You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Knowledge is Bliss, Ignorance is Power

in #life5 years ago

Have we been taught, or is it instinctual, because we are communal creatures? The way to survive in a tribe is to have the same beliefs as the rest of the tribe. So is it a survival instinct? People have certainly been killed for expressing different beliefs.

Perhaps it is because it is instinctual, as you put it, that we have so willingly succumb to teachings we ought not to have? Our nature has perhaps been weaponised and used against us.

So true, but it becomes a lonely existence when you can never fit in anywhere, due to your scepticism and lack of beliefs. Sometimes I wish I could believe in a god, for the comfort it brings.

I agree, largely. Though, the first time I experienced loneliness in my life was relatively recently, and I had attributed it to the absence of the one I love the most. But, I definitely see loneliness as separate from being alone. You can feel connected to the world, and to others, even if they do not feel connected to you. It's all about perspective. I suppose my problem, is that I am back to a place where I am quite seriously wondering whether anyone other than myself exists. lol.

Sort:  

Our nature has perhaps been weaponised and used against us.

Most likely, in all walks of life. We could do with being taught how to realise our instincts so we can turn them to our own advantage, if possible.

Posted using Partiko Android