You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Officially Retiring from Writing Hive Posts

in #life11 months ago

"You either get it, or you don't. Who cares. It doesn't matter. Good luck."

C'est la vie, no? Or at least nihilism ho!

"Join HIVE, create content, get paid!" What could go wrong? A while back I tried to draw attention to the fact that we'd basically set ourselves up a content creator circlejerk, got exactly nowhere. Seems you've been bashing your head up against the same wall. For as much of a consumer culture as we have, nobody seems to want to be the consumer on here, which I find a bit curious.

it's time for me to stop giving a fuck and just do my own thing rather than coming here

Why 'rather than coming here'? Just come here and do that. It's a lot more fun once you turn the volume down.

Longform is dead, long live longform!

Sort:  

It is strange, dude. Can sit back and be paid to enjoy the things you like. Can support the things you like, which also pays you! Yet somehow the coolest feature of the platform doesn't seem to click.

Weird.

But I'm over it.

And imagine telling someone like Joe Rogan longform is dead and he should be doing shorts...

It's so silly.

People can do whatever the fuck they want.

"You can lead a horse to water but you can't make it drink."

Maybe we just showed up to the party a bit early. My brother, who works in tech and knows far more about computers than I at this point, was trying to sign up for hive last week and texted me asking why it was so complicated. If that was his impression of signing up, I suspect the bar for entry may still be a bit too high for your passive consumer types.

I don't know about Joe Rogan (I have consumed a grand total of zero podcasts) but that just seems like an invitation to do it anyway.

People can do whatever the fuck they want.

Amen. Also, people will do whatever the fuck they want, for better or worse. Usually worse. As long as you don't get personally invested in it too much it's usually pretty good entertainment though.

And I've heard stories from people I know personally saying signing up wasn't hard at all. Been a long time since I tried so not sure wth is going on there. Several different ways. Perhaps some are better than others. Anomadsoul brought up LEO's Twitter option which sounds easy. Unfortunately I don't use Twitter so I can't test it or even suggest it because I have no clue about what's involved.

Does need to be easy for people. Same with topping up their accounts with funds, but much of that is beyond our control. Many hoops to go through. Ideally, millions of consumers all with penny votes would make this one of the most thriving platforms on the net, in so many ways.

Me talking about it isn't helping me though. I like to be able to accomplish things. Far more reward in that and I'm not just talking about money.

And I tend to think most people are good, even in the worst neighborhoods. That's why the bad ones stand out so much.

I created an alt account a couple years back with ecency and it was quite easy but thought my familiarity with the platform probably made me a poor judge. My brother sent me a list of options but I didn't even recognize half of them, and quite a few were charging for an account.

Yeah, we can talk until we're blue in the face and it won't change a damn thing. I've still not settled on what it is I'm trying to accomplish on here but I know what you mean.

I was more alluding to the consequences of people's actions than people themselves. People are good, mostly, but we do an incredible amount of bad with the best of intentions.