Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Interesting .. amazing words
It is nice to have that balance between your life and those around you
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing

Thanks @slimanepro glad to see you out here all the time! :)

BRILLIANT STUFF! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK!!!

@cloudbuster yet you have a reputation score of 53 and are going strong! :) so maybe it is time they start believing ;)

Yeah! :') why are you sending so much money to the bots? It's not a good deal for you.

Well I use the bots to promote the posts and get them more visible :)

Paying bots is just good for them really, not you. In short, you're losing money. Even though it looks like you're doing well you're really not - your paying yourself, badly.

well @cloudbuster I'm going to start using bots less and less, yet at this moment I'm tracking my payments to the bots and the payments received and I have actually made a profit. I feel though that now that I have a following, I can use them less and rely on more organic traffic :)

It's a bad deal for you and you don't even know it... You're being ripped off by bigger players. Do you like being pissed on? Because your pissing on yourself.

steem is mooning right now

Yeah it is really going up huh? @markjackson1989

Im 52 and a firm believer in a decentralised economy and Steemit, and my 81 year old Dad who died last month and whod been involved in IT and comms all his life thought decentralisation and blockchain technology was the next great advance in finance and IT.
Not sure why so many of a younger generation seem to think its beyond us oldies comprehension. Too many people creating age issues where they often dont exist!

Thanks @nathen007. First of all my condolences for your father I hope he didn't have to suffer near the end.

Well that's why I put steemit as a separate item in my title and also in the video. I'm not just talking about steemit mainly not actually, I'm more talking about the new way of thinking, the millennial etc. Whereas I then noticed it kind of also applies to technologies like steemit (in most cases, there are always exceptions of course). Sorry if that wasn't clear.

Mine are oldschool and don't believe making money from the internet is a legitimate source of income.I am giving myself inside of this year to change their minds .

@badmusgreene too bad to hear that. I hope you will have good results and can show them that it can indeed be a good way to earn money. Otherwise refer to companies like Amazon or Aliexpress :)

Sometimes you do not need to hear what people say. The result will speak louder. When result speaks those who say no to you will have no choice but to stealthly withdraw it.

@praise-eu and sometimes you need to hear it and realise, that if they do understand it is probably not advanced enough and will soon be out of style ;) and if they don't understand it has a chance of being new and exactly what you need :)

Nice post and I couldn’t agree more. Especially about the generation gap, to quote Will Smith “Parents just don’t understand”. Anyway just giving yah my two cents. No literally my upvote is worth $.02

Thanks @jaredlang! :) I really like that, Never heard of that saying before as I'm not Native English, until like a couple of months back :P

Giving you my 2 cents back haha :)

My parents support me in whatever i do but they still try to persuade me to do things they believe is better. At the end of the day, i still decide for myself. I know if I fail, i have their back

@melouna yeah it is currently kind of the same here, except the having my back bit I guess. I mean I'm never completely sure about my mom haha she changes her mind now and then, my dad is always supportive :)

@markdeheide the two questions in the title of your post I am sure could be answered by "it depends." The funny thing about being a parent is that you love your child, but recognize that that your kids are still independent human being that make terrible/awful/stupid choices.

The best thing to do is be consistent, go and cook them dinner every once in a while, and (if possible) pay for a rockstar vacation with your thic Steemit payouts.

@chefcryptoshark yeah I mean that is basically a very good suggestion to any parent. Realise that kids are human beings, with the emphasis on 'beings' themselves. Entities that make their own choices, have their own dreams, and own visions. Try not to interfere with that too much :)

"A child today will be a parent tomorrow!"
they will think same for you

@shuhaib123 I expect nothing less of them! Yet I hope that I will allow them to figure out their own ways.

I am a parent and I believe in my kids whatever they do. Their choices in life shape them as people, so long as they understand two main factors, kindness and empathy, otherwise however will they grow into responsible adults?
The reason why I am this way? Because my mom never believed in me. She wanted me to live my life the way she envisioned it. Since I chose to do things a little differently our relationship has broken down because she cannot accept the life i have chosen. It's a difficult one but letting go is a start.

@holisticmom exactly. It's too bad some people actually raise their kids with any sort of specific expectation. Trust me, that will never met. Your kids are not you and they will develop in ways you could never imagine. Hopefully and probably, for the better :)

100%. The sooner more people understand this then the better the world will become. :-)

It also teaches children to have little trust in their own instinctual journey and other human beings. What works for one person is not the same for another and for a parent to force their life on a child is surely a recipe for disaster later on in life.

Yes, I hear people say this so often:

"I cannot believe you do that, I would never ...... "

Yes because you apparently always think from your own perspective. Maybe another person has other values, interests and insights and therefore would like to, go skydiving, start a business, or date a person 10 years older whatever :P

parents want their kids to stand out of the crowd but not letting them to pursue their dream

@rajrahul yes that is so true. It can be caused by many reasons like protectionism or just wanting to make sure kids have 'a better life than they had. I just think parents should give their kids the chance to find out for themselves what they want.

Not telling them about steemit is probably the best thing. My parents thought my YouTube channel was silly until the money started rolling in. Once the money starts rolling in everyone starts to believe. I haven't told anyone about steemit yet and probably won't until money starts rolling in. Once I start getting paid then it's time to let the world know.

@big.ock yes absolutely. People don't believe it, even when they see it haha. Maybe they have to feel it. Feel the dollar bills between their fingers, or feel the soft new sofa you bought with them..

Hopefully people will use this advice. It will actually help them stay on steemit longer because they will not have that discouragement from other people

So, I am not going to tell my parents about steemit yet. Not even my parents, EVEN FOR ME it is still going to take some time to understand steemit or how the system works.

@putu300 probably a good idea to figure it out yourself first :)

we are in this together., we make steemit viral. I am new.. I am learning.

TBH, i put 1k in steemit.
SO BELIEVE IN YOURSELF AND BELIEVE IN STEEMIT
❤️@elvielins

Yeah I put $2600 in it :) I think it is a very good investment :)

Y’all are really making me think about it. I put in too just no where near as much we are still very early however gotta see what I can put together.

YEah I mean, I bought when STEEM was at $1.75 or something around that, and just by the increase in exchange rate I already made like 60% :)

Yes ! They believe in my ability though even i'm not success in my life without my class result ! But I'm trying heart and soul .

That's good to hear @minhaz7 as long as you feel you're doing the right thing it will all happen!

my parents believe in me. its sad that the steemit chosen cyber bully's parents they dont

https://steemit.com/discussion/@banditqueen/beware-bully-of-steemit

@banditqueen I'm happy to hear your parents believe in you. I'm not happy with the cyberbullying going on these days.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My sources say no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

You may be a bot but you've got funny comments :)

So true! Although luckily, my parents believe in me I suppose, so they trust what I am doing. My mum is not that great with technology so she just accepts that I know what I am doing, my Dad is good with technology and curious as to what it all this crypto is about!

@vibrantyogini :) yes they trust you that is a good thing :) Cool to hear your dad is curious about crypto btw :)

if you have a parent like that the problem is, tell the truth just wrong, how about lying

@yoedie I don't see how lying will ever solve anything. But maybe I just didn't understand your comment. :)

my parents are fully supportive of what I do even tho they didnt study at all, I think that people ( parents specially ) are used to how better things are and know how hard such a radical change can be. So I dont think that they don't support us its just that they are scared for us thats what parents do protect us. Shoutout to my parents <3

@kalif great to hear your parents support you :) I'm making a distinction between support and believing in someone though. It's cool they support, as long as you don't expect them to fully comprehend what you're up to haha :) props to your parents!

but hey, it was not easy AT ALL. But I made them listen and convinced them that crypto is the future as a whole. It needed a lot of explaining but since I dived so hard in crypto I knew everything they wanted to know and explained accordingly. I think if we the Children dont put the time and energy to convince them without judging them or getting angry because they cant understand it YET. Its on us. It needs a lot of work and patience but you can do it too :) good luck if you need help I got a lot of tips :D

@kalif yes absolutely I notice a lot of people my age don't have the patience to sit down and explain something to their parents I guess that is something we can definitely do better instead of just blaming our parents for not understanding.

nice that you understand that and just like you said not all of us millenials see that. Maybe as a follow up video you can explain that. If you recognise the problem it is already half solved :)

Yeah @kalif it may be good to do a follow up with the comments on this one as food for thought :)

Very true that most of the older generations will not understand. I am gen x and totally get it, but I think I am a rare exception because I rarely do anything by the book. I did work for a while in the "acceptable" way - a 9 to 5 in a publishing company. Six months in I was overweight and depressed. The money, or golden handcuffs as we called it, kept me there another year until I could not take another minute and quit.
You will never regret chasing your dreams, but you may regret doing what is expected and considered acceptable for others. I have faith in your choice of paths.

Thanks @boboxer you see to mee the thing is, what is the point of earning a lot of money when you're feeling miserable most of your day. Even when you're off work, you may be thinking about having to go back there the next day. Basically living most of your life feeling bad. That's just a waste. In that case you are way better off doing something you love even if it is earning less. :)

wah this is by chance or just for fun reading @markdeheide, but because your writing is true as the fact is, many parents of my friends who have known steemit, and also my own parents branded steemit is not like gambling, even though the statement has been I argue, and I explain to my parents, what is steemit, how does the system work, how does steemit reward me, where to whom, from whom to whom, but it is still not aligned with my parents' thinking, I constantly ask the rewards that I get like SBD, which I often make cash, where the money is, why they want to give money just to me, it is a question that I can not explain precisely and accurately, so that my parents understand, in the head of my parents it still ends with gambling, because no fool would voluntarily give their money, whereas there is no exchange of bargains or j just through the virtual world, sometimes I feel annoyed with my parents' thinking, but I still respect them, although they assume so, I do not want to force their times and thoughts to understand the present, I also understand it, the past and the present, will not be united, but the past becomes an experience for the present; the present is not necessarily in comparison with the past, because past thinking is more of a real world, not a virtual world.

@mitakaya to be honest there are days that I fully understand it, and sometimes I just forget how I figured it out and I don't understand it anymore haha :) my father admires me and has learned in the past that some of the stuff I do doesn't work, and some of it does so he is just waiting and seeing what happens. And he put $100 in my account, which is not a gift, he's actually getting interest from me :)

My mom haha well I love her but, yeah she doesn't really get this. She will get it though when I start earning some more and take her out for dinner once in a while ;)

haahaaa ,,, you are right brother @markdeheide, when our closest people, our loved ones, our loved ones, and people who have become parents to us, in fact they love us, they just do not want to see us slumped in misery, so they get annoyed when we do not work, but true like brother @markdeheide say the resentment of those we love will be lost with our time and circumstances that have income, although not work, and surely we will be happy them, and I should be able to got a lot of rewards from writing, and photo photos that I show on my blog and posting, so the nobles will set aside a little wealth for the happiness of both my parents, although now many posts I just got a thumbs up, because my post is not visible by the nobles, so its without the rewards of heehee, the fate of the unfortunate, and not yet his lucky moment

@mitakaya You will get there though, as long as with every post you learn from your mistakes and get good feedback from people! :) you can also convince friends to join the platform and ask them to upvote your stuff :)

Yeah my parents done believe in me am having that issue

@charlesj2000 well don't let it be an issue. Be happy, if they would understand what you are doing it probably wouldn't be the right thing for you ;)

no, they dont. who cares.. Steemit is friend now including u.❤️@elvielins

thanks @elvielins well I wouldn't blame them as long as you understand it's hard for them to understand what you're going through

Parents have the rights to do so..It is their love and care us...The best thing man can get in the world is "Parents"

@amifootball well it is not so much the right to do, I mean I don't even know if parents have the right to not believe in you or not support you. I just think it would be very good if they did. But that's not the point of my post here. My point is whether they do or don't, you should do what feels right to you anyway :)

Yes we have the rights to do only right things..isn't it?

@amitfootball actually we have a lot of rights (legally) as human beings, and within those rights we can do some pretty bad things but I hope people would choose not do so.

The great job your moom

The what? :)

Our parents dont believe in us and steemit...the jet age gap is to far..most parents dont have internet or know whats a computer ...

@garrardihno yeah I've noticed that a lot :) however I think they may have heard or believe(d) in Facebook right? My parents are on Facebook now so I'm slowly leaving it :P

Yes they have heard about facebook instagram and co...like here in nigeria some folks parents dont like em kid surfing the net...they feel its fraud or illegal activities they do.....my parent ie my mom dosent care as long as its not trouble ur good to go...my pops was like that till he died

@gerrardihno I'm sorry to hear your father passed away. I'm glad to hear your mom is a little bit more relaxed though! :) keep steeming!

Thanks boss..how do you guys make it ....get what to write about ...am basically blank at the moment

Hey Gerrardihno, I'm basically having a lot of deep talks with a lot of people and I mainly get a lot of topics drifting up in my mind I want to talk about :)

Thanks god my parents believe in me and they like steemit a lot! I dont have any problem with that, your post is awsome check mine please!

@giselemusic aah that's cool! Are they on the platform too? I would love to have them comment something about this topic! :)

My parents more often than not, don't believe me.
I don't care. I just do my thing and if I get an achievement, they are still proud of it.
I rarely care of their opinion, as long as I don't act rude or hurt them

@wisemanlol yeah I think that it's healthy in this day and age that, in case your parents do support you, yet don't believe most of the stuff you're undertaking that you don't let yourself be held back by their opinion. At least, not in areas where they seem to not have any relevant expertise. Yet in some other areas they may have :)

Totally agree!
Most of the time I don't tell them anything about what I do. Maybe I just say "school activities" or "activities with my friends", in reality, I participated in quite many competitions, build several businesses (which most of them failed lol) and many others of what I think are good deeds

Haha yes same here :) I usually only tell them after a while when I actually know how to explain it :)

Most parents are already old school however some are still in the vibe and even joined FB , Insta and Steemit...lol. Good one indeed

Yeah well the more my parents seem to enjoy Facebook the more I seem to be over it already haha

My parents didn't believe in steemit.They told me that stop typing in steemit.

@jahidahmed that is fine, but guess what, if you do end up making a few millions, guess who wants a new car? :P

Is it just me or is this dude's voice super soothing to listen to? Anyways, I completely agree. Only you can realize your own potentials and the only person who can hold you back is yourself.

Thanks @tntdabomb if you think this video is soothing you should try out my meditation haha :P https://steemit.com/life/@markdeheide/you-will-fall-asleep-meditation-down-the-river

Meditation? I knew it. No wonder you're so chill lol. I'll check it out.

Thanks @tntdabomb I'm super excited most of the day, and super chill at other moments ;)

This post has received a $4.76 % upvote from @siditech thanks to: @markdeheide.
Here's a banana! banana-small.png

I liked your way of writing the post

Thanks @moons00000

you are right mate. most people have this problem with their parents. the world is changing and they dont see it. we cant blame them though but we should try other ways to express them what is really going on. they always think whats best for us with their rights. so making them believe in what we believe might make us try to find other ways to explain. but no mather how hard we try it doesnt work sometimes :)

@muammer Yes you are right we have to keep in mind that they have different perspectives. I don't always spend time convincing them, sometimes I just realise the gap and that's okay. As long as people aren't being held back by the thought of their parents not supporting, approving or believing in them.

Wish you luck on the way you are walking and hope you arrive to your destination :)

my parents are very supportive with the style I am working on. I once told about steemit platform to my parents. and he is very supportive with the alias that I am doing in steemit. he said other than we can share information for others. in this platform we can also be paid if the post that we post useful for the readers.

@rezaarmada I'm really happy to hear that! :) sounds like you have cool parents :)

Thank you guys, I hope you can help me develop this platform, because so far I'm still very weak in the post

I agree, trying to explain crypto and steemit to your elders is sort of a hassle and they typically will just nod and say "good job" but you can tell they're clueless. :)

@pittsburghhodlr yeah, and it's not just crypto it's also other things nowadays. People who don't want to be part of the working class, or have a career as their parents used to have. People who don't want to get married, or have a relationship including multiple people. There's all kind of stuff going on nowadays :P

This post has received a 8.00% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

I think our parents believe in us but we should not worry about it that much. at the end of the day, you have to be your own cheerleader. you have to believe in yourself to surpass everything that you need to accomplish.

@jan.lives exactly my point. Whether they do or don't be your own cheerleader I like that! :)

You are right. Time changes quickly. However, parents may not support and agree with many things their children do and vice versa. In case they don't understand the speed time changes as in the case of steemit, I think we just need to explain things to them and convince them; if not, we need to understand them as we want them to do.

@dalali yes we can try to explain it to them, or accept the fact they will not understand. Accept what you cannot change, change what you cannot accept. However what we must not do is let ourselves be held back by the limiting beliefs of our parents :)

I see the maybe good intention from your post, but as I saw your video, I immediately had to think of certain "divide and conquer"-tactics between generations.

@mikejayde I don't have any conquering plans haha but I guess there's always those of us who are looking for conspiracy theories. I'm just pointing out that people should not get limited beliefs by the fact that their parents might not understand them ;)

It's stories like this that remind me stay up on current technology and trends, so I won't be one of those old people who get confused by new techonologies and thereby misunderstand and degrade these things. I'd like to maintain a protean mindset in order to understand the changing world around me and better understand my (future) children.

Thanks @hetmaaktnietuit I'm happy to hear that. I hope that, in a country as multicultural as The Netherlands you will also take some time to explore the different cultural shifts occurring in the country and stay up to date in both the off- and online world :)

It's stories like this that remind me stay up on current technology and trends, so I won't be one of those old people who get confused by new techonologies and thereby misunderstand and degrade these things. I'd like to maintain a protean mindset in order to understand the changing world around me and better understand my (future) children.

This post is very timely @markdeheide in fact my next publication will be related to this topic but I will go deeper into different aspects.

Actually our parents have another concept of life, even many times they judge you without a reason of apparent weight, in fact because of certain obvious differences can come conflicts and when everything gets out of control the situation can look very bad.

The truth is that I share what you say, we don't need the approval of our parents to undertake our projects and now with more opportunities with the blockchain and all the digital coins, we depend on ourselves and much more if we are adults.

Of course, when they support you it is always rewarding, but many times it shouldn't be necessary either, because there are also cases like you mentioned that no matter how talented and creative your parents may disapprove of you in everything and we don't control it because they are prejudices on your part, so I don't think we should rely on what they think, much less if it's negative.

I believe that strength and all the creative energy comes from us as individuals, we have our own identity and we must make it prevail, but in these new times, without worrying because our parents who maybe 2 or 1 can give you their own approval for their own reasons but thousands can see all you can bring and the talent you can have.

Thanks @agcoeficiente10 lot of very good points in your comment :) I do indeed like to get as many opinions as possible from as many different types of people, and not just the two people who raised me. :)

It's stories like this that remind me of the importance of staying up to do date on new technology and trends. I don't want to become one of those old folks who gets frustrated and confused because of a lack of understanding of modern technology. I want to maintain my protean mindset to better understand the changing world around me.

v.Nice
Pleas Upovte my post

@rehanshah I would advise you not to ask for upvotes in comments, people just don't like it. Or at least I don't.

ok deaar so you tall me who parson upvote e

I don't understand the question.

It is right

they keep telling me to get a 'real job'

Haha @angrytwin my mom asked me that a couple of times as well. Why don't you get a real job???? Uhh, because they are disappearing mom, they are not enjoyable, they are not sustainable and I love what I'm doing :)

and supervisors treat you meanly.........

Supervisors? What kind of supervisors?

I'm a 46 year old mom and I introduced my daughter and her boyfriend(s) to Steemit!!!

Wow that is so cool! :) @onetree haha. You rock!

There are 2 pages
Pages