The BIGGEST questions of HUMANITY - 5 Methods to SAVE THE WORLD. And many Thanks to "Schmidt"

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It looks familiar, doesn't it?

The great and significant questions of humanity.

This sounding headline has touched your eyes countless times and done something with you every time.

Anyway, that's what happened to me. And by the way: I do not have 5 methods. That was just a marketing trick.

The haunted feelings when reading

"the highest achievement in the face of human development"

or

"we must not ignore the question of solving the population problem"

or

"the greatest enemy is the..."

and then the many placeholders.

I always felt a little frightened and also caught, guilty later on, that the great themes of humanity were treated so shamefully by me. All these titles and subtitles left me impressed. I had probably not taken care of it enough, because since I can read and write, they have been put on the stage and seem to be put on the daily program again and again.

Sure, there's a piece of truth in it. And that's why I started wanting to take care of it. But every time I tried to grab one of the big questions, it turned out that it was actually superior to me.


House high, oh what (!), as high as a skyscraper, no, more like a planetary dimension that immediately killed me and I collapsed under the question. Subsequently, I did not care about these existential matters for a long time. But there's no other way: I returned to them. In the back of my head, very far behind me, these very important headlines gnawed at me.

Again I asked, "How can I save the world?"

Again I failed, for I had become Atlas in my heart and mind, carrying the earth on my shoulders. Anyone who tries to do that knows that you can go with it for half an hour. Than you're done. Fed up, so to speak. Actually also feeling disgusted. By what evil and horrific "the world" can be. Too heavy, that is for sure. Because you see, taking "I" and "the world" is just for a logical reason not very smart.

Climate change, war, poverty, misery, crime, violence, rudeness, - come on, you even don't want to read any further on this one (except you are some kind of pain addicted character who feeds on your misery). Now THAT is an accusation, isn't it?
But still, you tried on every single "humanity problem" to solve it on your own, didn't you?

I did. I tried very very hard.

And failed.
And tried.
And failed.

Next question: What can you DO about it, right?

No. wrong.
I am telling you, there is nothing you can or should DO about IT.

This "IT" is way to huge and it is - how can I say it - not even practical in your daily life. At least not in my daily life.

I started a journey of tracking what may be more practical for me to rely on and what could be a goal which I can reach within my lifetime. Sure, there must be methods, teachings which are more applicable to my routines and circumstances?

Went from here to there and from there to here. Picked up some good and bad stuff on my way. As ALWAYS. Learned that. Felt offended by comments on facebook. Offended back. Blablabla - jaddajaddajadda - no, wrong place to exchange what is deeper inside.

Got into the "Guaranteed Basic Income" business.

THERE I learned a lot. First, to be responsible for my own blog, which I founded back then. I was shuffling myself through various topics, first economy and later on psychology, sociology, biology, even tried mathematics (which obviously I lack skills). But hey, it was really getting interesting. I learned about Insurance, social security, the Greeks, the inventors and crazy thinkers who occupy the earth and all kinds of crazy stuff. I was watching and listening to people who were accused of pseudo-science, found them nevertheless fascinating creatures, of drug takers and also experimenters even on a university-level. I came across authors, books and blogs I never would have dreamt of. The Internet, of course.

I had the ancient Greeks as a model in my head, their excellent debates, the "know how to debate". I didn't want to stamp ugly opinions into the ground, because what was it worth to me, except that two people came out of an online dispute as losers? Of course not without having made this exact mistake, just to be "right". My commentators taught me not only to take my daily varying opinion as the basis of my arguments. They taught me to do research and see which of the writings, treatises, philosophies and human works I could refer to. Did I learn everything? Certainly not. A fragment in my life which I had taken a closer look at. So much more.

The human question still has not been answered.

"Eckhart Tolle": Mediocre-looking, somewhat older and dusty type fills a hall with a thousand people. Speaks of "life in the moment". Why does he succeed? What do his followers expect? On the trail of "great" countless others: Osho, McKenna, Sheldrake, Harramein, Braden, Warm, Holzer, Braungart, McDonough, Eisenstein, Häni, Werner, Schmidt. Authors whose names I cannot mention or memorize.

A short intermezzo with Schmidt on facebook: He talks about freedom, about the oppression of the little ones by the big ones. The fact that you have to stand up for your rights.
My answer: "I was at my house bank and needed a loan. I was rejected. I intervened. Then the promise."
His answer: "You disregard the big questions here and rather put housewife issues into the discussion."

That did it! A page-long answer written to Schmidt (never sent). Housewives theme??
My description of my everyday life was not radical enough for him, not big enough?

After all, it's about the little man's freedom?

How can you get so misunderstood? I had just mentioned an excellent example where I (the little man ... uhm .. woman) didn't let me be impressed by my bank. Wanted to encourage other readers not to take the disparaging looks and patronizing words of the banker to heart. To speak up ones on mind.

If my everyday life doesn't count and the events that show me that I have influence, voice and effect: where else can I get this experience from? By exchanging the media headlines as representatives of my real world? That any newspaper, party or celebrity speaks "for me"? Can't I speak alone without someone who's with me on the horizontal level telling me:

"Oh, come on, kid, that's got no weight and you miss the big questions."

You know what? It's IS a good thing someone once told me that. Someone who didn't seem to be above or below me. Someone who's done something in common with me, or at least pretended to do it.
He revealed to me his ego - his narcissistic part - a reflection of my own. We actually are even in that. I was clearly seeing his ego and his great desire to become a leading figure in the "fight for the right". And I saw mine as well. Who knows, if Eckhart Tolle wouldn't have crossed my way and all the other glowing role models at that time, I just would have said: "What the hell!"

Schmidt has done me a favor.

If not with Schmidt, maybe it would have happened elsewhere. But he was not like telling me: "Great answer, Erika. This is soooo kind of you to give this share to us." Not, he unmasked himself (if by clear mind or not, doesn't matter) and hurt me there, where I have hurt him. Because, after all, I had wanted him to say: "What a great contribution to our standing up for our rights". I am happy, that he didn't. In the same way I should have tapped him on his shoulder and praising him our new Gallion figure. Now, another interesting question still remains open: Had he learned something through me? This is even more of significance because first of all I never know and second I can practice to put my trust in this. And a good amount of "if not sure, just believe for the better." Some people call that "faith".

Thank you, Schmidt. May the force be with you. From my deepest heart I praise you where ever you are and wish you all the best.

What is it now with the big questions?

If you still don't understand that THIS was one, I cannot help you.


Photo by David East on Unsplash

Photo by Andrey Grinkevich on Unsplash

Sort:  

Saving the World...
Isn't that kind of vague?
Is it saving human existence? Or maybe human society? Our own little world?
But then again I'm a big man. I carry the world on my shoulders. I dream big and my thoughts are deep. The world needs me(or does it?).
I have to save the planet. Without me there's no earth(or is there?).
I have to fix every one else, because I know exactly what is the problem with them(or do I?).
Or do I?
Am I not part of the planet? Am I not part of society? Am I not part of the problem?
How do I fix the whole without fixing the parts?
I'm not going to carry the world on my shoulders.
I'm not going to fix anything until I fix my self.

I would say: you are already fixed, big man:). Or better: there's everything you need in order to get along. You know all the answers in what you call a problem.
Thanks for commenting!

Well, I said big man as a metaphor for my own arrogance. And fixing myself...I maybe should of worded it diferently. Its not like I think theres something wrong with me haha. More like aspiring to be the best version of my self. Also I dont think I know all the answers. And finally about the "humanity problem"...I think that it's all too vague. How can we even see the solution?

You never wrapped your head around "pollution" or "over-population" and stuff like that? Suffered from newspaper headlines? Wanted to fix injustice? If not: lucky you.

If it is still vague for you, I am actually a little at a loss how to make myself understood.

I am not talking about "we" seeing a solution but presented what "my" insight was between Schmidt and me and what was big for him and big for me. Which was quite a difference. I was pointing at your own opportunities to see what is inside of "you". Does that make sense to you?

Ok I admit that I may have missed your point and I apologise.
It's just that when I try to wrap my head around something I try to understand it and if I think it's an issue, find a solution. Wrapping my head around without purpose...naturally I'll have a headache haha.

I agree that what is big is not the same for different people. I don't see anything wrong with it. I see it every day so I took it for granted. Isn't it better that way? If we all focused in the same "important" stuff wouldn't we end up blind to everything else?

Probably everything can be an oportunity to see whats inside oneself right?
If you think I'm wrong on something or I'm missing the point again don't be afraid to point it out. I'm not gonna get offended haha. I use philosophy not to get to something "profound", but to find the flaws in my own thoughts. I've noticed that some philosophers tend to get so absorbed with their "deep thoughts" that they start taking themselves way too seriously.

I also secretly use comments as a English grammar practice hehe.

what a great humor you show me:-)

Yes, I can hear you. When there is no purpose (real momentarily event/trigger) why should you bother? But obviously some thing was there:)

I agree that what is big is not the same for different people. I don't see anything wrong with it. I see it every day so I took it for granted.

That seems to be a very calm state of existence.

Yes, I find this variety a good thing. You make a good point here and I repeat it with another picture: If we were all mathematicians or biologists that would be really boring and not of much use.

Good! Thanks for being straightforward - makes it a lot easier and I don't have to read between the lines.

I would say using Philosophy to find flaws in your thoughts, is something profound - LOL

Yeah, the very nature of a philosopher is to serve this cliché and prove that there is a lack of humor within him. .... No, of course, I am joking but a certain truth can be found certainly in some philosophers as well as in architects, doctors, race car drivers ... :)

Where are you from, may I ask?


edit: I see, you are from Bulgaria and now live in Spain:)

Hmmmm.... ich bin mir nicht sicher ob ich dich richtig verstehe, was u. a. damit zu tun hat, dass ich Herrn Schmidt nicht kenne... deinen zumindest nicht, denke ich :-D Was ich aber heraushöre (oder zumindest glaube) ist der Wunsch nach Verbesserung, das Leid der Welt zu verkleinern, irgendwie... denn da ist so extrem viel Leid, dass es einen (mich) überwältigen kann. Und diese Überwältigung wiederum hindert aktives und sinnvolles Vorgehen, denn jeder Schritt wird als zu klein, zu unbedeutend empfunden. Und in dieser gefühlten Hilflosigkeit wird jede Strukturierung der Welt nur zu gern angenommen. Damit meine ich z. B. Tolle-artige Weisheiten die bestimmt nicht schlecht, für mich jedoch viel zu kurz sind. Ich habe bei vielen Teilnehmenden beobachtet, dass sie ebenfalls den Wunsch haben zu helfen, aber anders als bei dir, die Unsicherheit und vielleicht auch Hilflosigkeit nicht aushalten konnten und sich in vermeintliche Weisheiten/Wissenschaften/Verschwörungstheorien geflüchtet haben, um mit ihnen den unbegrenzten Raum des Schreckens mit Hilfe von Thesen und Glaubenssätzen zu begrenzen.
Leider habe ich keine endgültige Lösung (ok... ich verdränge und schaue z.B. nicht regelmäßig Nachrichten), versuche aber im Kleinen aktive zu sein und halte dies zwar nicht für die Lösung, aber für besser als Verzweiflung. Mit klein meine ich, z.B. nachbarschaftliches Engagement, Essen teilen, nähen für Leute ohne Nähmaschine, Auto teilen, im Stadteiltreff Geflüchtete unterstützen, kein Fleisch essen, Kleider tauschen etc.... Alles kleine Dinge, die ich problemlos in den Alltag bekomme. Ich finde intensive politische Aktivität schwierig (für mich), ich reibe mich leider häufig an den Strukturen und Codes, so dass nur wenig Positives dabei rauskommt. Meine Stärke liegt bestimmt woanders... So z.B. in Performances die eher im künstlerischen Kontext (politische oder soziale) Fragen aufwerfen. Das heißt meine Idee vom bewältigen des Leides ist, dass jeder tut was er vermag und aushalten kann. Das mögen winzige oder auch riesige Dinge sein, Hauptsache es passiert.
Ich befürchte meine Antwort ist ein bisschen ungeordnet und ich hoffe ich habe nicht mangels ordentlichem Englisch die Stoßrichtung deines Post völlig missverstanden.

Danke für deinen Kommentar. Auch in Deutsch bist du herzlich willkommen.

Ich erkenne langsam, wo vielleicht meine Botschaft etwas zu wenig transportiert wird. Ich habe mich über die "wirklich großen Fragen der Menschheit" geärgert bzw. über die Attitüde, die Herr Schmidt zeigte.

Man baut so wichtige Dinge wie Staudämme, Supertransmitter, Weltraumkollektoren, man schreibt politische Manifeste, skandiert Freiheit und Gleichheit und Brüderlichkeit und man "kämpft für die Unterdrückten". Nun ja. Mich hat geärgert, dass im Angesicht der gigantischen Bestrebungen all der an der Gigantomanie Beteiligten (ich muss übertreiben, damit es deutlich wird) nichts unwichtiger finden, als "hausfrauliche Ereignisse und Einwände".

Du gibst die beste Vorlage dafür, dass jeder, der sich einigermaßen als fühlendes und mitfühlendes Wesen begreift und danach zu handeln trachtet, bereits die großen Fragen der Menschheit für sich in Angriff genommen hat und immer wieder nimmt.

Du bist wichtig, dein Alltag ist wichtig und du hast Bedeutung für viele Menschen. Ich finde das "GROSS" :-)

Mein Hauptanliegen aber war, dass ich was über mich von Schmidt gelernt habe. Ich finde, das ist das Wertvollste daran. Dass er nicht mein Feind ist. Sondern ein Mensch mit eigenen Stärken und Schwächen. Das, was ich an ihm am "ätzendsten" fand, hat mich das meiste gelehrt.

Insoweit du alles von Tolle gelernt hast, was für dich zu lernen war, ist das in meinen Augen ganz richtig. Jeder kann für sich entscheiden, wo er etwas an Wert in seinen eigenen Werte-Kanon aufnimmt oder es bleiben lässt, vielleicht, um noch etwas anderes und weitaus Wertvolleres zu finden ;-)

Ich befürchte, ich bin kein guter Lerner, bewundere aber deine Einstellung... ich hatte Herrn Schmidt vermutlich (in meinem Hirn, aber in Farbe) Gewalt angetan. Ich kann in Diskussionen, zumindest innerlich, recht leidenschaftlich sein und finde es auch im Nachhinein eher schwer an diesen unangenehmen Momenten zu wachsen und zu lernen. Ich finden sie meistens eher belastend. Aber ich verstehe deine Idee dahinter, ich habe solche Lernmomente eher im künstlerischen Bereich, heißt: mich (peinlich, ich weis) inspiriert (meiner Meinung nach) schlechte Kunst. Das trifft besonders zu, wenn ich gezwungen bin diese Kunst auszuhalten, da ich z. B. aus sozialen Gründen gezwungen bin zu bleiben. Ich kann dann zwar im Gespräch ähnlich wie bei sozialen oder politischen Themen recht deutlich meine Meinung vertreten, aber im Nachhinein betrifft es mich nicht sonderlich, falls andere eine andere Meinung haben oder sogar unangenehm werden. Ich kann dann aus dieser Situation oft viele neue Ideen entwickeln ... aber wie gesagt Herrn Schmidt hätte ich nicht inspirierend gefunden, sondern er hätte eher meinen Weltzweifel genährt. Aber wer weiß, vielleicht bin ich irgendwann etwas yogischer :-D oder lerne einfach mal vernünftig schießen ;-D

PS: falls der Eindruck entstand ich sei eine aggressive Dauerkritikerin…. Neeeein, ich bin auch nett. Echt jetzt. Und dass gar nicht so selten :-D

Wenn du dir die Frage stellst:
"Zu wem und wann bin ich ungerecht gewesen?" (überheblich, kleinkariert, beleidigend, ungrecht etc.

Auf welche Antwort stößt du dann?

Mit Sicherheit hast du Begenungen und Episoden dieser Art in deinem Leben. Was wünscht du dir von demjenigen, der "Opfer" deiner Ungerechtigkeit gewesen ist? Ist da der Wunsch, dass dieser Mensch ein Einsehen mit dir haben möge und du in seiner Erinnerung wenn schon nicht "beliebt", doch immerhin "akzeptiert" bleibst?

Manches erledigt sich von selbst, anderes nicht. Je nachdem, wie die Beziehung in deiner Gegenwart bewertet ist.

Deinen Transfer über die Kunst scheint mir bereits mehr als die halbe Miete zu sein.

Dein Weltenzweifel ernährt sich überwiegend durch sich selbst und dem, wie viel Aufmerksamkeit du einem Herrn Schmidt (Platzhalter für erlittene Schmerzen) über seine Schwäche gibst. Wenn er ein fühlender Mensch für dich wird, dann nährst du deinen Welten-Optimismus:)

Jahhh, der Jogi sagt's auf eine andere Art:-)

Du hast natürlich recht und im Gespäch oder dem (abgekühlten) darüber Nachdenken kann ich deinem Weg auch folgen. Leider scheint mein Hirn (irgenwer muss ja verantwortlich sein) im Eifer des Gefechts ein bisschen lernunwillig.
Ich muss jetzt leider weg (Austellung auffbauen, denn am Freitag ist Vernisage) würde aber gerne länger antorten, denn deine obigen Fragen haben mich ein bisschen an die Praxis des Naikan erinnern (kennst du?). Aber ich hüpfe jetzt los und beschäftige mich mit Nylon, Nägeln und Lichtverteilung. Wir hatten schon am Sonntag angefangen, sind aber nicht fertig geworden... (hochprofessionelles Bild von mir ;-D)
20180128_164711340_iOS.jpg

WIe schön, danke für das Foto! Viel Erfolg & Freude wünsche ich bei der Vernissage - du siehst zufrieden aus mit dieser Art von Arbeit. So richtig zupackend.

Naikan kenne ich nicht, hast du noch etwas mehr Hinweise für mich? Hört sich interessant an.
Herzliche Grüße an dich!

Das zufrieden täuscht etwas, denn uns sind beim Aufbau wechselnd entweder die Wand, die Nägel oder das Hängungssystem entgegen gekommen... heute muss noch eine Wand gestrichen werden... ok, irgendwann war es lustig (Galgenhumor) Und ja, gerne Daumen drücken das viele kaufkräftige Leute kommen.

Naikan ist ein japanisches System zur Selbsterforschung, kann aber auch zur Therapie von z. B. Depressionen eingesetzt werden, ist aber ursprünglich nicht wirklich als Therapie entwickelt worden. Im weitesten Sinne geht es um Dankbarkeit und über den Weg der Dankbarkeit (wieder) zu einem Zugehörigkeitsgefühl zu gelangen. Klassischerweise wird die Technik des Naikan in einer Art Retreat über mehrere Tage angewendet. Im Zentrum stehen folgende drei Fragen
• Was habe ich bekommen?
• Was habe ich gegeben?
• Welche Probleme und Schwierigkeiten habe ich anderen bereitet?
Diese Fragen werden in Bezug auf bestimmte Personen (meist die Eltern) und Lebensabschnitte betrachtet. Man kann die Fragen aber auch als ein Mini-Naikan z.B. jeden Abend (auf den Tag bezogen) beantworten. In der Regel merkt man dabei wie viele Menschen einem geholfen und unterstützt haben (mein Kaffee, meine Kleider etc. alles wurde von anderen für mich hergestellt) im Gegensatz zu den wenigen Momenten in denen man anderen geholfen hat.
Die Unterstützung anderer ist nicht gebunden daran, dass diese gerne gegeben wurde, sondern es geht wirklich nur um das "bekommen haben". Heißt falls mir jemand unabsichtlich oder unwillig hilft, so hat er mir doch geholfen. Hierdurch kann einem bewusst werden in wie vielen Momenten man auf andere angewiesen ist und wieviel man bekommt. Dies macht anders als man im ersten Moment vermuten würde kein schlechtes Gewissen, sondern führt eher zu einem Gefühl der Verbundenheit mit der Umwelt.
Ok.... das war nur super kurz und unstrukturiert. Als älteres Buch habe ich zu dem Thema hier Krech, Gregg, Die Kraft der Dankbarkeit, München 2002 stehen. Das Buch ist etwas an den westlichen Kulturkreis angepasst und nicht ganz so traditionell und strikt in der Ausführung des Naikan.

Häng grad noch an Deinem letzten Post, komm aber mit dem bluads (bayerisch) Computer nicht weiter. Nervt seit einer Woche gewaltig, hat mittlerweile mehrere Festplatten einschl. dazugehörigher Backups verzehrt und ist kurz davor aus dem Fenster zu fliegen.

Mittlerweile glaube ich tatsächlch, dass es mit reinem Glauben nicht zu lösen ist. Wobei man natürlich auch davon ausgehen könnte, dass das alles eine göttliche Strafe für das Infragestellen von dessen Fähigkeiten ist.. arrgh. Ich hoff, der extra Weihrauch und ein paar Kerzen packen das jetzt und die Kiste geht morgen wieder. Dann kann ich mich auch mal wieder in Ruhe Deinen Posts widmen... 🙏

Oh, Ärger mit der Technik, ick hör dir!! Du hast mein Mitgefühl. Schmeiss das bluads Ding aus dem Fenster!! :-))

Nein, es ist keine höhere Bestrafung, bloß zickiges Gerät. LOL

Deine betenden Hände kopier ich jetzt mal - 🙏