Back in the garden for a check up, Suflowers still blooming as is our garden spider.🕸🕷

in #life5 years ago (edited)

I made the effort today to venture into my garden, I have neglected it over the last few weeks with hubby being in hospital and being well myself, something had to give and unfortunately it happened to be my garden. I am so glad i made the decision to sort my garden out early for the Winter, with having so much rain over the Summer i didn't get the garden i wanted as the rain spoiled just about everything so i made the big decision to start clearing my garden and get it ready for the cold weather. I dread to think how it would look now if i hadn't.

I was very surprised to find i could still get into the garden, i was expecting cobwebs everywhere plus a mess around the pots where i haven't been able to cut back, fruit plants seem to have a will of there own.

Neglected Garden.jpg

There isn't to much work to do, i do have to wrap Groot, the 1st tree on the right, I wrap his trunk in Frost wrap, it help keeps him war over the cold weather, I then cover the bases of most of my plants with Hanging basket liner, this helps the soil not get to wet and keeps some warmth in. I did it last year with a good success rate.

I have Sunflowers growing, i am trying to catch the heads before die as i want to try and save the seeds for next year, i was surprised to find they are still blooming, I found a few new Sunflower heads opening, they made me smile.

Last Sunflowers.jpg

Last Sunflowers 2.jpg

The last time i was out there there was a massive web from the right hand side stretched over to the white table. I wasn't expecting him to still be there, He seems to have made a home and a good supply of food by the size of him, he has definitely grown, must be a nice supply of bugs or maybe its a she and its pregnant, Ewww i may never go out there again.

Gareden Spider.jpg

I am feeling a bit better, the swelling around my face and gums has gone down and i have a little more energy today, Looks like the 2 Antibiotics are doing there job chasing the nasties away. Once i get this tooth out on the 1st of November i will be able to relax and get myself a bit more motivated. I then have an appointment on the to get a mouth guard made, when i get anxious and worried i bite down on my teeth, never realised how bad i did it, the last few days have been an eye opener, hopefully that should help my teeth and the way i feel.


Thank you @son-of-satire

Sort:  

That spider looks like one that I have seen, that type of spider sleeps during the day and hunts at night...so I think that you do not need to worry to much about him!

I try my best not to break his web but he's cordoned off half of my garden

haha...I think that spiders are sort of interesting (as long as they remember to stay out of my space.) I like to try and catch moths and small insects to throw into the spider web. Some how the spider seems to know the size of the object that is caught in the web. If I hit the web with my finger then the spider will run away from me, but if I throw a moth into the web...the spider will sort of shake the web (I guess to farther entangle its prey) then the spider will quickly crawl to the small prey and wrap the victium up in like a cocoon.

Haha i may to try that as i hate moths, might teach them to stay away from my house lol

Sunflowers will always make us smile

They really do :)

Yes, I think I'll look for some seeds to have some for Christmas. And how have you been?

I am on the mend now thankfully. Feeling a bit more human. How are you?

It's good to know that. I'm pretty good, working as much as I can ... And thanking for everything

I am pleased you have work :)

Neat looking spider....

He's a monster lol

I am hoping you and your hubby feel better soon! Omg I remember when you just started your garden! Wow look at you all professional insulating pots over winter and all! Hugs my sweet friend!

They break your heart when they are gone. We aren't getting any more :(
Hope you and yours are well :)