Beer can chicken with my friend Ben.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Today I worked together with my friend Ben. We did IT maintenance for a doctors office in Rotterdam. Normally there is always something that needs fixing but this time there was absolutely nothing wrong.

This is an extremely rare occurrence. We had sessions where we worked till deep in the night together. But not today.

We were finished in 120 minutes flat. It was only 19:00.

We decided we deserved a beer and a grill session. (I know...it doesn't take much for me to think I deserve it...)


We went to visit Sligro. A wholesale store for catering.


dasdasda.jpg


My friend Ben is not the biggest person on the planet.


FullSizeRender 13.jpg


The cart always ends up with more stuff than at first intended. The salmon is for Bianca and her diet.


FullSizeRender 6.jpg


Time to cook! This is a free range chicken. It doesn't get fet anything by a human. It needs to find it's own food on the ground. That's why every chicken tastes a little different.


FullSizeRender 2.jpg


I coat the chicken in a nice rub (with garlic, thyme, salt, and lemon)


FullSizeRender 8.jpg


And a good drizzle of olive oil


FullSizeRender 10.jpg


On she goes. Note the beer can. It's half full.


FullSizeRender 3.jpg


The BGE is glowing nicely in the settling sun. She's 180C precisely.


FullSizeRender 11.jpg


This is the life as far as I'm concerned. Some people watch Netflix to relax. I watch the grill.


FullSizeRender 5.jpg


End result after 1 hour and 10 minutes. Crispy skin and juicy on the inside.


FullSizeRender 9.jpg


The chicken takes a long time to cook but is devoured in 10 minutes. I present you two very happy human beings.


FullSizeRender 4.jpg


signature Follow Me @exyle

Sort:  

Love your blog, the perfect mix of crypto thoughts in the morning and a lot of grilling in the evening haha. Here's to the good life. 🍻

Thank you, man!

The chicken looks delicious everything in the green egg comes out to something close to perfection. I can tell those are good beers too, a lot residual head left around the rim of glass even after half empty. One of these days you should the bourbon-barrel aged ale by Allagash that's if they have it out there.

I'll have a look out for the beer you mentioned. I love beer and always willing to try new ones!

2 good friends sharing time together. Drinking beers and cooking a pleasant meal. Good conversation shared. Food cooked and devoured. Happy times. Happy moments. As evident by last picture taken.

I have to ask as I've never heard of using the half full beer can before. Where did you hear of this? I'm going to try it this weekend. I'm a huge grill guy myself, so I can really relate to the feelings of relaxation and satisfaction you get from just kicking back and attempting perfection by "grilling". It's one of my favorite things to do. It seems I always do some of my best thinking, or should I say, the "muse" seems to speak to me much more often when I have a beer, a smoke & my butt is stationed in front of a grill. Gotta admit, I'm pretty stoked about trying this out. Great post as usual. Cheers!

I don't know where I heard it first. I used to make it on my Weber grill too. It's a really nice technic to keep the chicken moist. Plus beer = win. Grilling relaxes me too man. Such simple creatures we are :)

Ey!!! man you forgot to post this pic!!!

Another mouth watering post. That chicken looks delicious.
I wish I could have tasted it :)

well, that looked like the perfect end of a day, beers and chicken with a beer can up it's backside. perfect.

Amazing! You relax watching a Grill, you are a true grill food lover. BTW chicken looks delicious.

I just love it, man! and thanks.

Man, even that chicken seems a lot bigger than Ben in that picture!

Every proud man after doing IT maintenance for doctors together with his friend Ben will definitely go and watch at some grills. And all I feel for you is respect!

Look at you, cookin some chicken! Bravo!!

Thanks! It tasted delicious too! But you are the absolute star of food blogging on Steemit!

Lucky you today! Finish working early and enjoy the rest of the day with your body. By the way, the chicken looks YUMMY.

Looks very delicious beer and chicken. Very nice your blog love youi blog very nice post great job @exyle

Wow, that's some chick! Lemon all the way is the way to go with chicken. Btw what filter are u using for photos, it's neat.
Zie je later

Nice story. I am drinking a lot of beers right now, but for sad reasons... :(

i want all of that.... like, right now

Now that's a great post. Upvoted and resteemed.

cheers!

it looks delicious.
beer & chiken ... nice combination

Yep! That is the life -- good food, good drinks and good company. 😊

Do you cook the salmon on your BGE as well?

Bon appetit to you! try and a barbecue.

kip met wijn of biertje?

Give you meat a good ole rub.
The chicken looks so juicy, succulent and delicious.
I want it now! haha

looks delicious. this is one of my favorite recipes. have yet to do it this summer though. last time i made it i only had bottled beer so had to empty out a can of sparkling water, then pour beer bottle into can, then into chicken lol