Today We Worked On The Chicken Nugget Run

in #life4 years ago


image.png

These two little ladies are my main help with the chickens. They not only love to feed and water them but also help clean up the hay when we do the weekly pen clean out. They (of course) love to play with them!

We have a total of eight and they are all Ameraucana Pullets. We will eventually get a rooster to produce more chickens but these are mainly for eggs and I have no desire to break open a fertilized egg. Have you ever opened a fertilized egg by accident? No Bueno!


Today we started on the chicken run outside of the coop.

image.png

As you can tell from the picture about there was a lot of work to do before I can even start putting the fence up. I had to cut down some small trees with my chainsaw and cut down the rest with a string trimmer. It took approximately two hours to get the area cleaned out.


The girls sprayed down the fence kennel while I was cleaning out the area where it will go.


image.png

The kennel fence we acquired was used. Our woodworker friend is moving states and he let me have it for free! All I had to do was take it down and it was mine! That saved me a couple hundred bucks:-)

The girls cleaned the part of the fence touching the ground so I can spray paint over the rust to help the fence last longer. It will be installed upside down so the not rusted part of the fence can touch the ground. This will hopefully help it last even longer!


Finally, we assembled the fence.


image.png

There is still quite a bit of work to do. I didn't anticipate there being a dip in the yard so I had to put rock under the fence to keep it straight. I haven't quite figured out what I will do to shore it up better. I am thinking of getting some block (that I already have)under the fence and then will use some of the flat rock(or possibly a log) to fill the gap between the fence and the ground.


Tomorrow I will work on the top so I can close it in with fence to keep Chicken Hawks from getting to the chickens from the air.

All pictures owned by me

Sort:  

So it begins! Glad you have some good helpers.

Yep, they only have about another week left before they need to out. We had to enlarge their pen this past week to give them more room. I do enjoy my helpers. My son is currently healing from a broken collar bone so he doesn't get to help as much at the moment.
image.png

Congratulations @lexikon082! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments. Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

What been going on have not seen you for posting for a while