You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What are you afraid to write about?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I am in the process of finding out if I really want to become a writer. I start my second year of a course in creative writing next week, and I'm surprised because I didn't think I would make it into that school in the first place, and when I did I was sure they would kick me out after the first year. But things went really well and so now I'm more scared of succeeding than I was of failing! Because: Do I really want to be a writer??? Do I really want to share things with readers? I don't know. If you want to write something interesting you have to put yourself out there, don't you? I decided that I'm going to work on writing fiction. That way you can let have fictional characters have your thoughts and feelings and dreams en fears. I read somewhere: 'Write about yourself as if it concerns someone else, and about the other as if it concerns yourself.' I think it was Orhan Pamuk who said this. Anyway, I wish you good luck!

Sort:  

What a great quote! Thanks for sharing, and for the well wishes. Best of luck to you as well--I can relate to that feeling of being more afraid of success than failure, but the drive to write, communicate, connect, has always been stronger for me. That's how I know I should keep going. <3