The Pointless Habit of Self Doubt

in #life5 years ago

Hey Steemians!

How is your Thursday shaping up? Mine? Oh mine's great. Totally fine. Or at least that's what I keep telling everyone. I'm living the dream after all. I've got all day to write and get my book ready for submission to editors and agents. I have nothing to complain about.

Reality? I've been sat in my chair paralysed by self doubt all morning. This continues on from the previous 4 days of doing exactly the same... along with a little bit of lurgy just to make things extra fun.

I have two finished first drafts of two romcoms, 1/2 an epic fantasy and a treatment for a grim thriller... and this week, I don't believe in any of them.

I don't get this problem when I'm working on art pieces. I can see clearly whether they are working or not. I don't compare myself with other artists. I am what I am. I keep working and improving. Some pieces work and some don't and that's okay. But writing floors me. I don't know what's good and bad. I don't know what I should do next. I don't know... I don't know...

In reality all I need to do is break down the issues for the story I'm working on and solve them one at a time. Stop looking and the huge picture and work on it section by section like I do with my drawings. And it's for others to judge if it's any good or not when I've finished, not me.

So off I go to try again.
Progress, not perfection.
Ho hum.

Evie x

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Likewise me, I used to get fed up with writing. I couldnt write up 5 lines or compose a meaningful stuff from my art work but I can go all day drawing non stop.

It all ended when I discovered steemit. It really helped. The more I write, thr more ideas come and the more inspired I get.

"You are busy doubting yourself while people are intimidated by your potential".

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks! I love that quote- do you know where it's from? I swear these feelings are just another way to procrastinate... but argh... they're so annoying!! Glad that posting to steemit is helping you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Actually the author is anonymous to me. Saw it on one of my Instagram folower's handle and loved it. No reference of the author was made for it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Remember the time you did a quick proof read me and it was like you had super powers. Your quick effort cleaned things up, help me see mistakes, made things flow so much better. I thought "wow she really knows what she is doing" i didnt even expect the editing but you made it so much better.

You are good at what you do, Evie. I am sure you have thought and thought and thought it over until it is perfect.

Thank you so much for the love and encouragement- it meant a lot to me today while I've been at rock bottom. On the climb again now. Tomorrow will be a good day. Evie x

Posted using Partiko Android

The self doubt thing is running amuck among my steemit friends

Loading...

Busy as heck today, with me a good long nap and a little gardening (Mental break) fixes me up motivation wise.

You're right about the good long nap, that really does help- and some fresh air is exactly what I needed to put things straight in my head again. Thanks Kerris! I hope your busy day has been a good one x

Posted using Partiko Android

hmmm well.....

WTF --->> should be YGT as in You Got This ... just keep the faith.

progress is the key to getting there! hope you winning! i'm supposed to be knocking out some work while the little monster is asleep, but im obvs procrastinating!

Congratulations @eveningart! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!
Loading...