Our 9th wedding anniversary

in #life6 years ago

20180710_222332.jpg

We are married for 9 years! 13 June 2018 was our actual marriage anniversary but we (me and @tarekadam) both somehow totally forgot about it. We both actually aren't into parties and we also don't really make it huge. It is the same with Valentine's Day, for us it should be Valentine's Day every single day. So after a few days I found out we both forgot our anniversary. We decided to "celebrate" it on the 10th of July, which is the day we met for the first time. 10 July 2008 we met each other which is 10 years ago.

3318_71440683002_5804086_n.jpg

We found eachother online, and no, it wasn't Tinder or a dating site! It was a Dutch kind of Facebook called Hyves. A friend of mine had an account at Hyves and forced me somehow to make a Hyves account. I didn't want any account and wasn't really into social media. But I had enough of her nagging all the time and decided to open an account at Hyves. I received couple of messages of guys who wanted to date with me including my husband :-D. I wasn't interested because I was still sad about my previous relationship and I felt like all men are the same: they have fake promises. I wasn't into a relationship that would lead to nothing. I have always been someone who wanted a serious relationship and of course marry and have kids.

So it was summer 2008 and I felt a bit bored because everybody I knew were on a holiday and I was broke so I just stayed in the Netherlands going to the gym every now and then and had a part time job at an Indonesian restaurant. I decided to reply my husband's message, his message from months ago :-D. So he called me almost everyday and then we decided to meet at Amsterdam Central Station. We both felt good and after a few months we got engaged. After I got engaged I had to go to Singapore to do my exchange programme at Nanyang Technological University for a semester. After the semester was over I flew back home to the Netherlands and we married.

My husband is half German and half Egyptian but was born and raised in Germany. His mother in German and his father Egyptian. I tell you, I never thought I would marry someone from germany LOL! So, he had a dream job, which was working for Deutsche Bank. He applied and got an interview with Deutsche Bank. After the interview they told him that they don't continue with him. My husband was so disappointed and he fainted at the interview! He really wanted that job. So back home where he lived with his brother and mother, he received a call from a company that found his CV at Monsterboard. It was a company based in the Netherlands. He was a bit surprised because he never tought to work or live in the Netherlands, but he accepted the job offer and moved to Amsterdam. The funny thing is, that he stayed very closeby where I lived with my father and we never met each other even though we travelled with public transportation almost every day. Well, I am happy Deutsche Bank rejected my husband otherwise we would never met :-).

When you are married and live together you will have fights. We have our fights but they aren't serious fights. A marriage without fights is just impossible! We both tell each other everything and communicate well. Communication and honesty is very important in a relationship.

24490_365510233002_2283180_n-side.jpg
My selfmade wedding dress(view from the back)

We actually just ate Sushi :-D to celebrate our marriage anniversary. Maybe nothing special as other couples but we enjoyed our sushi. Our anniversaries so far are very simple as our wedding. We didn't spend much for our wedding. I think we spend around 600 -700 euros for our wedding. For me it isn't necessary to spend so much money for a wedding because you still need money to buy furniture for your new house and other things. So many couples had an expensive wedding party and divorce at the end. Not all, but still enough couples that divorces nowadays. I just hope for us we will always stay together and love each other.

820571-open-communication-quote-1-picture-quote-1.jpg

Tips for a succesful marriage? Hmmm, I am not sure if I am Dr.Love, but I know that communication is #1 in a marriage. Without communication a marriage will fall apart. Another tip is that you should feel comfortable with your partner and be able to be yourself. We can tell each other everything and we feel comfortable when we fart and burp together :-D

Sort:  

Congrats !!!!

Thank you!

Cantiknya @fathin-shihab

Terima kasih

Happy Anniversary Cut Kak, semoga semakin bahagia, panjang umur dan sehat sekeluarga, salam dari Aceh sumatra, Indonesia.

Terima kasih :-) InsyaAllah semua bagus. Sama- sama juga. Salam dari Almere,Belanda

Awww so sorry I missed this! Happy Anniversary to you both!! 😊

It's ok! Thank you! :-)

You’re welcome ~ 😊

Well seems like you both were destined to meet each other and yes you both sure are lucky that he got rejected by the bank ;)

stay happy always and like you said everyday is indeed the best loving day :)

Happy Wedding Anniversary !

Hey @fathin-shihab did you collected the Byteball airdrop ?

Yes, I really believe we are destined to meet each other :-). Thank you very much! I am not sure what Byteball airdrop is. I will have a look later on , thanks!

Happy 9th Wedding Anniversary @fathin-shihab and @tarekadam.
I'm most happy to see these news from you. I wish both of your life's going huge success.

Thank you for your wish :-). The most important thing is health and harmony in our family.

Congratulations! 9 years, that's awesome. I'm impressed that you made your own wedding dress. You don't hear that very often. I agree that communication is important in any marriage. Great advice :)

Thank you! I spend only around 100 euros for my wedding dress :-).

That's great to know Happy Wedding Anniversary to both of you keep shining as always and keep inspiring :D

Thank you dear, we will! :-)

Happy Wedding Anniversary @fathin-shihab. This is the best way to celebrate anniversary. I really loved your post.

May the divinity bless upon both of you.🤗💚

Have a glorious day!

Thank you! You too have a glorious day!

Happy 9th wedding anniversary @fathin-shihab. Handsome and beautiful..

Thanks a lot @safran :-)

Congrats to both of you! That's actually pretty close to us. June 27th same year. But we started dating in 2003 ;-)

Thank you! Ah! why not making a post then ;-)? wow, 2003! That's very long :-). I hope it will last as long as possible with you 2 too.

Lack of time I guess.

As we say: 'up to now we are together forever'

Hi @fathin-shihab, congratulations to both of you, you are not the only one who forgets the important dates, we are so busy, sometimes we lose track of time.
I wish you much prosperity and that GOD always protects you, so that you fulfill many more anniversaries.
Blessings :)

I am happy to hear we are not the only ones that forget anniversaries :-). Yes, if you're busy especially with kids then you might forget anniversaries. Thank you very much @martha75. You too blessings! :-)

Happy anniversary guys !!

Thank you! :-)

Nice to hear your lovely story. Congratulations for your anniversary.

Happy you like our story! Thank you!

Halo, Kak. Ini pertama kalinya saya mengunjungi rumah kakak yang penuh seni ini.
Langgeng ya untuk pernikahan kalian.

Saya gagal fokus ke selfmade wedding dress-nya. Sungguh bertalenta kakak ini.

Salam saya dari Jakarta, @fathin-shihab

Terima kasih :-)