You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things New Parents Should KNOW!

in #life6 years ago

Amen to the messes. Right now we have 4 under 5. The messes that can happen when I turn my back for about 30 seconds are truly spectacular, especially since the 18 month old seems to have a gift for causing catastrophe while trying to "help" and the 3 year old destroys things without thinking about it. It's to the point where in order to nurse the baby, I need to have all three sitting with me or in front of me or I need to be prepared to clean the entire house once the baby is done nursing.

Sleep? What's that?

And yet...we have four and I'm sure we'll have more. Because I know there is going to be a day when these small people won't be small and I'll have an army of extra hands around here. I grew up in a family of 8 and wouldn't have it any other way. The people they become will be with me and be my dearest companions the rest of my life.

So for now I don't sleep and I clean messes. But only for a time. And it will be worth it.

Sort:  

I forgot what sleep is too! Mine are 15 months and 3.5 years. Every thing my little one is learning is from his older brother. I have my fingers crossed my tubal stays done! I couldn't handle anymore kids.

Lol...well, the funny thing is the dynamic does change as you have more and the olders become more capable. It's not like you have seven toddlers running around (unless you're a very rare case). By the time my youngest brother was born, for instance, I was 22 and completely ran the house while Mom was recovering. A lot different from when my sister and I were tiny and she had a new baby. ;-)