches.” She is a “walk-the-talk” kind of person. The workouts that she teaches—she really does them. She even designed the routines herself. Even now that she has that “perfect” figure, she still works out. This inspired me to finish her 30-Day Fitness Challenge and even go beyond 30 days. I’m on day 251 as of today and I love the result.

6D78648F-2CA9-4A23-843F-00BD532955BF.jpeg
My figure before I started doing the fitness challenge and the result after a few months

[Note: I recommend that you also read my blog about how Ms. Janice helped me lose weight. It can be helpful to you or someone you know. I’ll share the link below. Also, she will post more about fitness here in Steemit, so watch out for it. ]

4. Quality is very important. Make quality your priority.

Ms. Janice is a person who always reminds me that quality is very important. She is a person who makes sure to do her best in everything she does and she sees to it that quality will never be compromised.

I had a chance to see her do some episodes of a segment in her YouTube channel called Fitness Shifu. Short videos are easy to watch but the truth is that it takes a lot of time and hard work to do the shoot and editing.

During the shoot, she would always check every after take if she did the proper workout forms considering the proper angle, lighting, sound and other factors. She wouldn’t mind if she has to retake if there’s a need because she wants to give her viewers only the best.

Even here in Steemit, she makes sure that she only posts quality contents. She also taught me to do the same because that will be my contribution to the platform and to the readers.

5. Your life is a message. Who you are is your gift to the world.

In one of our conversations during our meeting for the uDEFEND Project, I vividly remember how passionately Ms. Janice told me this, “Claire, I want to inspire many people around the world.” When she said that, I felt that burning desire in her heart to make a difference in other people’s lives through her life story and advocacy.

C537752A-EC6D-4762-9BBB-7AA0A7CB3BB7.jpeg

Her journey in Wushu is a story of inspiration. She is a living testimony of the saying, “Never Give Up”. She started when she was 7 years old. When she saw the Wushu Philippine Team perform, she fell in love with the sport and told herself that one day she will be a Wushu champion. Her journey was not easy because she never got the support of her parents and they even discouraged her. There were times that they even beat her. These things didn’t stop her from pursuing her dreams.

In college, she had to juggle everything in her schedule. In the morning she goes to school. In the afternoon, she has Track and Field training. In the evening she has Wushu training. When she goes home, she needs to study.

That time, although she won National Medals, she was considered the weakest link in the Wushu Philippine Team since she was the only one who didn’t win in international competitions yet. So she trained thrice as hard as all her teammates.

One day, a Chinese coach saw the potential in her and told her she could win internationally if she would change her event from Taolu to Taiji. After long years of persistence and hard work, she finally won her first international medal in the 23rd SEA GAMES. She became a 10-time Gold Medalist for Wushu.

Her life is a message to all that you should NEVER GIVE UP, believe in yourself and do whatever it takes to reach your dreams.

[Note: I highly recommend that you read the full story she has written. I’ll share the link below.]

I shared about the five valuable lessons I learned from my encounters with Ms. Janice Hung and I hope that you learned also from those.

Before I end, I would like to take this opportunity to thank Ms. Janice Hung for being a good role model and influence in my life.

Links:

How Ms. Janice helped me lose weight in 30 days:
https://steemit.com/fitness/@clairefabella/how-i-lost-weight-in-30-days

Full story of Ms. Janice Hung:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@janicehung/hello-steemit-i-m-janice-hung

Steemit:
@clairefabella
@janicehung

YT: https://www.youtube.com/c/JaniceHung
FB: https://www.facebook.com/JaniceHungTV/
IG and twitter: @janicehungwushu
Official Website: http://janicehungtv.com

F0370DCC-049E-429A-85FA-CF42B66635F1.gif

Sort:  

Wow, that has been my reaction since becoming friends with @janicehung at the #gratefulvibes chat room. She is such a caring person, you would never know she is a celebrity. She is genuine and truly cares about others. Thank you for this amazing testimony, I agree completely!! Bear Hugs to you my friend!! x0x0x

@paradise-found You are so right about that. And even when you haven’t met her, you can feel the authenticity in her when you chat with her. She really is not just an asset to the steemit community but also to the world. 😀

Thanks to perseverance she was able to obtain good results in spite of all the obstacles and now that she sees the fruits in her life, she is planting them again to give back to the community everything she learned.

@agcoficiente10 you’re right. The beauty of it is that she adds value to people she encounters and that she gives back to the community 😀

Ms. Janice Hung is truly a beautiful person inside and out. She is a one-of-a-kind individual and it is an honor to know her, most especially to be her friend. Words are truly not enough to give justice to how she is as a person. She's amazing!

@princesslilo you’re right, she’s beautiful inside out

Janice kicks ass both figuratively and literally :P
I think you have found the best possible role model you could ever have and a very good friend! Having a person like that next to you that works hard, had many difficulties in life, remains authentic and also have many dreams and goals concerning helping others it a true blessing.

Try with your own special way to achieve your goals and dreams and even surpass her!

Yes, having a role model like her is truly a blessing. 😀

just a tip in case that you don't know it. You don't have to upvote the comments especially when your vote worth 0$ that way both the people you upvote earn nothing and you lose voting power it's a lose lose. Now if you just want to do because you just want to do it :P it's another story

https://www.steemnow.com/@clairefabella

here you can check how your vote worth alongside other things

Thank you for the info.

Congratulations @clairefabella! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You got a 11.54% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @clairefabella!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Hy @clairefabella. I fans of yout steemit. I also ree steem your steemit. Please help me to improve my steemit. Please vote my steemit only once. I hope you can help me. Please. Thanks
My steemit is @nauliquez

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by clairefabella from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received gratitude of 1.30 % from @appreciator thanks to: @carlyn.

Wow, good job on your weight loss! Did you meet her through her exercise program? All of those lessons are so true! Salamat

@nomadicsoul hello. I met her at the set of Encantadia and the rest is history 😀
Here’s how she helped me lose weight. This might inspire you or someone you know. Thank you!
https://steemit.com/fitness/@clairefabella/how-i-lost-weight-in-30-days

Oh cool! What were you doing on the set? So neat

Thanks for sharing this post with me!! Your story is so inspirational! Ugh I know what you mean about searching for health answers for 11 years... There's so much wrong advice out there!

It's so cool to see that this program works for you after so many years of struggling. Good for you for sticking with it! Congratulations!

Are the workouts only 7 minutes long?

I have read so many good and beautiful things about @janicehung. I'm just excited and hoping to meet her in person..she makes a good influence.😀