Arty Tangerine Beer!

in #life4 years ago

1588318572-picsay_20200502121856187.jpg

There's a storm a-comin and it looks like it's gonna be a wet one!

Don't fret, I ain't talking about a lady's udders as she churns the butter. No, this is a wet storm that we can all get behind. A storm of BEER!

Yes indeed, my supplier, the Bear-Man is back in town and he has all the good stuff.

This momentous event made me a very happy chappy. Not only do I get to drink exquisitely peculiar craft beers, I also get to drink craft beers that have a bit of bite. A bit of beef to them, as it were.

The one I am drinking tonight is a beefy one. 8% ABV of beef and when I say beef I mean tomato! , Wait, no. No, when I say beef I mean Tangerine!!

Tangerines? In a beer? What is this I hear you cry? Some kind of holiday breakfast beer?

Well, here's hoping. I have decided that the only way to get through lockdown is to treat it like a holiday and if that means drinking hideously alcoholic beer for breakfast then so be it.

Or at least that would be the case if the Good Lady weren't patrolling the grounds with her happy slappy stick of discipline.

Not fair.

So where was I? Ah yes. readying the hatch for a Tangerine bombing.

Here we go!

139117-picsay_20200201104054020_20200208161309907_20200404144526360_20200411101038170_20200523181750172.jpg

A beer inspired by a gin and tonic they say. Alright then, where does the tangerine come in?

Hmmph.

I have had gin and tonic inspired beers before. They can be a mixed bag. A bit like the kind you throw into the river with your unwanted kittens.

Only kidding, I love cats. I am a cat lover in fact. No one loves cats more than me, not even the famous Mr Cat Lover Man from Catkin Lane.

Enough feline tomfoolery. To the beer!

20200522_200410.jpg

Tis a pale and slightly insipid looking beer. Somehow I expected more orange from an orangey beer. But no, this be a pale almost grey ethereal thing, like an old and well-worn bra-cup.

Quite the frothy head, a fizzy thing like the screams of ants under the steaming hot torrent of a kettle.

I smell nada but on closer inspection, I catch a slight whiff of tangerine and a bitter whiff it is too. More like the oil.

Exciting? Hmm.

Get this weak watery pish in my mouth!

Check out the storm!! It's a bit fucking mental here weather-wise. My fucking garage is leaking again and everything. I swear it is my mortal man enemy.

All storming aside. This is a fine beer. I get the gin and tonic thing now. It is a little astringent, like a nun's knickers. A little bitter like the tangerine without the sweetness.

Most remarkably is how smooth and light it is. You would never believe this is an IPA, no hoppiness at all which isn't bad because it has the whole bitter tango thing going on. You would certainly never believe or be able to tell it is 8%!!

Quite acceptable. I will happily bestow a boom for each percent... 8/10 booms!!

Hurrah.

Now, I can hear the wind picking up. Time to head to the bunker!

Cheers everyone!

20200522_200444.jpg

Sort:  

I was surprised at the 8booms! 8% I truly expected a gross after taste. Well, I guess I can judge a beer by its tin. Tangerine, you say? Now you have me wanting to take a look-see if I can find any here.

Ah, the bear-man saved the day!

You woe him. :)

Upped and Reposted

!tip

Hehe, I was genuinely surprised by it too. Although the more I think about it the less like a beer or send it read more like a really nice alcoholic drink. Maybe I was drunk by the time I judged it 🤣🤣

Bear-Man is open again.., surely he's breaking 'Nicola law'? Are you doing some dodgy back street deal with him?

The law is safe!! Deliveries only. It's quite amazing how many local businesses round there have started up a thriving delivery thing. Although I am less impressed with the price jacking!

Was blowing a bit over there wasn't it XD Pretty game going outside in that, if the wind is cold I'd be cowering hiding judiciously bunkering down inside the house XD

It's raining over here today, perhaps it made its way over the ocean.

Are you glad to have good beers again?

I am very glad to have some good ones again. Although, I might have over indulged a tad last night!

It was quite mental the weather. I am very fecking annoyed because my garage roof had become like a seive again. Grrr

Can't find where it's coming in from?

It comes in from the same bit every time. I did it with magic roof gloop every year but I think extreme weather makes me garage shift slightly which makes the gloop crack. I need a better fucking garage or to pay a man!

Garage shifts slightly in extreme weather? You might want to make sure it doesn't blow away or you're going to have bigger problems than the leaky roof XD

Specifically a man?

If course, I use man in the loosest sense of the word :0)

I think it does shift, it's an old piece of shit. Add soon as lockdown is over I will get a quote from an expert on how much to really fix it. It's it's too expensive it will burn the fucker down.

More for insurance purposes, I am joking

I lie, I will burn the fucker down :0)

The official video was bleeped >_<

That's probably a very fortunate thing! I like orange flavour but I can't stand the real things :0)

Fake grape is my secret delight. Fake orange is good too. Real orange gives me heartburn.

I fucking hate heartburn. Especially since they banned zantac. Totally steer clear of anything that might cause it!

To be honest dear friend @meesterboom I did not expect such a high value 8/10, much less that it was strong 8% It is not that I do not like tangerine. I like it but not in beer.
Bear-Man did a great job
I wish you an excellent weekend end

I was very surprised by it too. It just goes to show you never know what to expect!

It is true, dear friend, we must learn not to prejudge
I wish you a happy rest

Cheers mate. I hope you have a nice weekend!!

8 booms for the 8%er!

I was worried reading the intro to this one, it could well have been absolute garbage, but it was not!

A bit windy today, but nice enough down here, I had a few tinnies in the park :D

Tinnies in the park. You are an out and out rebel! Even when we are not on lockdown they made it fecking illegal up here to be drinking outdoors in parks and stuff. All those drunken Scots folk ruined it for us!

Screw the system! I think it's illegal here but rarely enforced in my experience :D

They are mad strict up here and enforce it all the time. Even if you are a respectable gentleman such as myself you get chained. It's an outrage. Of course you cant tell if its spirits in a bottle or a can :O)

you could use a bottle of iron brew for the Tangerine ale :D

Lol, aye! No need to disguise it! hahahhahah!

Awesome review, haven't visit them in a while but with a !BEER , i'll sit and enjoy :) Thanks

Hehe, cheers man. It was a good one even if it wasn't very classically beery!

I hope that is not that too much toxicating

Nah, the second one might be though :0)

🎁 Hi @meesterboom! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

I wasnt sure if the wind was knocking you around or if you already had a few 8%ers lol.

That stuff sounds delightful. Too many a fruit-infused beer has a sickening sweetness to it.