Neat flashback: Frank Zappa on What's My Line in the early 70s!

in #life6 years ago

It was really neat listening to them "talk shop" at the end -- he filmed "200 Hotels" on four videocameras, which were then transferred to 35mm. He died before I was interested in his music. Of prostate cancer IIRC (yep, I did).

When I had stock options I worked with someone who could have been Zappa's twin. Was really freaky; showed him the album cover from Apostrophe/Overnight Sensation, which had his mug on the back, and he agreed. :)

Enjoy!




Sort:  

lol. What a funny man :)

What a great guy! Have you seen this interview collection(2.5 hours)... he was way ahead of his time.

No I haven't! Will check it out. I saw his son Dweezil do "Zappa Plays Zappa" at some well-known theatre in NYC (my brother lived there at the time), a decade or so ago. Good musician. Although the part where he asked the women to throw their underwear up on stage seemed a little ... I dunno, geeky? :)

Yeah if you have to ask... its not working!

LOL, right?

"Is there anything musical about your work?"

"Some people think so".

Bwahahahahahah!!!

Self-deprecating is one of my favorite forms of humor. Like that Emo Philips one-liner: "I used to think, I used to think the brain was the most interesting organ in the body. Then I thought, 'look what's telling me this!'"

Huh. That just might be a Mandela Effect right there! All the quotes from searching replaced "interesting" with "wonderful" and I certainly don't remember him saying it that way. Also the quotes change "thought" towards the end, to "realized" and don't have the part after it in quotes.

Of course, my brain is also recovering from multiple concussions so it's not only interesting, it's also impaired and might be the source of the discrepancy.

I do firmly believe the Mandela Effect is real, though -- it definitely was "Berenstein" when I was a child, I remember asking how to pronounce the ending, "steen or stine?" Whereas "stain" is unambiguous, in terms of pronunciation.

Anyway, that was a neat excursion. Next! :)

Emo Phillips - wow, blast from the past. Haven't thought about him in years. Dude was hysterical!

Now you've got me thinking about how Berenstein was spelled when I was kid...

Yeah it really freaked my mom out -- she found the books she had read to us as children, and her memory matched mine.

Others that I recall are: "Sex In the City" but now it's "Sex And the City". And "Interview with A Vampire" -- with the poster having the words in white except the "A" was blood red -- is now "Interview with The Vampire".

My wife owns that book, which is in a storage unit; one day we'll extract it, and see if it changed as well.

See that's the thing -- I can kinda understand it being an Internet phenomenon, because web pages can be changed. Even the Internet Archive can be updated, to make it appear as if "it's always been that way."

But I'm pretty sure they didn't break into my parents' home and replace the books from my childhood with identical copies except the author's name now has an "a" instead of an "e", with identical cracks in the bindings etc.

Until my mom found those books, it was "theoretical". When she found them, it's like, "Am I really from here?" Fun stuff!!! :)

It's possible that CERN is causing these reality shifts.

Wow. Talk about a huge dedication to his craft of choice.

wow,fantastic video..i was this video & follow you
U5dsnhm6vidhQYXWJib6mS1SSQPma1P.gif

DQmTeZwSP47uim9q61AZmrr95cqNQ8qDKc1rzdXS7R6nig3.gif

heheh that's really awesome !!

I have seen this before but i cant get enough from seeing it

He was something else!

Thanks for posting this, this is cool! I've been a Zappa fan for over 25 years, but I haven't seen this yet.

You're welcome! Have you heard his Civilization Phase III? Wild -- it was partially recorded at Joe's Garage!!!

I got that back in the late 90s, it's more like a story, with some music parts. Haven't heard it in some time, but I remember enjoying it while coding. Should probably listen to it with these older ears. :)

Yes, my brother owns a copy on CD. I love all Zappa stuff, but I think my favorite era is between 71 Fillmore, and Baby Snakes. It's really hard to decide; I love the Mothers, as much as when Adrian Belew and Terry Bozzio joined the band... There is so much good music to choose between.

Wow! I know Adrian Belew from the Balloon Man album which I own, don't think it's called that though. Didn't know he was involved with FZ, neat!

Look up "Baby Snakes" on YouTube, or just look up the song "City of Tiny Lights"!!!

Really cool! I used "flashback" in the title to this post, and the morphing claymation at times seems like one! :)

Thanks!

Bruce Bickford's animation. There's lots of it aligned to Zappa music, on the Baby Snakes movie and a Beresford doco which I think only made it to home video in the tape era.
He's still going; still doing weird stuff.

what a video!

What extreme flashback man.
I like it.