Late Night Thoughts

in #life2 years ago

Happiness seems to be something that eludes me more and more as I get older. I think with each passing year I see how the world is, how people actually are, where society is headed and it makes me want to just step away. I see my kids and how simple things can bring them joy and I wish I had that. Yesterday my daughter pulled some leaves off of a tree and played with them for almost an hour. Something so simple and yet so much happiness was derived from it.

I recently just arrived on Hive, I honestly did not even know it existed until two days ago. During this process I went over my old Steemit account and viewed all of my old posts and comments. It was like a different person. I was much happier and creative. I know the past few years had beaten me down some but it really did not dawn on me how much of a hit I had taken until I read my own thoughts from 4+ years ago.

Interactions in life, my old job in law enforcement, a handful of nefarious people…have caused me to be somewhat of an introvert. Being around people drains me. I know many people thrive from socialization, meeting new people and surrounding themselves with friends. Often, I meet someone new and my thoughts go to how could this person hurt me, what is the threat assessment. I know this is not good for me but I also do not know how to bring back that joy. That acceptance of people.

This past year we moved to 140 acres with maybe 10 people as “neighbors” over a 10-mile stretch. One of our neighbors is always offering to help with things, loan me equipment and invite me to do things. In the past I would have thought how awesome such a person is to have as a neighbor. Now I find myself thinking things like ‘his kindness is buttering me up so that I will say yes to him hunting on our land.’ Why? Why do I think that way?

Honestly I know why to some extent but I don’t know how to move on, to change my perspective. I really am seeking that joy that has been drained from me.

Sort:  

I am SOOO happy to see you again my friend 🤗
I always wondered how you were and what happened in your life.
I am so sorry to hear that you had such hard time and I know life can hit you hard in different ways, and sometimes it can be Hard to see the Light when things feels hopeless and dark.

Whatever you been through in life just know....
You are here now, telling us about it. That is a big step forward, and Hive has been a Great place for me and I grown much and I found friends that I call family 🥰

I was another person when I started on steemit to, Mabye you were happier at that point in life and you now feel like... Who am I now?

But I know you Will get back up and feel the joy in things again.
Whatever you been through, see how far you come.
It is so easy to see things we failed at, what we didn't achive.
Instead we should focus on the things we HAVE achived, and we might have failed at times but we never gave up 😉👍

I hope you find your inspiration and you sure made my day with that message 🤗 missed you.

Stay YOU ♥️

And remember you NEVER alone

Well hello stranger! I know I just up and disappeared and I am so sorry that I left that way. Of all the old people on steemit you were one of the people I was very happy to see active on Hive.

Anyways, this post was kind of a downer to kick things off on Hive with but it was what was on my heart and I went with it. Your upbeat and positive reply really was just what I needed.

I hope we can pick up where we left off and I missed you as well!

Congratulations @dwhntx! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 60 posts.
Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - July 1st 2022
NFT for peace - Thank you for your continuous support
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Welcome back to the real community! We made Steemit great again by seceding and then succeeding. The last few years have been hell for anyone with a streak of independence as "left" and "right" alike clamor for ratcheting up authoritarianism, and social media has been a morass of censorship.

I have to admit extreme suspicion of anyone with a military or law enforcement background nowadays. Y'all are the ones who were enforcing every political trespass even before COVID, after all. That said, some of you are the most vehement opponents of overreach now, too.

As for happiness, I find myself striving more for the mellowness of basic contentment as opposed to the thrill of the happiness roller-coaster. I know it sounds trite, but finding joy in small stuff has worked for me even as I acknowledge my own pain and struggle at the same time.

I totally agree with you, both sides are infringing on us. Covid was not about protecting anyone. Every step was an exercise of control and testing the population for future events.

Social media has been about control, framing the narrative and pushing people to conform. I dumped FB, IG and Twitter 2 years ago.

As far as my past in LE, I fall in the group that opposes the over reach of the government. And in law enforcement over reach is a daily issue. I have been out 6 years but the damage still lingers.

I also agree that simply being content would be a nice spot to be.

Looks like alot of agreeing.

Dear @dwhntx, we need your help!

The Hivebuzz proposal already got important support from the community. However, it lost its funding a few days ago when the HBD stabilizer proposal rose above it.

May we ask you to support it so our team can continue its work?
You can do it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

All votes are helpful and yours will be much appreciated.
Thank you!

Peek-a-boo...

I see you...

Don't over think too much.

Lol I have no worries with that