The Preppers Dilemma

in #life3 months ago

I just ordered a 37 gallon (yes, we still use what we call the "English" or "imperial" system here, so no metric), water bladder, cos yes, I'm a prepper.

More like a junior prepper to be exact. I'm not at the bunker-building, multiple-bug-out-bags-and-food-caches-stashed-out-in-the-woods level (yet). That'll come later. ;)

I got that from my dearly departed grandmother who taught us how to store food in mason jars and pack them in the basement. Giant jugs of water, candles, food and first aid kits, competed for space with my ever-growing HO train set in the basement.

The bladder is the latest addition in hopefully being ready when the Aliens finally do land after they take out the electrical grid first, that is. Or the latest 'Dear Leader' decides to incinerate Alaska, Guam, Hawaii and the US west coast, causing a panic for those of us "back east."

I also have a ham radio, several large (and fully charged) portable battery units, and other assorted errata for when that big 'Just in Case' moment finally arrives.

What Happens To Crypto When The Lights Go Out?

But that made me wonder; what will our community on the blockchain do when the lights go out?

Who and what's going to power all of this decentralized stuff?

I suppose that's when all of the Silver Stackers will come to the fore, and a true barter economy will blossom amongst the bunkers. We won't be able to trade crypto, so a Morgan silver dollar may be your next best bet.

Have any of you given this somewhat remote possibility some thought?

I picked up a backup hardware wallet so at least I'll have some of my crypto assets stored offline, for when we (hopefully), come back from whatever future calamity awaits us.

I really believe it's best to be prepared materially, mentally, physically and spiritually for the "reset" to come.

The laughter of the people in Home Depot and Walmart in December 2019 and January 2020, rang in my ears as I prepared for what was "over there" to make its way "over here."

They weren't laughing for long, and so it will be for the next time. What are your thoughts on prepping for the future? Are you a fatalist chanting "whatever happens, happens" or are you working to be as ready as you'll ever be?

If you found that this post added value or inspired you, please share a comment, upvote, or reblog :)

Please check out my recent posts:


Image Credit: 1

Sort:  

I have considered the possibility of a communications/internet blackout and its potential effects upon the crypto world. At one point I tried to stir up some interest in running Hive transactions over AMPRNet (Amateur Packet Radio Network or what is also called 'Network 44') but no one seemed interested in it. There are a ton of IP addresses available for it also. They are 44.0.0.0/9: For USA subnets and 44.128.0.0/10: For the rest of the globe. All available via HAM!

The one item I try to recommend to folks for 'prepping' is a hand (or foot) powered device for recharging batteries and/or battery banks. K-Tor produces some nice ones if you are ever interested in looking at them.

I am not much of a prepper myself given that I took Terence McKenna's advice long ago and mostly 'live as if the apocalypse has already happened' but that said... the biggest factors are psychological ones and having some routines (especially with rationing supplies and maintaining morale) already in place long before any 'weird stuff' happens.

I used to love telling people who mentioned 'survival' or anything along those lines... that when living in a dangerous scenario... or one where resources are a scarcity: Survival better be a fucking habit.

I'm brand-spanking new to the ham radio scene and am still learning more about it. That community seems to have a similar ethos as the burgeoning crypto community, with a strong sense of independance and a willingness to help others that will come in handy when the SHTF.

I just bought a well-regarded app to help prepare for the test, once I bone up on this thing and get around to taking it. I do have a small solar panel that I was testing out to power devices such as a phone, etc. But it takes quite awhile to get anywhere with it unless you have more serious gear. But I do like the idea of having more human-powered devices around just in case.

I'm aware of that "Rule of Threes" saying: "3 minutes without air, 3 days without water, 3 weeks without food..." However here at least, people are so not ready, and simply assume that the government will somehow be able to bail everyone out. They have no thought of planning for the future and laugh at anyone who does.

But that's OK. My attitude towards them is "you do you" and I'll just keep on truckin.