You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Preppers Dilemma

in #life4 months ago

I'm brand-spanking new to the ham radio scene and am still learning more about it. That community seems to have a similar ethos as the burgeoning crypto community, with a strong sense of independance and a willingness to help others that will come in handy when the SHTF.

I just bought a well-regarded app to help prepare for the test, once I bone up on this thing and get around to taking it. I do have a small solar panel that I was testing out to power devices such as a phone, etc. But it takes quite awhile to get anywhere with it unless you have more serious gear. But I do like the idea of having more human-powered devices around just in case.

I'm aware of that "Rule of Threes" saying: "3 minutes without air, 3 days without water, 3 weeks without food..." However here at least, people are so not ready, and simply assume that the government will somehow be able to bail everyone out. They have no thought of planning for the future and laugh at anyone who does.

But that's OK. My attitude towards them is "you do you" and I'll just keep on truckin.