What is it that you want?

in #life2 years ago

20180310_064808.jpg

After almost 10 years of living outside of my country I felt like the "what" I originally left for was still missing.
What was it that I left for? Or what do I THINK it was?
I've always knew I wanted to live abroad, to travel, see the world.
"There must be more to it than "just" going to a college, a university, getting married, having kids and they devote the life to the kids, most likely get divorced, enjoy the grandchildren and then, hopefully surrounded by the loved ones, die." I thought to myself when I was a teenager about to finish my high school.
I'm not saying it's wrong or that I have something against that. It just wasn't adding up for me and I felt like "there must be more".
haha 490.JPG

Long story short (perhaps I will share the long story later on, haha), when I was 22 I left for England. I lived there 5 and half years, first 3 years in west England taking care of kids then moving to London for more adrenalin. But after a while it got all just monotone. It wasn't really different to what I lived in the Czech republic - having a job to pay rent. Even though my job was very flexible. In London I worked as a hospitality assistant, working at different events, meeting royalty and celebrities. Every day I worked at different location seeing places where one has to pay entrance or get invitation otherwise. I chose where and when to work. I loved my job and can't say I was bored. It was just becoming slightly repetitive.

224536_4434834665055_701769315_n.jpg

Even though now when I look back I could have enjoyed more (travel Europe as the connections are fast and cheap, travel England...) but London is very expensive city to live.
So we (my and my then boyfriend) decided to move to South America, to Uruguay.

Capture.JPG

I had always wanted to visit Uruguay and saw it as a great new chapter. Getting once again out of the comfort zone. New culture, new language. I was scared but excited at the same time. I worked as an English teacher. Got the job fast, we found an apartment fast and slowly but surely got into the rhythm again. The 5 years I lived in Uruguay went so fast. I had a great time but it was also not easy - more expensive than London!!! And sooo cold in winter. But summer was amazing! Hot and my dream living my the sea was unbelievable living every day.

edit37.JPG

But again...after 5 years I got somehow bored. And now? What will I do now? Settle down? No way! Move to another country and start from zero again? No way!!
I looked for alternatives. Knowing it would have to be on my own with my dog as my then boyfriend decided to open a business in Uruguay and settle down.
Not sure even how, when and where but one day I somehow came across kombis and van life.
In Uruguay you see kombi vans. People convert it into motorhomes. It is cheaper.
I love driving. This way I could travel nonstop and with my dog!
So?
Why not!
This decision actually came after 3 years of living in Uruguay. I knew I would need something new sooner or later.
So I spent 2 years working my ass out, saving and saving up, and researching all about kombis and living van life.
Pandemic hit and it somehow helped me. I didn't have to be sad about not being able to go out to see people and as all classes went virtual working from the comfort of home turned into something so comfortable that I can't imagine ever going back to any office.
I saved up just about what was needed for a basically converted van (had bed and a cooker). Broke up with my boyfriend and head towards new adventures.
Something completely new. Continuing working the first year of travel remotely but giving up on an address and a "base".
Once again I felt nervous and excited. But my gut was telling me that this is what I absolutely should be doing . I had no idea how to do it, what it will be like, knew nothing about engines but was sure that this is what I must do now.

It's been one year and a half I've been travelling. And got the feeling that will be travelling for many many more.
Join me on the ride if you want to know and see what the journey brings. ;)

Let's explore the world and via the world ourselves! Let's live it!

20210122_110907.jpg

@janathedreamer
@masaralternativo