Does rice really make you fat?

in #life6 years ago (edited)

20180620_091022.jpg

This is an image of a 35 year old mama of 2 kids who is eating almost everyday rice. Many people here in the Netherlands and maybe in other European countries say that you will gain weight or get fat when you eat white rice. They say if you want to lose weight, you should stop eating white rice and just eat lots of veggies, fruit and instead of rice you could eat quinoa.But what about people is Asia and Africa? Rice is their primary food source and they eat (at least in Indonesia) almost every day.

What about sushi?

20180422_185246.jpg

Who doesn't love sushi? Sushi is also made with rice. Look at the people in China and Japan, they are quite slim. I don't say the word skinny because I don't like that word. Why I don't like that word? Because if you say someone is skinny, it means to me that you are saying that person has Anorexia and should gain weight. I also don't like it when people say I am skinny. I am not skinny, I am slim. The right word is slim. Slim is a nice word.

Back to rice

20180330_182514.jpg

Rice consists of carbs and carbs are a bad thing especially if you want to lose weight, that's what they say here in Europe and probably also in America. But don't we all need carbs? The thing is, there is good carbs and bad carbs. People often think that eating white rice is the same as eating a pizza or potato chips.

It's not the same!

Rice is good carbs but pizza and potato chips are bad carbs. Look what's on top of the pizza: lot's of cheese and sausages. The potato chips are baked in oil. White rice is cooked in a rice cooker. (Of course you wash it first.) Then they say, if you want to eat rice, you should eat brown rice instead. What's actually the difference? Brown rice is white rice covered with the bran. They say the hull/bran makes it healthy because it contains many minerals. But I read an article that says that brown rice contains more arsenic because with white rice they remove the hull/bran. Brown rice vs White rice. So more arsenic in brown rice.

y21ff0u9md.jpg

So how come Asians (NOT ALL) are in general slim even if they eat rice? (vs Americans e.g.)

1. Asians don't eat so much ice cream, chocolate or candies.

In Indonesia for example, it was hard to find good chocolate. If you buy chocolate, they will melt in your hands before you consume it. So it's not really interesting to eat chocolate or ice cream. Candies in Asia aren't sold as much as in Western countries. Here in Holland you have enough candy shops and they even sell candies in shops where they don't even sell food.

2. Small portions

In Asian countries the portions are much smaller than for example in America. If you buy ice cream for example, they are sold in very small containers.

3. No pizza's and potato chips

They do sell potato chips in Asia, but in tiny bags. I remember I wanted to buy a large potato chips bag in Singapore. I just couldn't find one. They were all sold in very small bags and they don't really taste that good. Probably because good potatoes aren't coming from Asia. It was also not that easy to find potato chips. They have Pizza Hut in Indonesia, but Indonesian's don't eat so often pizza. The size of the pizza's in Pizza Hut in Indonesia are also smaller compared to the pizza's here in the Netherlands.

4. Meat

In Asia meat is quite expensive, at least in Indonesia. So they eat more chicken, eggs, soy products and fish. On their plate they have more rice than meat, if they eat meat.

5. No computers/No internet

In certain places in Asia, you have poverty, so they don't sit behind their screen like Western people because they just don't have a laptop or a computer.

6. Beer/Alcohol

In Asian countries people don't drink beer as much as in Europe and we all know that beer has lots of calories and make your belly big. ANother thing is that alcoholic drinks are quite expensive in Asia compared to Western countries.

Conclusion

In my opinion, rice doens't make you fat or gain weight. It is all about how big your portion is. If you eat double portion of rice, then yes you can gain weight or get fat. I think the bad carbs are the potato chips and pizza's. Another reason people gain weight is because they eat too much sweet stuff like buckets of ice cream and kilo's of chocolate bars. You can compare McDonalds in Indonesia and McDonalds in America, then you will know the answer, it's the big portions they offer in America vs small portions in Indonesia. Big and cheap portions in America will make people obese. I think if they make the portions in America much smaller, they can fight obesity.

When I traveled to Indonesia I really ate a lot of delicious food with rice. When I came back to Holland, I lost weight, because I didn't eat any candies, ice cream or chocolate ( my favourites!). To give up rice and eat just salads isn't really my thing. I love Asian food with rice and as long you don't exaggerate, you won't gain weight from eating white rice.

What is your opinions about white rice?

Sort:  

Great and amazing post about rice.
Nice content
Very well articulated
I appreciate your work my dear friend.

Thanks for sharing this post. ☺💚

Have a wonderful day!

I definitely think rice is a good option. As you say there are many kinds of carbs, and one important thing is that it will fill you up, and that it keeps your blood sugar unstable

:-D. you mean it is important to keep blood sugar stable. Yes, it is all about eating in moderation. Not too much of carbs.

Hi @fathin-shihab, That would be most valuable contents entire blog post. I'm a south Asian. I definitely eat brown rise for per meals every day. It has most nutritious contains. Rice wanna best healthy foods and can keep slim body better.
White rice add my meals sometimes. But brown rice indeed nutritious than white rice.

Ok, but I heard there is more arsenic in brown rice because of the hull/bran... But I also do not know much about it.

Great tips and key points you highlighted. Rice is a very common staple food in India. Usually, people eat with chappatis and dal.
Nice discussion about rice.

Thanks for sharing.

you're welcome

that's a post i guess everyone should read today interesting and accurate things you shared with explanation thanks for sharing this dear

Yes, people should now that rice isn't as bad as they think and that their weight gain is because of other unhealthy things. You're welcome ;-)

time to eat rice without thinking too much now :D i have seen the diabetic person are too concerned about it

Yeah, its not the rice to blame :-)

You always wonders me with awesome dishes.

Hello @fathin-shihab, I agree with you, the white rice does not get fat, what happens is that it is abused accompanied by potatoes and yucca, it would be three harienas and here is the problem.
I think we can eat everything, but well balanced, and above all exercise, or walk to burn a bit consumed.
Happy day :)

Yucca? isn't it a plant? :-D. But I understand you and yes, we also need to exercise. Happy day to you too!

Hi @fathin-shihab, this is a root that has a lot of starch, thanks for being so nice with me, I use the translator to comment and sometimes it does not help me much.

oh, hahaha that's why :-).. it's ok!

Rice does not make us fat, snacking carelessly that trigger our body fat@fathin-shihab

That's true. Snacking was the word I was looking for all the time :-D.

I think it's not about eating rice, it's about lifestyle. If you move, go in for sports or have a hard physical work, you do not threaten to become fat

Well, I don't do sports yet :-D. but I agree we should move to prevent weight gaining.

I am in that list of having rice but I suppose I am not near being fat ;)

While I am not seeing any fat women in that image rather a beautiful fit lady.

While this might be a misconception for many who thinks that eating rice can make you fat !

The answer sure is given in your post ;)

Yes, we are the example and living proof that rice doesnt make fat :-)

Aye aye captain :)

35, 2 kids and a body and figure like that I would say: continue eating rice as you do and don't bother any further about fat.

Thank you ;-).

I don't think rice makes you fat since I eat it practically every day(sometimes twice a day) and I'm rather skinny. But I guess the intake and someone's lifestyle also plays role in how that person will be affected :)

That's why. It' s indeed a combination and also what else you eat during the day.

Thats true, we as well find only small bags of chips in the supermarket. And yes, they eat small portions of food. The western people eat to much, thats the reality

You know what I'm talking about :-). The potato chips bags in Asian countries are very small compared to Holland or Germany :-).

Well, in my case I do believe that rice can make you fat because of the carbs. And carbs makes you gain weight. Intake of rice should be minimal if you don't want to get fat. But nothing beats proper diet and healthy lifestyle! Just my thought @fathin-shihab :)

I eat rice every day and I am not fat :-). But thanks for your comment!

Glad to hear that from you. It's a matter of discipline on what you eat :)

Great post! Like you said, there are so much more factors important when taking these things into consideration. It's not just about eating something healthy or unhealthy, but also about what you eat the other days, how often you eat, if you drink enough water, etc etc.. I would die for your figure lol :) For me personally it's hard to eat normal food daily, as the heat is taking a toll on my mental state sometimes like I am about to melt from the inside .. I will share your post in c-sqaured ..
ps you live in Holland? Do you speak Dutch too?

Yes, it is about how much you eat of something. Well, we women all have belly fat :-D, including me. I would not be able to eat salads everyday hehehe. Ja, ik woon hier in Nederland en spreek ook Nederlands :-).

I love rice and could easily eat it every day. I will take white rice if I have it but I try to buy a few different varieties like brown or jasmine.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

Without a doubt

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.