Knowledge is Bliss, Ignorance is Power

in #life5 years ago (edited)


There is a chance, perhaps even a large one, that some of you will have difficulty making sense of the thoughts I am about to express. My kin most certainly think I am losing my grasp on reality, and strongly suspect that I am suffering from an extended bout of psychosis. Having recently examined the symptoms of psychosis on the NHS website, I must admit, it seems entirely possible that I am.

However, if I am willing to accept that I may in fact be deluded, and that much of my thoughts may indeed be far from coherent, then I would humbly request that any who do find themselves in complete disagreement with my words, open their minds as I have, and accept an alternative possibility;

Perhaps, the knowledge you have chosen for yourself, has manifested in your mind as a barrier, one which is preventing you from accepting as a possibility, the ideas that my willingness to embrace my own ignorance have led me to entertain.

In short - I know this will likely sound insane to the majority, and yet, to me it makes more sense than anything else currently does. So, I challenge you to open your mind and truly consider if I am crazy, or if the world you have chosen to be a part of is. Should you decide that I am not insane, and that my hypothesis is indeed worthy of investigation, you might also be so lucky as to discover that you have the power to change your entire universe.

Knowledge is Power

Knowledge is indeed powerful. Though not merely in so far as it allows one to use information known to them, and unknown to others, to exploit said others. The information - the knowledge - we possess, amounts to no more than beliefs. And those beliefs, are ultimately choices. Consequently, the most potent manner of power one can draw from the knowledge they possess, is the power to find bliss in the universe they have constructed through the knowledge they have chosen to regard as truthful. Thus, knowledge is power, because knowledge is a currency; and one that we can spend towards the creation of our very own universe. Our perception is dictated by the parameters of our beliefs, and so it is quite accurate to state that we are all experiencing life within entirely unique worlds.

Unfortunately, however, too many of us are without the understanding that beliefs are choices. This is unsurprising, as rationality is practically worshipped in the modern age, and we have been taught to consider it rational to think like the rest. But, logic - or more appropriately; reason - without a very healthy dose of scepticism, becomes nothing more than a tool used to convince one of the truth they've already chosen to accept. This, in my opinion, is why it is called reason. For we use it to come up with reasons why we believe what we believe, more often than we use it to seek for truths we may not be entirely comfortable with. Or if you prefer; we use the rational mind to rationalise our forechosen beliefs.

When we lack the understanding that our beliefs are choices, and further lack the scepticism necessary to scrutinise the beliefs chosen by others, we can very easily find ourselves existing within a reality that is defined almost entirely by others. In this case, knowledge is not bliss - but too often dread.

The teacher is far more dangerous than the thief or the swindler, the murderer or the rapist. A teacher has the power to reach into your universe and usurp your ability to choose for yourself what meaning there is to your existence. It is through an army of teachers, propagating truths dictated by others, that we have been collectively duped into constructing for ourselves a world that very few of us would have chosen - if only we knew that choice was available.

And so, knowledge can be a source of extreme bliss. But we must first choose to adopt the knowledge, that what we know is a choice.


Ignorance is Power

I find often lately that language is very limiting, and that the words do not exist for me to adequately articulate what my mind is attempting to express. This is another one of those moments. We have used the word truth already - in the context of a chosen belief selected by humans on an individual basis. But there must be a higher truth of sorts - an immutable truth. A truth, that governs our ability to choose for ourselves our own truths. Without that higher truth, for me personally, I see not how reality could take form. I am speaking of the very nature of nature itself, and the rules that define the relationship between the finite and the infinite. In order to make this a little less confusing, I am going to refer to this/these higher, governing truth/s as the existential protocols.

Many people in this world have conflated the truth - their truth - with the protocols of existence. Religion and science, are excellent examples of agencies which attempt to define the truth for us, while obfuscating the existence of said higher protocols. As an example, one can choose to adopt the truth that God created the universe and Jesus is the saviour of man. Undoubtedly, in my opinion, if such a person believes this strongly enough, their perception - their reality - will be altered to conform to these beliefs. The person may experience God or Jesus - or both. But because of this, they will remain unaware of the protocols of existence that have permitted them to experience God because of their choice to believe in Him. They will believe they have all the answers, and therefore the desire to dig deeper will be negated. This needn't be a problem. For as I said beforehand, knowledge is bliss, and to exist in a world where God loves you and you love God, sounds entirely blissful to me.

But for the extreme sceptic, who can experience such a thing, and still ask the question - why am I experiencing this; for the one who is not willing to embrace the knowledge handed to them, but to look upon it as a choice and seek instead to accept their place in ignorance- to them, the mystery of the protocols of existence is not so easily disregarded. And only through resigning oneself to the position of the perpetual student, who knows nothing and seeks to know everything, can one grow closer to the understanding of those protocols, and towards a deeper understanding of how to utilise those protocols towards the betterment of their existence - and potentially everyone else's.

The natural path for the truth-seeking sceptic, is the path of the magician. Only through hacking the universe, and by experiencing each and every dimension of the reality we exist within, can we better come to understand the governing laws that create our experience of what we define as real.

Consequently, ignorance is power, because only through accepting that we know nothing of the nature of reality, can we retain the drive necessary to dig deeper into the sophisticated beauty of existence and step beyond the limits of what we had previously defined as impossible.


Follow this blog to keep up to date with @lordless.exile's potential psychosis.
Sort:  

we have been taught to consider it rational to think like the rest

Have we been taught, or is it instinctual, because we are communal creatures? The way to survive in a tribe is to have the same beliefs as the rest of the tribe. So is it a survival instinct? People have certainly been killed for expressing different beliefs.

only through accepting that we know nothing of the nature of reality, can we retain the drive necessary to dig deeper into the sophisticated beauty of existence

So true, but it becomes a lonely existence when you can never fit in anywhere, due to your scepticism and lack of beliefs. Sometimes I wish I could believe in a god, for the comfort it brings.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am pretty sure you still have beliefs @minismallholding 👍🏼

Have we been taught, or is it instinctual, because we are communal creatures? The way to survive in a tribe is to have the same beliefs as the rest of the tribe. So is it a survival instinct? People have certainly been killed for expressing different beliefs.

Perhaps it is because it is instinctual, as you put it, that we have so willingly succumb to teachings we ought not to have? Our nature has perhaps been weaponised and used against us.

So true, but it becomes a lonely existence when you can never fit in anywhere, due to your scepticism and lack of beliefs. Sometimes I wish I could believe in a god, for the comfort it brings.

I agree, largely. Though, the first time I experienced loneliness in my life was relatively recently, and I had attributed it to the absence of the one I love the most. But, I definitely see loneliness as separate from being alone. You can feel connected to the world, and to others, even if they do not feel connected to you. It's all about perspective. I suppose my problem, is that I am back to a place where I am quite seriously wondering whether anyone other than myself exists. lol.

Our nature has perhaps been weaponised and used against us.

Most likely, in all walks of life. We could do with being taught how to realise our instincts so we can turn them to our own advantage, if possible.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loved this mate... and no, I'm certain you're not dropping into a psychosis!

I think much of Taoist and Buddhist thinking is along these lines. I've been reading a lot on the Complete Reality Taoist school, and they mention that their techniques and philosophy is about un-learning everything... getting rid of the conditioning that comes from knowledge and learning and family and culture and society, etc.

Don't think the irony of me 'learning' about 'unlearning' escapes me....

As they say, "only the empty vessel can be filled"....

Nice post mate!

I wonder though - filled with what? Do they provide an answer to that?

Congratulations @lordless.exile! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts. Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks for posting great content about "TRUTH" - one of 5 tags celebrated and supported by @freedomtribe. Your post has been featured in our Spread The Love #34 curation.

Join us on the Freedom Tribe Discord to learn more!

freedom_banner2.jpg

I have actually experienced psychosis 4 to 6 times so I am familiar with it, and it sounds like you are partly experiencing this based on the words you read in the Bible.

There are some lessons to be learned from the Bible, especially the lesson of faith, but faith cannot really get someone that far by itself since every gain is ultimately lost.

And you will likely experience the "bliss" you are searching for only to experience an equal amount of hardship beforehand, afterwards or both.

What words did I read in the Bible that you are referring to?

I find this comment quite interesting, because it is only through conversing with people such as yourself that I have managed to convince myself I am not insane. If psychosis results in people being deluded and not in touch with reality - then I find that I am not suffering from it when I have a conversation and notice that the other person is reading words I did not write, but I am seeing everything exactly how it was presented. In our recent conversation you said that I said something that I had actually said the complete opposite of as many as four times. But, I never once read what I wanted to read - I read what was there. So do you not think, at least in that sense - I am seeing what is in front of me, and you are not. So, if I am suffering from psychosis right now, I think it very likely you are experiencing it again.

But, I wonder whether psychosis is even a thing, or if it is merely a transitional period of an extreme paradigm shift, labelled as mental illness.

but faith cannot really get someone that far by itself since every gain is ultimately lost.

What are you suggesting is needed in addition to faith - and to accomplish what?

And you will likely experience the "bliss" you are searching for only to experience an equal amount of hardship beforehand, afterwards or both.

It's not bliss I am after, my friend.

Loading...