From the LOWEST LOW to the HIGHEST HIGH ~ #risingfromthedead

in #life3 years ago

My apologies to those who I haven't gotten back to this past weekend. I was laid up in bed with a wicked case of Giardia. Don't know what giardia is?

image.png
source

Giardia is a tiny parasite (germ) that causes the diarrheal disease giardiasis. Giardia is found on surfaces or in soil, food, or water that has been contaminated with feces (poop) from infected people or animals.

You can get giardiasis if you swallow Giardia germs. Giardia spreads easily and can spread from person to person or through contaminated water, food, surfaces, or objects. The most common way people get sick is by swallowing contaminated drinking water or recreational water (for example, lakes, rivers, or pools).
source

Yeah, so, I swallowed poop water??? That's what I'm reading.

Awesome!

If I had to guess how it happened, I'd gander one of my kids did a cannon ball in the pool and splashed some water into my open beer can. But that's just a hypothesis, who knows?

All I know for sure is I didn't order a poop water at my local watering hole.

Regardless how it happened, it was brutal. Like, I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy and I take back all the mean things I said about all the contestants on naked & afraid who got a stomach bug and tapped out. I felt like death, and I was in the comfort of my own house with my wife to care for me, air conditioning, and all the other pleasantries that the wild doesn't offer.

After I was about to give up on life, I called my doctor buddy in the states, told him my symptoms (I though it might have been appendicitis), and he thought it was giardia and to go to the pharmacy and get a specific antibiotic.

Within a day, my stomach cramps were gone, thank Jesus!

I still have some lingering bathroom trips, but they're getting better and less frequent, I'd say I'm on the mend....but I still have a slight cold.

Who get's a cold in the middle of summer? In Mexico!? Me, that's who.

So where is the good news in all of this??????

If you've been following me as of late, these pictures should tell you all you need to know.

IMG_2037.jpeg

IMG_2038.jpeg

Stay tuned for the BIG announcement!

Much love y'all. Thanks for sticking by my side and all the love and support you've shown me. It means the world.

Thanks for reading and Hive on!

hive banner.jpeg

Sort:  

Well hello my friend. Looks to me like you are signing a contract. Fingers crossed.
GIARDIA, holy shit, literally. I had it in 1991, my baby girl was just 10 months old and I had to stop breast feeding her because of the strong meds I had to be put on. I lost 18 lbs. in under 2 weeks, I was so sick. The health dept. somehow got involved and my whole family had to be poop tested. My three sons were positive, but had no symptoms, my hubby was negative, go figure. We suspected it was from our farm pond and deer feces leaching in. Whatever. It was , pardon the expression, a shitty deal. I was just happy it affected only me, I couldn't imagine if the 3 boys got the shits also. It would have been a shit storm. 😁😂🤣
Hope you are better and moving forward with the BIG project.
Farm-mom is rooting for you. I'll keep my eye on you.
Peace!

It was a lot like "Hello darkness, my old friend". At least that's how I read your intro, lol.

Looks to me like you are signing a contract. Fingers crossed.

🤞

Oh damn, that definitely sounds like a terrible time. No health department here to check up on us ;) and I loved all the shitty puns and innuendo. I'm down about 10 pounds myself, needed it anyway, ha.

Appreciate the love momma!

Peace!

So my question is do you ever get used to it? I mean do you eventually build up an immunity? Do the people down there drink the water? I am just curious.

I think the answer to that is really on a case by case basis. Some people's bodies just simply can't handle it, even after they've had it, maybe that's me. We'll find out in the future if I get it again.

The locals, at least some of them, do drink the tap water, they've grown up with it and their bodies seem to handle it just fine.

Myself, not being used to it, clearly cannot handle it at all.

That had to be MISERABLE! If it was from the pool, it might be time to change the way it's cleaned? The kids probably ingest plenty of the water daily, and I expect you would be even more miserable if they caught it next :(

Yeah, who knows really? Could have been the pool, but we moved recently to a new place, so that pool is no longer an issue if it was in fact the issue.

I would hate to see my kids get what I had, it was brutal.

A move was probably a good idea. It was likely something in the area. If not the pool, something. I always thought that the tap should be safe by now?

!PIZZA !ALIVE

You Are Alive and have been rewarded with 0.1 ALIVE tokens from the We Are Alive Tribe, and it's paid for by the earnings on @alive.chat, swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thankful you are doing better. We need to be so careful now days.

Thanks so much Wendy! No doubt about that, I need to be more careful for sure.

Signing contracts with a nice cold poop water glass!

Cheers to that!

Salud!!! That's the only way to do it man!

@intothewild now that's a wicked bug, glad you are finally feeling better! I see you are signing a contract it looks like, so things must be going well for your project. I just came to your blog today, after receiving a vote from you on my last post, I wanted to check you out and like what I see, so I'll be following your adventures. Good luck and stay away from the poop water!

hey there! yeah, things are a work in progress but so far it's going well. Thanks for checking me out, hope to have more good news in the near future. And no doubt, no more poop water for me, please!

Glad you're feeling better bud. That shit is miserable. I'd honestly rather have the rona again. 😆

Oh no doubt. The rona was a walk in the park compared to this.

Congratulations @intothewild! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 5000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 12

Welcome back and good to hear that you're feeling better, @intothewild :) Growing up in Egypt, I've tried to be careful about the water I drink, or even eating a salad in a public place. Sometimes, no matter how careful you are, it's a question of bad luck.

I visited Mexico, few years ago, briefly, for a birthday party. But, I hope to return soon, since I feel --outside the party -- I hardly got to discover its rich culture or even delicious food! Sending you good vibes and congratulations on your Good News!

Hey man, my bad for missing this one. I clear my notifications when I'm mobile and just saw this comment. arrrggghhh....

Thanks for the well wishes man, hope you can visit again and really get to immerse yourself in the culture and the food. There is a lot to see and do, and each place is so different. It's been a lot of fun to explore and see new things.

No worries, really, it's just good to hear back from you, @intothewild :)

My wife and I are planning a trip back to Mexico sometime soon, but not sure when yet. Meantime, if you're interested in other ancient cultures, I've posted pictures from my trips to Egypt & Italy :)

Hope you continue to get better 😇