Experimental garden VS Normal garden

in #life7 years ago

Experimental garden & In ground garden

I Currently have a few different gardens growing.
The first one I will show is the normal garden that is doing quite well.
My Gardens are all amended with compost, peat moss, Epsom salt, worm castings, rockdust and a few other organic fertilizers
I always aim to provide the best possible produce for my family, so I look for OMRI cert label or things I know that are natural.

This first Garden has been going about 4 years and has been re-amended every year, its 16ft x 11ft. This is the family garden as we all help with it.
SAM_0140.JPG
The decor was added by my wife parents, they are great! The pinwheels actually seem to be keeping the birds away as intended as well.

SAM_0139.JPG
I decided to use these cattle panels as trellis because of a youtube video I watched, the link is at the bottom of this page.
SAM_0137.JPG
Winter squash (far left), Peppers, Zucchini, far right is tomatoes

SAM_0141.JPG



Experimental Garden

SAM_0124.JPG
In front on the ground is my version of Larry Halls "Rain gutter system" even though it uses a 4 inch PVC pipe instead of a rain gutter. Some might even call it an SIP or self irrigated planter.

SAM_0127.JPG
These tomatoes were planted at the same time as the ones in the photos above in my traditional garden. clearly they are about double the size.

SAM_0126.JPG
This plant is a squash, I am not sure if its actually a winter squash or pumpkin. My seeds got mixed up when the ink ran off the plastic name tags. I guess I will know in a few months haha.


SAM_0125.JPG
Three green pepper plants

SAM_0129.JPG

SAM_0131.JPG
Float valve for when it gets connected to a rain water barrel.

SAM_0133.JPG
The Cover for the float valve is just another 4 inch pvc pipe with a portion taken out so it can snap over the other pipe. This keeps bugs, debris and light out to keep the water reasonably clean.
I am amazed at how fast this self watering planter "Rain gutter system" is letting the plants grow.
I think if my only consideration was how fast they grow it would be a clear winner. The only down side is the soil buying organic soil, vermiculite and peat moss as a base for these massive bags adds up really quick.

links to where I got some of my Ideas:

Potting soil mix
youtu.be/PTdFAqzVT_0

Ground cover fabric
youtu.be/QFytZs38BqM

Cattle panel trellis
youtu.be/9RPLtYpWkg8

Sort:  

My brother did a garden similar to you're experimental garden because critters were eating his traditional one. His garden is doing great.

Congratulations @markcampbell! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!