You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Be A Fool, Drop Out Of School! Advice To Young People On How To Live The Good Life

in #life7 years ago

You didn't need to go to school to meet friends and do social things though. My wife is always saying that the kids have to go to government schools to learn "social skills." No, no they don't. That's learning crowd and conformity skills instead. ;-)

Sort:  

I am a teacher at

I agree finnian - social skills can be learned in many places

Thanks! I worry about the other things school teaches way more than what the kids might not learn by missing it.

For example one of my middle son's teachers a year ago told him, "It's not right for one person to be more successful than another."

Bwah?! Don't be teaching that garbage to my child, communist! haha

Whaaaaat? Ok that is just plain weird

But I say again , there are sure some problem parents out there that are not following the open minded approach I am trying to teach my kids - the textbook said this and this and there is no room for we can actually figure out a few things for ourselves and questions can maybe have more than one answer