The glasses are always half full.

in #life2 years ago

IMG_8780.jpg

I'm officially middle-aged, now. In my book. Needing reading glasses was the tipping point on the checklist.

I put them on and looked at myself in the bathroom mirror. Apparently I have a much more prominent she-mustache than I realized.

Also on the checklist.

We won't go into things like osteoarthritis and grey hair and how long it takes for my heels to touch the ground when I get out of bed in the morning, though, because getting old doesn't suck. The emotional breakthroughs and exponentially increasing self-love and confidence that have come with my hard work and life experiences far outweigh the negative side effects of living a long and full life.

Now then. If anyone needs me I'll be in the bathroom with a tweezer.

IMG_2868.PNG
This is my "fuck you osteoarthritis" x-ray.


All pictures and words copyright Anna Horvitz (me) and cannot be used without my consent. Special thanks to @nikv and her post that inspired me to get my eyes checked so that I could see better and feel older.

Sort:  

Be yourself, on top of the hill having fun.
Avoid mirror and worrying about signs creeping in,
Love life, embrace a great time of living when not too young nor too old.

!LUV

Yes to all of this!!!! Thank you, friend. 🖤

Have a wonderful day, always remember the glass is always half full....

I'd tease you but I'm afraid I'm not too far behind you. One of these days my decades of sleeping in my contacts will catch up to me but until then, eh, fuck it. Am I mistaken or does that last photo indicate that you have a birthday coming up?

What if it's arsenic in the glass? Which take is the optimistic one then?

Tease away! I'm really excited about being able to see straight. I don't think I could ever do contacts, though. I can barely handle eyedrops, let alone putting some weird film thing onto my eyeball. Plus do they even make progressive contacts??!!

Birthday, yes! The 14th. I share it with Pilot since his birthday was estimated to be some time in October. I will be just over ten times his age. He will probably never catch up to me, but he will try.

What if it's arsenic in the glass? Which take is the optimistic one then?

You do know you never have to drink what's in the glass, right? You can just look at it. And put a can topper on it. Or make someone else drink it. Or worry about who else drank half of it. Or take a sip and realize it's not arsenic, just aspartame.

I'd just jinx myself if I did. It was definitely weird as fuck for the first week or two but being able to see was nice and then I got used to it. Now I don't even notice that they're in unless something is wrong with one of them. I haven't the slightest clue on progressive ones but I'm betting the answer is no.

That wasn't aspartame, that was lysergic acid diethylamide!

🥛😵🌈😀🤓👵

Somebody suits them glasses!!! 😀😀

Hey thanks! And these are just cheap drug store readers. Wait'll I get my "real" ones. They'll suit me to the moon!

Toperoo. I am sure you will rock them splendidly!

Toperoo. I am sure you will rock them splendidly!

They suit you! Sorry if I made you feel older, I'm feeling younger physically by the neat trick of having had a motorcycle accident at 21 that left me in such chronic pain that when I finally started working on fixing the damage at 36 by taking up martial arts, then pole dancing in my 40s, I feel better in comparison 😉
There's a lot to be said about the trade-off of mental and emotional stability though. Never want to be younger me again

Martial arts and pole dancing?! You get cooler and cooler every time I talk to you.

Motorcycle accident, wow. Scary. I do massage therapy for car accidents. A majority of them are "minor" but the damage lasts months. Motorcycle accidents I have not yet treated. Once saw a drunk dude pop a wheelie in an alley and come out of it with two broken arms, though.

You didn't actually make me feel older. I was the same age that I was regardless of going through the looking glass. I'm not that age anymore, though. I'm older. And older still. Yeeehawwwww gettin' wiser by the second!

I'm fairly crap at both of those things though but it's kept me amused although I stopped all exercise during lockdown and haven't gotten back into anything except home based maintenance exercise.
Yeah bike accidents are on a par with falling off the roof and similar. I've had a few and it's usually work for orthopaedics and chiropractors

Unless you're competing it doesn't matter how crap you are at the things you do as long as you enjoy them. I would think thought that it's probably a good idea to be good at bike accidents, that the better you are the less injuries you sustain. But that would mean you'd have to practice crashing...

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @coloneljethro.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Aw gee, that's super swell of y'all, @ecency and @coloneljethro! Thanks!

I'm glad you got your glasses, they do look good too :) ...

Hopefully you don't feel old - just stay active and everything will work out!

Thank you!