Surprise Baby Shower

in #life4 years ago

20200531_121844.jpg

Even before the Australian government implemented the social distancing protocols in March this year due to #covid19, I already accepted that I would not have a baby shower anymore. My ELC (Early Learning Centre) family was in the process of organising one, but I told them that as much as I appreciated their thoughts and efforts in giving me my first baby shower, I would rather have everyone limit the social events as precautionary measures. I said that due to my pregnancy as well, I would have to avoid social contacts for my baby's health and safety. I know this is my first baby and a baby shower would be very special and memorable, but times like these when we have this global health crisis, I can't help but worry not just for myself and the baby but for everyone else who might go to my baby shower.

Beginning mid-March, I was not permitted to go to work because of my pregnancy. The school wanted me to be safe and that's reasonable. My Director gave me 3 hours of administrative tasks every week so I could work from home instead. It's better than not having any income at all, especially my maternity leave would not start until the first week of May. I had no choice but to rely completely on my husband, and I don't like that feeling to become totally dependent on someone, even though he's my husband, and that's what's husbands and wives ought to do anyway: to love, help and support each other no matter what the circumstances are. He has been my strong pillar ever since but I also want to help him in any way I can. But then coronavirus happened and I am one of the tens of thousands of people affected by the crisis.

Because of minimal income, shopping for baby stuff has become limited as well. But you know what, I always trust in God that He will provide for our needs. Ever since I have been self-isolating at home, gifts kept coming in abundance. Random people such as parents from school, workmates and fellow church members would leave their gifts at my doorstep. My sister also sent me a gift all the way from the United States. God is really good! He uses people as His instruments to bless me, John and our baby. Truly, His eye is on the sparrow, and He watches over me. #eyeonsparrow

20200525_155942.jpg


With everything that I have already received, I could not ask for more. As I've said, I accepted the fact that I would not have a baby shower. But then to my surprise, some friends from my church pulled off a drive-by baby shower for me, right in front of my house. I never expected it to happen anymore. All I knew was one of my friends said that she was dropping by on Sunday at 11 in the morning so she could catch up with me. That morning, I slept in. I woke up at 10:30 AM as she phoned me, and I said I would just have a quick shower.

When I went outside on the front porch to wait for her, I was surprised to see three of my church family and they had just finished decorating the brick fence with ribbons, balloons and toys.



John and I didn't expect all of these at all. We are truly thankful for everything they did to make this happen. It is truly special and I will always remember my first baby shower. They made it so memorable. I mean they all had already given me and my baby so many gifts and donations, and yet on Sunday, they still showered us with so much more again. My church and work family have helped all me so much since I started my pregnancy journey up until now. Now, the baby's room is filled with everything that my baby needs. Words are not enough to thank each one of them. I am so blessed to be part of such a wonderful community. We are truly beyond blessed. I am so thankful and grateful that I have them in my life. I love them all so much!!! May God bless them all!!!

02 - divider-transparent-png.png

09 -shootingstar.png
by @qurator

05 - hiveteamaustralia.png
@teamaustralia banner by @quochuy

Sort:  

Glad to hear all is going okay with you and your baby @evlachsblog. Very nice to see your church family provide you this drive-by baby shower! You are blessed with a very loving church family!🙂

Galations 6:10

Yes, @roleerob. I'm truly blessed to have such a loving and supportive church family. In less than 6 days, I will be giving birth to my precious baby boy. I can't wait. Praise God!

The wonder of a new little life @evlachsblog is really beyond words. At least, we always felt that way, with the arrival into this world of each of ours. His Word tells us they are gifts and blessings to us. We'll look forward to hearing more about it from you!

Amen.

And yes, definitely. I can't wait to write about the birth of my baby and the new chapter of my life.

Congratulations !
It’s great to see everyone showering you with gifts.

So beautiful to see. Fantastic bunch of people. Must be so re-assuring to know your little guy will be born into such a kind, supportive community.

Yes, my baby and I are truly blessed to have such wonderful people in our lives.

Congratulations @evlachsblog! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 350 posts. Your next target is to reach 400 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update

Now I know a couple of more things about baby J and his Mom.