A Late Breakfast

in #life3 years ago

Just a basic scramble: some browned breakfast sausage, some leftover potatoes, three eggs from the neighbors, and some Daiya shreds topped with some homemade salsa from the Mother Thing and a couple slices of Dave's Killer Bread.

20211004_135009.jpg

1:45 PM PDT might seem like a late breakfast, but I have today off, and I am still recovering from the pain spike on Saturday. Besides, I had a very late night snack when insomnia and hunger conspired, inducing me to make a modest meal about 12 hours ago.

Now, on with whatever awaits for the remainder of the day. I am fed. Too bad I also feel fed up with a lot of my life in general. But I did learn I get a modest raise at the library, so it's not all gloom and doom.

Sort:  

We've changed out cheese for Daiya as well. Tried to cut out most all dairy as it helps keep my eczema at bay.

Congrats on the raise.

Daiya is OK as an ingredient, but I really miss basic mozzarella sticks and sliced cheddar. The substitutes just don't substitute very well there.

Yeah the Daiya slices are meh. The shreds melt pretty well and taste okay, still not the flavor of regular cheese though.

As I have mentioned in my pizza posts, the slices work well as a base cheese layer on pizza. It makes up for the lackluster meltiness of the shreds and makes a much more satisfying pie. I need to try the cheddar shreds in a massively-substituted beef stuffed french bread recipe soon. I haven't made that since before I discovered my food allergies, but going through old recipes reminded me that it existed, and I should find a way to make it work with my beef and dairy restrictions.

massively-substituted

That's for sure. Half the ingredients need swapping. If it is only beef you have an issue with there are plenty of other meats to try that would work well. The cheese soup may be difficult to find a substitute that tastes good.

I'd probably use ground turkey or a blend of turkey and pork. As for the soup, I'm googling duckduckgo-ing(?) vegan cheese soups now, but I may also try the packets of "cheeze" sauce from Daiya.

I wasnt aware of the packets, I will have to try them. Mac n not cheese would maybe be possible if it tastes even half good.

Yay for raise!

Sorry about the pain level :S did the food help you feel a bit better? (even if it didn't help the pain levels)

It didn't really help with pain, but it was tasty. I'll get my endorphins and dopamine where I can. I think I'll either watch a comedy or play some escapist video games tonight as a coping mechanism.

this looks good, the bread looks like a wheat 🍞 bread? @jacobtothe

It is still my goal to invent the most melty, amazing, dairy-free cheese substitute ever!

Also, congrats on the raise, that's awesome!!!

Perhaps laying waste to everyone at Thursday MTG time might be a balm of uplifting of sorts, I will even ally with you if you bring the Om Nom Nom deck and we can troll everyone😁

I have a rebuilt Simic deck to test. It might be great, or it might be crap.