You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Wobbly Post

in #life3 years ago

Sunnofa... !!!!

You just identified that I am "The Jim" of my neighbourhood.

As a specific example, yesterday, my neighbour was removing boards from his deck so that he can replace them with cedar ...

Not only did I yell over the fence and tell him he was using the wrong type of crow bar for removing the boards ... I provided him with the 2 that I own and then offered to help.... Then his wife piped up and asked if there were any tools that I didn't own? To which I replied -- "None that are useful."

To be fair, I am 15 years younger than my neighbour ... or is that statement actually more damning???

I think it's time I go grab a drink.

I will refuse the urge to Google who Kate Bush is ... I don't want that in my search history ... and from your description, it's likely better that I never find out.

Sort:  

Thats exactly what The Jim does!! And his wife often then drops by with cakes and traybakes that she has made!

The only difference is, he is about 15 years older.

Hey, you fancy coming over and helping? I have already promised The Jim a bottle of good malt Whisky! I could spare two! :OD

hehehe. It's actually happened before.

I was over in London for work and decided to go visit a friend that I'd met in Canada when he was travelling. When I got to his place, his back fence had 3 out of 5 of it's fence posts rotting.

I asked where the nearest Home Renovation place was and off we went. We tied the 10' posts to the roof of his tiny European car (and put the bags of cement in the "boot"). and returned.

24 hours later (Time for the cement to dry), the fence was solid again.

Off to the pub ... Then, he brought up a couple of repairs needed at his vacation house in France (it was tiny ... but it was in France!!) ... and how expensive contractors are in Europe....

How could I turn down a free stay in France for a week.

I was able to delay my return flight by a week and I was off to France.

Rinse and repeat repairing a back deck and a shed (6 hours work at most) and I had a "free" vacation with a tour guide and a lot of wine in the evenings.

It it wasn't for Covid, I'd be on the next flight.

I can see you being a very popular friend! I would be asking you over all the time.

Bloody cement though. There was me thinking I could just rattle some posts in the ground but the ground is all squidgy. This is my first time cementing though. I am finding it quite fun. He got this aggregate stuff that hardens in three minutes. Well, so it claims, its more like 10. Its top stuff, I am already looking about for other things to cement!

A free vacation with guide and wine filled evenings, that sounds quite blissful

My wife hates the fact that "I don't like to relax"

She'd be happy at an all-inclusive resort ... but after a day, they drive me nuts. If I can find a friend who has a place abroad with a "simple" repair and I get the place for a week, I much prefer that. If they stick around to show me the place/city/town ... that's a bonus!!!

Hahaha, me and my wife are like the opposite of you guys when on holiday. I am happy lying by a beach and she always wants to do stuff!! Although maybe not buildy type stuff!